We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Everything you could want the staff have to be the happiest I've ever come across.spoilt for choice for for every meal,the whole experience from arriving late at night to leaving on the last day I had a chat to one of the managers to find out why some people only gave it 4.5 stars he said he was a little puzzled at this . So maybe this is it ,it's the waffle machine the young girl is using a fork to put butter on the upper plate instead of a brush ha !ha! Ha!couldnt fault this place one bit Thanks everyone

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rob_kay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear rob_kay2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday after your safari at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa and that the team of Ocean Paradise had the opportunity to spoil you with each meal.

We will share your message with the team.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This is a medium sized hotel, we stayed for 5 nights following a fantastic but very tiring safari in Tanzania. For post safari this was ideal.

Service super friendly if a little slow at times, location pretty perfect if you don't intend to leave the resort - it's right on the beach which is beautiful

Wifi - public areas free but slow, we purchased wifi we found it pretty good ( not generally the case if you read other reviews)

Food was plentiful lots of choice though a little bland at times

Rooms - spacious and spotless (beds firm)

Grounds lovely and spotless

Pool spotless and generally empty

Plenty of sun beds at the pool and on the beach front

If you want lots of entertainment and to travel to local tourist places this is probably not for you but if you want to relax and chill post safari it's pretty perfect

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Ray W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday after your safari at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We will share your message with the team.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed at the ocean paradise resort for one week. The hotel has beautiful grounds and has the potential to reach the 5* rating is no doubt, however to anyone looking at this hotel I will run through the following issues that I had when staying at the hotel so you get a full review.

- Do not request for anything specific prior to stay, this won't be taken into consideration. I booked the resort 5 months ago and requested for rooms next to each other for myself and our guests. This was extremely important to our guest and I followed up with confirmation from the hotel a week before. Upon arrival we were put in rooms near but no next to each other as agreed and when we tried to resolve the issue, we were told that there was nothing they could do and we would have to stay where we were for that night. Additionally they confused our package upon arrival and mixed up who had all inclusive and who had full board.

- Cold food with waiting times of over one hour in some cases and not always what was requested.

- extremely limited selection of drinks on all inclusive. All inclusive does not mean all inclusive - one type of wine available and the majority of the cocktails and any coffee which isn't from the filter is chargeable. Although you are all inclusive you will have to sign for every bill that you take from the bar, even if it is just one drink which is within the all inclusive package. If not you will be chased to sign later in the day or the following day.

- beach not sectioned off and open to local people who will follow you until you agree to provide them business. This means that unless you go to the beach prior to 7am, you will not be able to walk around without being bothered.

- continual power cuts through out the night which results in an alarm being sounded within the room.

- cleaning times of the room , do not expect to shower in your room during the day. They clean the room in the mornings and take away the towels until the evening.

- double bed is not a double bed - two singles with a memory foam bridge and you will not necessarily be given the bed type you want upon arrival.

On a plus side the entertainment team were good And all in all it was a good week in the hotel however the above frustrations meant it was not a 5* experience and missing management to raise any of these issues to.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alexandrak16675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Alexandrak16675

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and would like to take the opportunity to give you feedback on the following matters:

Rooms next to each other is subject to availability, therefore you were given 1 room on upper floor and 1 room directly below your room on the ground floor of which both have easy and direct access to each other with 1 x flight of stairs keeping in mind that within this individual block of rooms there is only 2 x rooms on ground floor and 2 x rooms on upper floor. As the Front Desk explained to you upon arrival for that night it was not available to move next to each other, although the next morning to visit Front Desk to review your request again should there be any check out to have the opportunity to be next to each other. However we trust you also appreciate the free room upgrade to the next room category in the Superior Garden which you received even without asking before your arrival while you originally booked in Standard Garden.

As per the booking voucher we received from your agent whom you booked through, 2 different meal package were booked for each room. In particular one room were booked on Full Board and the other on All Inclusive despite the hotel policy not allowing such a type of booking. We would like to request getting in contact with your agent and take this particular matter up with you booking consultant on why he/she given through the wrong information to the hotel regarding your meal plans. The hotel followed the correct procedure and applied the meal plans accordingly as received and booked by your agent. We do apologise on behalf of the hotel for the inconvenience this miscommunication has caused.

Kindly allow us to elaborate further on the all-inclusive package as you only mentioned a few items which is included to your fellow travellers on this platform. The resort offers a basic all-inclusive plan which includes: MEALS = buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch, daily snack menu, afternoon snacks during the afternoon tea/coffee serving & themed buffet dinner accompanied by nightly entertainment during dinner time. Drinks = soft drinks, house wine (including a white, red & rose), local pouring spirits, local beers, milkshakes, 2 x type of liqueurs, standard white & gold tequila, 3 x daily cocktails, tea, coffee (non-speciality - Excluding espresso based speciality coffees which is more expensive and therefore not included).

It’s a pity to learn that your booking consultant/travel agent did not communicate the All Inclusive package inclusions beforehand with you in detail as the hotel provides this same information as above very well in advance to the agents and their tour operators.

We regret your disappointment to sign for the all inclusive receipts. The Resort does not only accommodate All Inclusive guest but also Half Board & Full Board packages. Therefore as per our house rules we request you to please sign the final docket. You would’ve noted that the All Inclusive items receipts have a zero amount on all the receipts upon check out.

Zanzibar being relatively a young child as a touristic destination comparing to the Caribbean or other Island destinations that is fairly developed as tourist destinations, Zanzibar is still in development phase especially around All Inclusive packages.

Therefore All Inclusive packages are not the same as other destinations and each hotel has their own packages that might include or exclude certain items at the discretion of the hotel.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the cold food and the delayed service. We take this complaint very serious and will bring under attention of the Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef. Also thank you for bring under our attention of the towels been taken away and bring only late afternoon. This matter will be followed up with our executive Housekeeping.

We have to oppose your feedback regarding the beach not sectioned off. Allow us the opportunity to elaborate and clarify to your fellow travellers. The resort do indeed have a sectioned off beach area by means of a wooden railing which separates the public beach from the private beach section which is only available to hotel guests. All coastal regions beach areas in Zanzibar & Tanzania are public beaches and all establishments is forbidden by law to prevent the free movement of any person on public beaches. Therefore the hotels are only allowed to section of a part of the hotels premises for private use.

Therefore the local “Beach Boys” and “Massai” which is part of the local community living in poor circumstances trying to make a living selling their handmade artifacts alongside the coastal regions and is out of the control of the hotels & resorts due to free movement on public beaches as clarified above.

We regret to hear that you had missed the opportunity to bring any of your concerns under the attention of management during your 7 x night stay which we have to admit find a bid odd and in contradiction to your fellow reviewers on this platform due to the reason our managers which is easily identifiable by blue shirts are moving around throughout the day around the venues of the Resort. Including the venues where you had breakfast, lunch and dinner while our General Manager also readily available daily during lunch, routine inspections and in the evenings directly at the restaurant entrance welcoming our guest into the restaurant. You would appreciate that one can only take action on concerns on the spot should management or any other staff be informed about your concerns providing the hotel the opportunity to take immediately action to find a best possible solution alleviating your concerns. However the opportunity to do such actions on the spot has been failed due to only mentioning your concerns after your travels when the hotel can no longer offer assistance.
We will share your message with the team.
Once again thank you for your constructive and valued feedback which is highly appreciated to improve on any short-falls there might be.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I spent a week on this resort after a safari with my wife and two children. It was the perfect choice. The rooms were spacious (with good air conditioning) with a nice balcony looking towards the sea, the pool area was peaceful and the restaurants were excellent, far better than the expectations we had after a disappointing 'safari gourmet' experience.

The overall atmosphere was friendly and relaxing, all credit to the staff members. I can also recommend the spa/massages. I would also take all inclusive if I went again, since when you are in this resort you really do not feel like going to many day trips.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denevoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Denevoz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday after your safari with your family at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for recommending the spa to our fellow travellers.
We will share your message with the team.

The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you and your fellow travellers back to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa in the near future.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Loved this hotel we had upgraded to All inclusive and happy we did as it was quite expensive to buy lunch and drinks. My only complaint was the lack on choice for drinks on the menu included in All inclusive. Food choice was great we particularly enjoyed the lunch menu with the chocolate brownie being a firm favourite. The rooms were amazing, beds comfortable, shower excellent. We used the laundry service a cheap and efficient way of cleaning dusty Safari clothes. We also visited the spa for a body wrap and facial which were so relaxing I fell asleep! Overall a relaxing enjoyable experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank sarahd782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear sarahd782

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We will share your message with the team, especially to the spa.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,678 reviews
0.2 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
24.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
12.3 km away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
923 reviews
43 km away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $86 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing