We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect but arriving at the hotel I knew it was going to be an amazing holiday. We were made welcome by all the staff and shown to our room and the all inclusive package started on our arrival with a well needed lunch.
We were in a beach front room with plenty of space - there were chairs and a small table along with a dresser with a tv, and in the hallway the wardrobe and another bench. We also had a verandah with seats/benches. The bathroom was a long thin room with clothes lines to dry costumes on, a big shower and a large sink areas
There are plenty of sunloungers either around the pool or on the beach (within the hotel grounds). Towels are available from near the pool - just return for a clean one daily, or when you want.
Meals are buffet style - breakfast is served up near the reception area, lunch in the pool bar and evening meals are around the pool. There is a large selection of food, and the evening meals are usually themed. Ther is also a bar area up towards the reception area, where they also show films.
Wifi - this is available for free at the pool bar and the bar near reception - but it is very slow. You can buy wifi which you can use in your room but it is worth noting that only one device can be used on it (we could not swap between devices by logging off - it would only allow one device)
The evening entertainment was good - local singers and some amazing acrobats
I went for the diving as I was just finishing my Open Water PADI - I took a refresher course in the hotel pool and then dived for 4 days (2 dives per day) and had the most amazing time and experience
We also booked a trip to the capital Stone Town through the hotel - we had a mini bus to ourselves with a driver and a guide and when we arrived in the capital they took us round all the sights, into museums and hotels and the local market - I would definitely recommend this trip.
Overall an amazing place that I would definitely return to

Room Tip: The rooms all look amazing here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annabel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Annabel68,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for the constructive feedback on your Wi-Fi experience. Due to the resort being located in a rural area on the North-East side of Zanzibar, 50 min from town internet connection tower points are far and wide. Due to this the Wi-Fi connection on the coastal regions are not as good as what one would find in the town areas. Our apologies for the inconvenience due to this.

Thank you for your feedback on the Open Water refresher. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyed the experience and will convey the message to One Ocean Diving Center.

We will share your message with the team.
The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you and your fellow travellers at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We spent a fantastic week at Ocean Paradise with family and friends and loved the hotel accommodation, activities on offer and the quality of the food and drink. We opted for all inclusive package which included 3 different daily cocktails, local beers, spirits etc, afternoon tea and an a la carte lunch on top of breakfast and evening buffets. It was well worth it as the children could eat and order drinks as and when they liked, as could we!
The rooms were spotless and cleaned meticulously daily. The local village tour, pool aerobics, complimentary massages, Kayaking and traditional bao game playing were all were received and thoroughly enjoyed. We booked excursions through the hotel and they were all of a good quality. We visited Stone Town, a spice farm, snorkelled and swam with turtles.
The hotel reception and management were always on hand to help with whatever we needed. They provided us with food after a late arrival and allowed us the use of a room for a late check out.
Wifi was adequate in both bar areas and the evening entertainment including acrobats, live bands and karaoke was good fun.
We loved our stay here and Ocean Paradise and Zanzibar now holds a special place in our hearts. We'd love to return sometime and would recommend the hotel to all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank N17matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear N17matt

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We will share your message with the team,
The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you and your fellow travellers at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

8 nights after a safari on the mainland. A relaxing and happy time. Staff impeccably attentive and friendly. A special mention to Festo who was simply outstanding; boundless energy and enthusiasm with the right balance of customer service, well done! Food exceptionally good but drinks a little pricey. Watersports and excursions were prohibitively expensive; shame as it's a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medical_examiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear medical_examiner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the prices of the watersport and the excursions. The price are in par/line with other registered and licenced companies on the Island ensuring that it is authorized and approved tour operators with proper safety measures and liability insurance in place as these companies take the guest safety with utmost importance which is in line with the hotel’s concern regarding the importance our resident guest’s safety. Much cheaper rates in example the beach boys’ one need to ask the question if such companies do have liability insurance and safety measures in place therefore not included with their price.

We will share your message with the team,
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We spent a ten days relaxing in this superb location beside the Indian Ocean.
After the drive from the airport through Zanzibar City and the rural villages we were apprehensive about the hotel that we had booked. Life in rural Zanzibar appears hectic and very basic. However on arrival at Ocean Paradise Resort we were greeted with a complete contrast with life that exists outside the hotel gates. The reception area is stunning - with fantastic views over the resort - an oasis of calmness

We stayed in one of the round houses and found the room to be spacious are more than adequate for our stay. The accommodation was serviced twice daily by the housekeeping team.
We booked through Virgin so we received complimentary wifi and also a couples massage. Wifi was invariably stable and relatively fast for a hotel connection. The massage in the Spa area was one of the few negatives that we took from our stay at the resort. The Spa area itself was fitted out to a high standard, but we felt the prices were high which left the area relatively under used and I felt that the Spa staff had little drive in selling the services of the spa. This was in contrast to the rest of the resort - The level of service from the staff was the high point of our stay. This included the attentiveness of the General Manager and Food & Beverage Manager who were available throughout the day to ensure that standards remained high and were always on hand to attend to any needs that their guests might have. But the key to this resorts success is the happy friendly staff who just made is feel so welcome, from Davis at the beach (who ensured that a supply of drinks was maintained to the sunbeds) to young Festo (trainee animator/ bar staff) who always greeted is with a huge smile and a big Jambo! But it was not just the service from the team that was good - the meal times were enjoyable for the quality of food not just the great service that we received from the team.
We loved the peace and quiet that we could find in the resort, and we also loved being tormented on a night by a group of large eyed and noisy Bush Babies that lived in the trees outside our room - it was great fun!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms along the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank l2aski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear l2aski,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had 10 days of relaxing holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the spa and the prices. The prices in the spa is on par/in line with all spa centres in Zanzibar and cannot be compare like on other countries like Thailand and Indonesia.
We will share your message with the team, especially to Festo, Animator Trainee and Davis, Beach Waiter.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We booked Ocean Paradise because of the excellent beach front. It's a wonderful place with great food, activities- beach volley ball, darts, billiard table, water sports (fantastic weather for parachute surfing) and warm staff, David the F&B host gets a special shout out for the attention he gave us, including a surprise anniversary cake during dinner.

Tip e-book the sea view rooms and ensure take a morning jog or an evening stroll. Further can book the water sports directly with the companies on the beach.

One place will come back to in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Samuel N

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and were satisfied with the service of the watersport you booked on the beach.

We do however strongly advise our guests to make use of an authorized and approved tour operator with the proper safety measures and liability insurance in place as we take our guests safety seriously (like life jackets during boat trips especially for children, which majority of such unauthorized excursion providers do not offer). In many cases the beach boys do not take into consideration these safety measures or have the proper liability insurance or first aid training, God forbid, should happen during your excursion. Unfortunately many guests to the Island have learnt this on a very hard way throughout the years without taking their safety first into consideration.

We will convey your message to the team, especially to David, the restaurant Host.
The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you back.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,678 reviews
0.2 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,735 reviews
24.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
12.3 km away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
923 reviews
43 km away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $87 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing