We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach relaxation in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Stayed a long weekend at this gem. Wonderful spacious premises, lush greenery, great food and courteous staff. The German GM is hands-on and visibly motivating and directing his staff to deliver beyond expectations for East Africa.
Very clean rooms and public areas, friendly atmosphere and decent distraction. The park-like grounds are well kept an in spite of being almost full to capacity, I felt during the day as if only 10pct of the guest were around.
Beach is nice during high tide, during low tide the pool is the better option.
Will certainly consider to come back to Zanzibar and to this property

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frankowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Frankowicz

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers on this platform.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, especially the evening entertainment and the selection of cuisine in the restaurant
We will convey your message to the team

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

We spent a week here following a safari in Kenya and it was the perfect way to relax and wind down.
The pace of life here is slower and so sometimes there is a small wait for a drink, but it is something you soon get used to! The internet also has the same laid back attitude!
The staff are all polite and happy to help, without bothering you every five minutes.
We stayed in one of the round houses and really enjoyed it, although didn't spend that much time in the room. There are quite a few excursions available that we enjoyed.
We booked through virgin so got a complimentary couples massage which was a nice bonus.
We went into stone town, to the Jozani forest and also to prison island. All of the trips were good and nice to get out and about.
Unfortunately Zanzibar airport is quite basic and so don't expect it to look like Heathrow!! Also the roads in Zanzibar leave a little to be desired.

All in all a lovely country with some nice laid back people and a lovely hotel where we felt very welcome and well fed!

Room Tip: The cost to upgrade to a superior garden room is minimal and so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NatB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear NatB23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us your feedback and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxed holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa and the surroundings of Zanzibar after your safari in Kenya.

We will convey your feedbackl to the team.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Spacious room, with a large bathroom, complete with an effective air con unit and a ceiling fan also a balcony with views over the well cared for gardens and the sea which was less than five minutes walk away. The food was always well cooked and hot with plenty of choices at every meal. Evenings were themed as far as entertainment was concerned, although the meal choices didn't always reflect the theme, however, the quality of the food was always excellent.
Service at the swim-up poolside bar was faultless, both from the food and the drinks side of things. There was another bar to choose if shade was required on a longer term, or for a quieter time. The animation team werevery proactive giving a choice of sports during the day along with a couple of interesting local tours.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view then you need either a front row in the garden, or a room on the top row at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us your feedback and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to hear that the you have enjoyed the food and the service at the bar.
We are also pleased to hear you have enjoyed the village tour which is part of our community project to the Pwani Mchangani Village. We encourage all our guests to make use of this opportunity to visit especially with your children the village to meet the local people and learn from them. This allows you to return home with greater appreciation for things in life one expect in the modern world as a standard requirement or need in our daily lives like technology and high level education which is seen as a luxury in developing countries like Zanzibar. Thank you for sharing this experience with your fellow travellers.
We will convey your message to the team.
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We've just returned from 2 weeks at this lovely resort! On arriving we were the only UK guests, it is predominantly German but that was fine with us! Gardens are exceptionally maintained, accommodation was perfect, we had a superior garden bungalow and we loved it! Food was good and plentiful but we did miss eating out for dinner but there is nothing outside of the hotel! What made our holiday perfect were the wonderful staff, all of them! From the gardeners to the bar staff, special shout out to Grace, Peter, Jane, Emmanuel and Jumi! We spent two weeks with the Masai boys, they organised all our trips and you can trust them, great lads! My only point is we found the general manager incredibly rude, happy to chat to his German guests but not once in 2 weeks did he so much as ask us if everything was ok!! I would highly recommend getting out and about, it is such an interesting island! We loved Zanzibar and would return to this hotel!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinacostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Tinacostello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us your feedback and sharing your experience with your fellow travellers

We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Your appreciation on the friendliness of the staff, the room and the food are well noted with pleasure.

We apologize to hear that the General Manager have not greeted you during your stay as he had missed you between the other guest.
Thank you for recommending Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to the fellow travellers, we are looking forward to welcome your friends, family and fellow travellers to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

We will convey your message to the team.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Nice and spacious rooms located in a lush garden.
The buffet breakfast was really good but the dinner buffets would deserve a little make over. The huge pool is nice.
The treatments in the hotel SPA seemed a little overpriced to me: US-$ 85.00 for a 60 min. session is pretty high for this part of the world.
We had WIFI access that we paid for and it did not work properly - it appeared to us that this was a common problem as the staff was not really surprised about it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sybille70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPR_SMM, Front Office Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Steve T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Thank you for sharing your experience with our fellow travellers.

Thank you for the constructive feedback on your Wi-Fi experience. Due to the resort being located in a rural area on the North-East side of Zanzibar, 50 min from town internet connection tower points are far and wide with no high mountain ranges or peaks to give it better coverage. Due to this the Wi-Fi connection on the coastal regions are not as good as what one would find in the town areas. Our apologies for the inconvenience due to this.
We will convey your message to the staff, especially to Peter The Barman
Thank you for choosing Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Bernd Brandt & Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,709 reviews
0.2 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,785 reviews
21.6 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
942 reviews
24.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
43 km away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $70 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing