We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
925 results
Traveller rating
597
237
46
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
237
46
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone town seaweed farms every night our honeymoon pool bar beach boys buffet style half board breakfast and dinner a la carte swahili lessons low tide palm trees the general manager reception area beach sellers beach area
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 925 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We spent a week here following a safari in Kenya and it was the perfect way to relax and wind down.
The pace of life here is slower and so sometimes there is a small wait for a drink, but it is something you soon get used to! The internet also has the same laid back attitude!
The staff are all polite and happy to help, without bothering you every five minutes.
We stayed in one of the round houses and really enjoyed it, although didn't spend that much time in the room. There are quite a few excursions available that we enjoyed.
We booked through virgin so got a complimentary couples massage which was a nice bonus.
We went into stone town, to the Jozani forest and also to prison island. All of the trips were good and nice to get out and about.
Unfortunately Zanzibar airport is quite basic and so don't expect it to look like Heathrow!! Also the roads in Zanzibar leave a little to be desired.

All in all a lovely country with some nice laid back people and a lovely hotel where we felt very welcome and well fed!

Room Tip: The cost to upgrade to a superior garden room is minimal and so worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NatB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear NatB23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us your feedback and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxed holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa and the surroundings of Zanzibar after your safari in Kenya.

We will convey your feedbackl to the team.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Spacious room, with a large bathroom, complete with an effective air con unit and a ceiling fan also a balcony with views over the well cared for gardens and the sea which was less than five minutes walk away. The food was always well cooked and hot with plenty of choices at every meal. Evenings were themed as far as entertainment was concerned, although the meal choices didn't always reflect the theme, however, the quality of the food was always excellent.
Service at the swim-up poolside bar was faultless, both from the food and the drinks side of things. There was another bar to choose if shade was required on a longer term, or for a quieter time. The animation team werevery proactive giving a choice of sports during the day along with a couple of interesting local tours.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view then you need either a front row in the garden, or a room on the top row at the back of the garden
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us your feedback and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to hear that the you have enjoyed the food and the service at the bar.
We are also pleased to hear you have enjoyed the village tour which is part of our community project to the Pwani Mchangani Village. We encourage all our guests to make use of this opportunity to visit especially with your children the village to meet the local people and learn from them. This allows you to return home with greater appreciation for things in life one expect in the modern world as a standard requirement or need in our daily lives like technology and high level education which is seen as a luxury in developing countries like Zanzibar. Thank you for sharing this experience with your fellow travellers.
We will convey your message to the team.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We've just returned from 2 weeks at this lovely resort! On arriving we were the only UK guests, it is predominantly German but that was fine with us! Gardens are exceptionally maintained, accommodation was perfect, we had a superior garden bungalow and we loved it! Food was good and plentiful but we did miss eating out for dinner but there is nothing outside of the hotel! What made our holiday perfect were the wonderful staff, all of them! From the gardeners to the bar staff, special shout out to Grace, Peter, Jane, Emmanuel and Jumi! We spent two weeks with the Masai boys, they organised all our trips and you can trust them, great lads! My only point is we found the general manager incredibly rude, happy to chat to his German guests but not once in 2 weeks did he so much as ask us if everything was ok!! I would highly recommend getting out and about, it is such an interesting island! We loved Zanzibar and would return to this hotel!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinacostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Tinacostello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us your feedback and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Your appreciation on the friendliness of the staff, the room and the food are well noted with pleasure.

We apologize to hear that the General Manager have not greeted you during your stay as he had missed you between the other guest.
Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We will convey your message to the team.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Nice and spacious rooms located in a lush garden.
The buffet breakfast was really good but the dinner buffets would deserve a little make over. The huge pool is nice.
The treatments in the hotel SPA seemed a little overpriced to me: US-$ 85.00 for a 60 min. session is pretty high for this part of the world.
We had WIFI access that we paid for and it did not work properly - it appeared to us that this was a common problem as the staff was not really surprised about it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sybille70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Steve T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for sharing your experience with our fellow travellers.

Thank you for the constructive feedback on your Wi-Fi experience. Due to the resort being located in a rural area on the North-East side of Zanzibar, 50 min from town internet connection tower points are far and wide with no high mountain ranges or peaks to give it better coverage. Due to this the Wi-Fi connection on the coastal regions are not as good as what one would find in the town areas. Our apologies for the inconvenience due to this.
We will convey your message to the staff, especially to Peter The Barman
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

This is probably the best named hotel that I have ever stayed in. It is 'exactly what is says on the tin'.
It is on the ocean, and it is like paradise.
The rooms are in character of the whole resort, large, well laid out with great balcony. Good air-conditioning, a most important mosquito net (although I didn't see or hear any).
As well as the usual room maintenance, in the evening the staff would turn down the bed, close the curtains, and put the mosquito net in place.
The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the private beach area is wonderful and immaculate.
I don't believe that even the 'pickiest' eater could have a problem finding something to eat, the options were endless and the quality superb (well as much as buffet food can be).
The whole resort is clean and extremely well maintained.
Probably the most stand out parts are ALL the staff, who are enormously helpful, welcoming and appear to be always smiling. Our thanks especially go to Peter in the poolside bar.
Wonderful holiday.
p.s. Only negative was the Wi-Fi for the room which was an extra, but when we were there wasn't working well.
The 'FREE' complimentary wifi areas round the bars are perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SteveT2917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Director of Sales at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Steve T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased that we could host you for a relaxing and joyful holiday.

We will share your message with the team.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews