We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveller rating
585
234
45
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
234
45
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone townseaweed farmsevery nightour honeymoonpool barbeach boysbuffet stylehalf boardbreakfast and dinnera la cartelow tideswahili lessonsthe general managerpalm treesreception areabeach sellersdifferent theme
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 908 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We booked Ocean Paradise because of the excellent beach front. It's a wonderful place with great food, activities- beach volley ball, darts, billiard table, water sports (fantastic weather for parachute surfing) and warm staff, David the F&B host gets a special shout out for the attention he gave us, including a surprise anniversary cake during dinner.

Tip e-book the sea view rooms and ensure take a morning jog or an evening stroll. Further can book the water sports directly with the companies on the beach.

One place will come back to in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Samuel N

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and were satisfied with the service of the watersport you booked on the beach.

We do however strongly advise our guests to make use of an authorized and approved tour operator with the proper safety measures and liability insurance in place as we take our guests safety seriously (like life jackets during boat trips especially for children, which majority of such unauthorized excursion providers do not offer). In many cases the beach boys do not take into consideration these safety measures or have the proper liability insurance or first aid training, God forbid, should happen during your excursion. Unfortunately many guests to the Island have learnt this on a very hard way throughout the years without taking their safety first into consideration.

We will convey your message to the team, especially to David, the restaurant Host.
The Ocean Paradise Team are looking forward to welcome you back.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Located on the northeast coast of Zanzibar in Tanzania, Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa is our next stop. It faces the Indian Ocean and is a 45-minute drive from the Zanzibar Airport.

It is a big property, but it was not as good as the Essque Zulu Zanzibar. When we arrived, they gave us a copy of all the compliments we are receiving. We stayed in a Superior Bedroom with free breakfast and dinner. They also offer an all-inclusive treatment, where you get free lunch, drinks, and water for $33 per person per day. It is a good deal! You can order as much as you want and whatever you want on the menu but the cocktails were limited to the cocktails of the day.

On our first day, it was raining so we did not plan any big activity. The rain was back the next day. But we decided to have a beach day regardless. We lounged in the sun beds even if it was raining a bit. The best part? The rain deterred the crowd! In general, Zanzibar experiences holiday weather with seasonal rains. Our visit just timed with the short showers! But usually, it is warm year-round with the summer peaking in December.

A Masai warrior greets you when you arrive at Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa. The resort overlooks the white sandy beach. The entire property is surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens and accommodation is presented in traditional African roundhouse chalet with a pitched makuti roof. The rooms face the sea and feature large patio doors with a balcony. Amenities include air-conditioning, King or twin beds draped with mosquito netting, satellite TV, phone, mini-bar, and en-suite bathroom with shower, toilet bidet, and hair dryer. There were loads of villas, and beach huts and the rooms were over 100. However, the hotel is old, and some of the furniture in the rooms need replacing. Some refurbishing will do this place a lot of good. The bed is a bit uncomfortable, the pillow as well. There are three restaurants at Ocean Paradise Resort and Spa: Ocean Restaurant, Jahazi Restaurant, and Mawimbi Restaurant. Offering great views, the Ocean Restaurant serves a lovely breakfast and dinner. We had a buffet breakfast, which is composed of traditional Tanzanian food like curries and bread, and we also had Continental breakfast with different sorts of pastries like the croissant, pan au chocolat, donuts, and spreads like jams, marmalades, and peanut butter. The omelets are excellent! It is a big restaurant for breakfast. Dinner is also served here. It is another buffet, and it is interesting because themes vary from night to night. The first night it was Indian and then the next night was Italian, and we had pasta, roast, seafood, and fresh vegetables.

Meanwhile, Jahazi Restaurant is next to the pool. It offers wood-fired pizza and a variety of snacks. Finally, Mawimbi Restaurant serves Zanzibar Fusion cuisine. Local and traditional Zanzibar ingredients are mixed with Asian and Western influences for a unique gastronomic experience. It also has a romantic ambiance ideal for dinner dates!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank THE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear TwoMonkeysTravel

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed in depth review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to hear enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We would like to rectify your comment on the all-inclusive as it is us$35 per person for upgrade while the guest is in house or on arrival.
Thank you for your constructive feedback of the beds and pillows. The bed is too hard as per your comfort and personal expectations, although there is 3 different types of softness of mattress what you can get when purchasing a mattress therefore we have an average soft mattress to ensure a standard for all different guest’s personal preference on mattress choice. As one could imagine the predicament if a hotel has to provide all types of mattresses to meet each guest’s personal preference among the 1000’s of guests passing through a hotel every year.
Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.
We are sure your detailed review will be insightful for all.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stayed here for a week after a very hectic week doing a safari in the Kilimanjaro area of Tanzania . We were on an all inclusive package which suited us as there are limited options to go elsewhere - but we didn't really want to and with such a variety to choose from it never felt repetitive - especially because each night there was a different "theme" eg East Asian night , Ocean night and Italian night etc. The young and attractive staff were very attentive and helpful and a credit to the management . The pool area was fabulous and the beach was gorgeous but you will get accompanied by the various hawkers pedaling their wares wether you encourage them or not

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Weloveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Weloveed

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with our fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa after your hectic safari in Tanzania.
Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

The local vendors on the beach are part of the local community selling their handmade artefacts alongside the coastal regions of Zanzibar and you will also find them in Kenya coastal regions. This is their entrepreneurial way to generate an extra income to support their families taking into consideration the conditions. Thank you for also explaining this to your fellow travellers to create a better understanding on the situation. Sometimes we underappreciated our own circumstances back home of what we see as basic is a luxury for the local community.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Stayed a long weekend at this gem. Wonderful spacious premises, lush greenery, great food and courteous staff. The German GM is hands-on and visibly motivating and directing his staff to deliver beyond expectations for East Africa.
Very clean rooms and public areas, friendly atmosphere and decent distraction. The park-like grounds are well kept an in spite of being almost full to capacity, I felt during the day as if only 10pct of the guest were around.
Beach is nice during high tide, during low tide the pool is the better option.
Will certainly consider to come back to Zanzibar and to this property

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frankowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Frankowicz

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, especially the evening entertainment and the selection of cuisine in the restaurant
We will convey your message to the team

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We spent a week here following a safari in Kenya and it was the perfect way to relax and wind down.
The pace of life here is slower and so sometimes there is a small wait for a drink, but it is something you soon get used to! The internet also has the same laid back attitude!
The staff are all polite and happy to help, without bothering you every five minutes.
We stayed in one of the round houses and really enjoyed it, although didn't spend that much time in the room. There are quite a few excursions available that we enjoyed.
We booked through virgin so got a complimentary couples massage which was a nice bonus.
We went into stone town, to the Jozani forest and also to prison island. All of the trips were good and nice to get out and about.
Unfortunately Zanzibar airport is quite basic and so don't expect it to look like Heathrow!! Also the roads in Zanzibar leave a little to be desired.

All in all a lovely country with some nice laid back people and a lovely hotel where we felt very welcome and well fed!

Room Tip: The cost to upgrade to a superior garden room is minimal and so worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NatB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear NatB23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us your feedback and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxed holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa and the surroundings of Zanzibar after your safari in Kenya.

We will convey your feedbackl to the team.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews