We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location , great Villa and great staff”

Review of Turquoise

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Relaxing Area On Private Beach & View On The Lagoon
Sun Deck
Pool
Games Room
Bedroom
Sweet Dreams
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Villa Turquoise At Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Yoramk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location , great Villa and great staff”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We've been a group of 11 people of all ages and it was a great place to stay in. The location if excellent if looking for peace and quiet . The beach is just beyond the house and it is great to walk on the beach. The house is large and easily had the group in it 5 rooms. Last but not least is the great staff the house who took care of us and any of our wishes.

Recommended to have the chef service ,Hamiz , who cooks very well. Make sure to plan the food so the cost will not be high.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aruninnov
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in November 2015

I rarely write reviews, but couldn't resit and not write one on this beautiful villa Turquoise and the experience we had in November 2015. We were a large group (9 adults and 3 kids) and celebrated one of our friend's big birthday at the villa.

The villa is more beautiful that what you see in the pictures, and it was just outstanding in all respects. Right from the evening we landed (where we received a welcome coconut water drink) to the day we left, the staff were extremely good and attentive and top-class in their respective jobs. Hamiz, Angel, and all other staff deserve a special mention. Donna the manager was very efficient and helped us in every possible way.

The views from the villa were gorgeous, and a short boat ride away you go to one of the most pristine white sand turquouise water island - the Mnemba island. You can't step into the island, but one can snorkel around etc.

Donna also suggested a day trip on the safari blue ocean safari, which was again excellent. We visited one of the most beautiful islands for snorkelling around Kwale.

I would certainly go back to Zanzibar again, and go back to the villa. It was made special in every possible way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy N
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb and welcoming”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I absolutely loved my holiday in this villa, situated on Matemwe beach. The villa is spacious and well laid out, with plenty of decks and patios to find shade or suntanning options. The pool is a very welcome sight on a hot day, and the well-tended gardens are a balm to the eyes after the powder-white beach sand.

But the star of this attraction is the staff. They form the most amazing team, with Lucky and Angel managing the housework and the food serving, with Hamisi and Sele in the kitchen. An awesome and friendly group of people, who provided fantastic food and service and were so willing to go out of their way to help with anything. The garden and security staff did their best to keep invisible but you could see the results of their efforts, and they were also very friendly when we met them.

Assante sana, we loved every minute of this holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly, helpful, competent staff - every single one of them
Liked least: A few times we had mosquito issues in spite of the efforts to keep them out.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrika183
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house is situated on Matemwe beach which is one of the best beaches in Zanzibar. It is located very nicely on the beach with its own private beach in front of the house. The staff members are very helpful and nothing is a problem for Lucky, Angel, Hamiz the cook and Sele Ali. We used the motor boat and the oppies daily and thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach and service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is as close to Paradise as it gets”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thanks for a fantastic time at Villa Turquoise. After an exhausting week on safari in the Serengeti (which was fantastic) it was so nice to chill out in Zanzibar. The Villa is magnificent and the staff are all wonderful. Lucky is so efficient and completely calm all the time. “no worries” she would say whenever there was something we wanted. Khamis is a gem. He doesn’t realise how talented he is. He produced some fabulous food for those who wanted it alongside pasta or something simple for those who didn’t. Thank you, Donna, for all you did for us. My wife was so grateful that you managed all the catering requirements so that she didn’t need to lift a finger !

Bart, you chose a beautiful location and have built a beautiful house. I love it. It is perfect and fits the environment perfectly. I love the high makuti roof and the wide veranda upstairs. The bedrooms are so comfortable, each with its own facilities. My wife and I had one in the front and woke each morning as the sun rose over the sea. It was idyllic. The beach, stretching for miles in each direction is so unspoilt; no high rise hotels (yet) and few guys hassling you to buy things you don’t want. I speak swahili which makes a difference so we had a laugh and a joke with everyone – including Solomon Dishwasher, just along the way !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & tranquility in a beautiful location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing