We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Oasis in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We spent a ten days relaxing in this superb location beside the Indian Ocean.
After the drive from the airport through Zanzibar City and the rural villages we were apprehensive about the hotel that we had booked. Life in rural Zanzibar appears hectic and very basic. However on arrival at Ocean Paradise Resort we were greeted with a complete contrast with life that exists outside the hotel gates. The reception area is stunning - with fantastic views over the resort - an oasis of calmness

We stayed in one of the round houses and found the room to be spacious are more than adequate for our stay. The accommodation was serviced twice daily by the housekeeping team.
We booked through Virgin so we received complimentary wifi and also a couples massage. Wifi was invariably stable and relatively fast for a hotel connection. The massage in the Spa area was one of the few negatives that we took from our stay at the resort. The Spa area itself was fitted out to a high standard, but we felt the prices were high which left the area relatively under used and I felt that the Spa staff had little drive in selling the services of the spa. This was in contrast to the rest of the resort - The level of service from the staff was the high point of our stay. This included the attentiveness of the General Manager and Food & Beverage Manager who were available throughout the day to ensure that standards remained high and were always on hand to attend to any needs that their guests might have. But the key to this resorts success is the happy friendly staff who just made is feel so welcome, from Davis at the beach (who ensured that a supply of drinks was maintained to the sunbeds) to young Festo (trainee animator/ bar staff) who always greeted is with a huge smile and a big Jambo! But it was not just the service from the team that was good - the meal times were enjoyable for the quality of food not just the great service that we received from the team.
We loved the peace and quiet that we could find in the resort, and we also loved being tormented on a night by a group of large eyed and noisy Bush Babies that lived in the trees outside our room - it was great fun!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms along the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank l2aski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear l2aski,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you had 10 days of relaxing holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your constructive feedback on the spa and the prices. The prices in the spa is on par/in line with all spa centres in Zanzibar and cannot be compare like on other countries like Thailand and Indonesia.
We will share your message with the team, especially to Festo, Animator Trainee and Davis, Beach Waiter.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We booked Ocean Paradise because of the excellent beach front. It's a wonderful place with great food, activities- beach volley ball, darts, billiard table, water sports (fantastic weather for parachute surfing) and warm staff, David the F&B host gets a special shout out for the attention he gave us, including a surprise anniversary cake during dinner.

Tip e-book the sea view rooms and ensure take a morning jog or an evening stroll. Further can book the water sports directly with the companies on the beach.

One place will come back to in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Samuel N

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and were satisfied with the service of the watersport you booked on the beach.

We do however strongly advise our guests to make use of an authorized and approved tour operator with the proper safety measures and liability insurance in place as we take our guests safety seriously (like life jackets during boat trips especially for children, which majority of such unauthorized excursion providers do not offer). In many cases the beach boys do not take into consideration these safety measures or have the proper liability insurance or first aid training, God forbid, should happen during your excursion. Unfortunately many guests to the Island have learnt this on a very hard way throughout the years without taking their safety first into consideration.

We will convey your message to the team, especially to David, the restaurant Host.
The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you back.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Located on the northeast coast of Zanzibar in Tanzania, Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa is our next stop. It faces the Indian Ocean and is a 45-minute drive from the Zanzibar Airport.

It is a big property, but it was not as good as the Essque Zulu Zanzibar. When we arrived, they gave us a copy of all the compliments we are receiving. We stayed in a Superior Bedroom with free breakfast and dinner. They also offer an all-inclusive treatment, where you get free lunch, drinks, and water for $33 per person per day. It is a good deal! You can order as much as you want and whatever you want on the menu but the cocktails were limited to the cocktails of the day.

On our first day, it was raining so we did not plan any big activity. The rain was back the next day. But we decided to have a beach day regardless. We lounged in the sun beds even if it was raining a bit. The best part? The rain deterred the crowd! In general, Zanzibar experiences holiday weather with seasonal rains. Our visit just timed with the short showers! But usually, it is warm year-round with the summer peaking in December.

A Masai warrior greets you when you arrive at Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa. The resort overlooks the white sandy beach. The entire property is surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens and accommodation is presented in traditional African roundhouse chalet with a pitched makuti roof. The rooms face the sea and feature large patio doors with a balcony. Amenities include air-conditioning, King or twin beds draped with mosquito netting, satellite TV, phone, mini-bar, and en-suite bathroom with shower, toilet bidet, and hair dryer. There were loads of villas, and beach huts and the rooms were over 100. However, the hotel is old, and some of the furniture in the rooms need replacing. Some refurbishing will do this place a lot of good. The bed is a bit uncomfortable, the pillow as well. There are three restaurants at Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa: Ocean Restaurant, Jahazi Restaurant, and Mawimbi Restaurant. Offering great views, the Ocean Restaurant serves a lovely breakfast and dinner. We had a buffet breakfast, which is composed of traditional Tanzanian food like curries and bread, and we also had Continental breakfast with different sorts of pastries like the croissant, pan au chocolat, donuts, and spreads like jams, marmalades, and peanut butter. The omelets are excellent! It is a big restaurant for breakfast. Dinner is also served here. It is another buffet, and it is interesting because themes vary from night to night. The first night it was Indian and then the next night was Italian, and we had pasta, roast, seafood, and fresh vegetables.

Meanwhile, Jahazi Restaurant is next to the pool. It offers wood-fired pizza and a variety of snacks. Finally, Mawimbi Restaurant serves Zanzibar Fusion cuisine. Local and traditional Zanzibar ingredients are mixed with Asian and Western influences for a unique gastronomic experience. It also has a romantic ambiance ideal for dinner dates!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TwoMonkeysTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear TwoMonkeysTravel

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed in depth review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We would like to rectify your comment on the all-inclusive as it is us$35 per person for upgrade while the guest is in house or on arrival.
Thank you for your constructive feedback of the beds and pillows. The bed is too hard as per your comfort and personal expectations, although there is 3 different types of softness of mattress what you can get when purchasing a mattress therefore we have an average soft mattress to ensure a standard for all different guest’s personal preference on mattress choice. As one could imagine the predicament if a hotel has to provide all types of mattresses to meet each guest’s personal preference among the 1000’s of guests passing through a hotel every year.
Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We are sure your detailed review will be insightful for all.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stayed here for a week after a very hectic week doing a safari in the Kilimanjaro area of Tanzania . We were on an all inclusive package which suited us as there are limited options to go elsewhere - but we didn't really want to and with such a variety to choose from it never felt repetitive - especially because each night there was a different "theme" eg East Asian night , Ocean night and Italian night etc. The young and attractive staff were very attentive and helpful and a credit to the management . The pool area was fabulous and the beach was gorgeous but you will get accompanied by the various hawkers pedaling their wares wether you encourage them or not

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Weloveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Weloveed

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with our fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa after your hectic safari in Tanzania.
Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

The local vendors on the beach are part of the local community selling their handmade artefacts alongside the coastal regions of Zanzibar and you will also find them in Kenya coastal regions. This is their entrepreneurial way to generate an extra income to support their families taking into consideration the conditions. Thank you for also explaining this to your fellow travellers to create a better understanding on the situation. Sometimes we underappreciated our own circumstances back home of what we see as basic is a luxury for the local community.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed here for five nights and thought it was great for a family stay. Beautiful layout and greenery. We had the best bungalows right in front of the beach and near the pool and dining area. Antonie needs special mention for his excellent communication before we arrived. I noticed the German GM always visiting tables and spending time at each one but only once came to us and asked ‘Everything ok’, then walked away making no other conversation. The majority of the staff are quite friendly and kind especially waiters and chefs but some of the front desk were not, Ellie was great though. We loved the spacious rooms, themed nights and entertainment every evening! We did not like that the shower curtain clung to our bodies. You have to pay for wifi in rooms- the only time we could get strong wifi was at the top bar but my philosophy is you should enjoy nature and your surroundings and forget technology on a holiday. The family enjoyed the varied complimentary tea and snacks in the afternoon. Great value for money for sure and food was varied and in abundant supply. I would stay here again and recommend this place for a family.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shannah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Shannah44

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with our fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We will convey your message to the team, especially to Antonie, Sales & Marketing Manager, Elzilea Front Office Manager and Mr. Bernd Brandt, the General Manager.

Our aim is 100% guest satisfaction and it saddens us that you had an isolated experience with some of the front office team which is always friendly and helpful. Our Front Office Management has been informed of your comment and continued efforts are being made with training programs to refresh the team on guest satisfaction. We trust this will alleviate the concern for our future guests.

Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
0.2 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
24.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
12.3 km away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
923 reviews
43 km away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $86 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing