We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
587
234
45
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
234
45
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone townseaweed farmsevery nightour honeymoonpool barbeach boysbuffet stylehalf boardbreakfast and dinnera la cartelow tideswahili lessonsthe general managerpalm treesreception areabeach sellersdifferent theme
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We spent a fantastic week at Ocean Paradise with family and friends and loved the hotel accommodation, activities on offer and the quality of the food and drink. We opted for all inclusive package which included 3 different daily cocktails, local beers, spirits etc, afternoon tea and an a la carte lunch on top of breakfast and evening buffets. It was well worth it as the children could eat and order drinks as and when they liked, as could we!
The rooms were spotless and cleaned meticulously daily. The local village tour, pool aerobics, complimentary massages, Kayaking and traditional bao game playing were all were received and thoroughly enjoyed. We booked excursions through the hotel and they were all of a good quality. We visited Stone Town, a spice farm, snorkelled and swam with turtles.
The hotel reception and management were always on hand to help with whatever we needed. They provided us with food after a late arrival and allowed us the use of a room for a late check out.
Wifi was adequate in both bar areas and the evening entertainment including acrobats, live bands and karaoke was good fun.
We loved our stay here and Ocean Paradise and Zanzibar now holds a special place in our hearts. We'd love to return sometime and would recommend the hotel to all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank N17matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear N17matt

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We will share your message with the team,
The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you and your fellow travellers at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

8 nights after a safari on the mainland. A relaxing and happy time. Staff impeccably attentive and friendly. A special mention to Festo who was simply outstanding; boundless energy and enthusiasm with the right balance of customer service, well done! Food exceptionally good but drinks a little pricey. Watersports and excursions were prohibitively expensive; shame as it's a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medical_examiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear medical_examiner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the prices of the watersport and the excursions. The price are in par/line with other registered and licenced companies on the Island ensuring that it is authorized and approved tour operators with proper safety measures and liability insurance in place as these companies take the guest safety with utmost importance which is in line with the hotel’s concern regarding the importance our resident guest’s safety. Much cheaper rates in example the beach boys’ one need to ask the question if such companies do have liability insurance and safety measures in place therefore not included with their price.

We will share your message with the team,
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We spent a ten days relaxing in this superb location beside the Indian Ocean.
After the drive from the airport through Zanzibar City and the rural villages we were apprehensive about the hotel that we had booked. Life in rural Zanzibar appears hectic and very basic. However on arrival at Ocean Paradise Resort we were greeted with a complete contrast with life that exists outside the hotel gates. The reception area is stunning - with fantastic views over the resort - an oasis of calmness

We stayed in one of the round houses and found the room to be spacious are more than adequate for our stay. The accommodation was serviced twice daily by the housekeeping team.
We booked through Virgin so we received complimentary wifi and also a couples massage. Wifi was invariably stable and relatively fast for a hotel connection. The massage in the Spa area was one of the few negatives that we took from our stay at the resort. The Spa area itself was fitted out to a high standard, but we felt the prices were high which left the area relatively under used and I felt that the Spa staff had little drive in selling the services of the spa. This was in contrast to the rest of the resort - The level of service from the staff was the high point of our stay. This included the attentiveness of the General Manager and Food & Beverage Manager who were available throughout the day to ensure that standards remained high and were always on hand to attend to any needs that their guests might have. But the key to this resorts success is the happy friendly staff who just made is feel so welcome, from Davis at the beach (who ensured that a supply of drinks was maintained to the sunbeds) to young Festo (trainee animator/ bar staff) who always greeted is with a huge smile and a big Jambo! But it was not just the service from the team that was good - the meal times were enjoyable for the quality of food not just the great service that we received from the team.
We loved the peace and quiet that we could find in the resort, and we also loved being tormented on a night by a group of large eyed and noisy Bush Babies that lived in the trees outside our room - it was great fun!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms along the beach
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank l2aski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear l2aski,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had 10 days of relaxing holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the spa and the prices. The prices in the spa is on par/in line with all spa centres in Zanzibar and cannot be compare like on other countries like Thailand and Indonesia.
We will share your message with the team, especially to Festo, Animator Trainee and Davis, Beach Waiter.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We booked Ocean Paradise because of the excellent beach front. It's a wonderful place with great food, activities- beach volley ball, darts, billiard table, water sports (fantastic weather for parachute surfing) and warm staff, David the F&B host gets a special shout out for the attention he gave us, including a surprise anniversary cake during dinner.

Tip e-book the sea view rooms and ensure take a morning jog or an evening stroll. Further can book the water sports directly with the companies on the beach.

One place will come back to in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Samuel N

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and were satisfied with the service of the watersport you booked on the beach.

We do however strongly advise our guests to make use of an authorized and approved tour operator with the proper safety measures and liability insurance in place as we take our guests safety seriously (like life jackets during boat trips especially for children, which majority of such unauthorized excursion providers do not offer). In many cases the beach boys do not take into consideration these safety measures or have the proper liability insurance or first aid training, God forbid, should happen during your excursion. Unfortunately many guests to the Island have learnt this on a very hard way throughout the years without taking their safety first into consideration.

We will convey your message to the team, especially to David, the restaurant Host.
The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you back.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Located on the northeast coast of Zanzibar in Tanzania, Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa is our next stop. It faces the Indian Ocean and is a 45-minute drive from the Zanzibar Airport.

It is a big property, but it was not as good as the Essque Zulu Zanzibar. When we arrived, they gave us a copy of all the compliments we are receiving. We stayed in a Superior Bedroom with free breakfast and dinner. They also offer an all-inclusive treatment, where you get free lunch, drinks, and water for $33 per person per day. It is a good deal! You can order as much as you want and whatever you want on the menu but the cocktails were limited to the cocktails of the day.

On our first day, it was raining so we did not plan any big activity. The rain was back the next day. But we decided to have a beach day regardless. We lounged in the sun beds even if it was raining a bit. The best part? The rain deterred the crowd! In general, Zanzibar experiences holiday weather with seasonal rains. Our visit just timed with the short showers! But usually, it is warm year-round with the summer peaking in December.

A Masai warrior greets you when you arrive at Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa. The resort overlooks the white sandy beach. The entire property is surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens and accommodation is presented in traditional African roundhouse chalet with a pitched makuti roof. The rooms face the sea and feature large patio doors with a balcony. Amenities include air-conditioning, King or twin beds draped with mosquito netting, satellite TV, phone, mini-bar, and en-suite bathroom with shower, toilet bidet, and hair dryer. There were loads of villas, and beach huts and the rooms were over 100. However, the hotel is old, and some of the furniture in the rooms need replacing. Some refurbishing will do this place a lot of good. The bed is a bit uncomfortable, the pillow as well. There are three restaurants at Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa: Ocean Restaurant, Jahazi Restaurant, and Mawimbi Restaurant. Offering great views, the Ocean Restaurant serves a lovely breakfast and dinner. We had a buffet breakfast, which is composed of traditional Tanzanian food like curries and bread, and we also had Continental breakfast with different sorts of pastries like the croissant, pan au chocolat, donuts, and spreads like jams, marmalades, and peanut butter. The omelets are excellent! It is a big restaurant for breakfast. Dinner is also served here. It is another buffet, and it is interesting because themes vary from night to night. The first night it was Indian and then the next night was Italian, and we had pasta, roast, seafood, and fresh vegetables.

Meanwhile, Jahazi Restaurant is next to the pool. It offers wood-fired pizza and a variety of snacks. Finally, Mawimbi Restaurant serves Zanzibar Fusion cuisine. Local and traditional Zanzibar ingredients are mixed with Asian and Western influences for a unique gastronomic experience. It also has a romantic ambiance ideal for dinner dates!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank THE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear TwoMonkeysTravel

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed in depth review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We would like to rectify your comment on the all-inclusive as it is us$35 per person for upgrade while the guest is in house or on arrival.
Thank you for your constructive feedback of the beds and pillows. The bed is too hard as per your comfort and personal expectations, although there is 3 different types of softness of mattress what you can get when purchasing a mattress therefore we have an average soft mattress to ensure a standard for all different guest’s personal preference on mattress choice. As one could imagine the predicament if a hotel has to provide all types of mattresses to meet each guest’s personal preference among the 1000’s of guests passing through a hotel every year.
Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We are sure your detailed review will be insightful for all.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews