We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
51
64
29
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
64
29
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim shoes sea view the hotel is clean nungwi village restaurant staff stayed nights hotel is located beach zanzibar power sand
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We spent four nights at Tanzanite and wish we had stayed longer. The staff is amazing and they ended up as our African family. They did their outmost to help us, and they made the stay unforgettable. The resort and its facilities exceeded our expectations.

Shoutout to the three zucchini's, Didi and Easter for putting a smile on our face every day. We will come back to this resort next time we are in Zanzibar!

Love
Sofie and Julia

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sofie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Tanzanite, the hotel is clean, food not bad and the staff were very friendly. It is however pretty isolated and a 15 to 20 minute walk to the restaurants and bars with a sand beach.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed at the Tanzanite for about 2 weeks. The staff is really really nice and helpful! One needs "swim shoes" to swim in the beach joint to the hotell but the sandy beaches are very close by, either by walking or a quick taxi ride away. We'd warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

I consider myself a flexible person, so I have mixed feelings about this place.

The resort is nothing fancy but very comfortable and well-positioned to spend many hours staring at the exquisite sea views and lazing on the loungers round the pool. It is lovely to walk out into the sea but there are many anemones so you have to wear the broken shoes on offer at the resort and watch where you step. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to help.

Other parts were disappointing. The mattresses and pillows were fairly awful (foam only, hot and you sink into them). I had about 2 hot showers out of 5 days but the weather is so warm that I didn't mind. Power is variable so the meagre fan (singular) hardly turns during the day but at midnight it does fairly well. Breakfast is basically the same every day, with some leftovers from last night's dinner thrown in.

An average main meal anywhere in Zanzibar seems to cost roughly $10.
Bottled water is $2 per large bottle but costs $1 at the corner shop down the road.

All the good restaurants and entertainment are on the other side of town, which costs about $5 fare one way (refuse to pay more). Taxis are plentiful in the town square (which is an open patch of dirt between some buildings and trees).
Transfers from the airport cost $40 one way but are much cheaper if you arrange them privately with a driver, who probably will help you with any other tours you want to do.

So Tanzanite is a mixed bag. But if you came to spend all your time in your room, what are you doing in Zanzibar?

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank CathLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

It was grossly overpriced at $140 a night, terrible food and they couldnt even manage the concept of a cold beer. The rooms were basically a glorified shack with nothing except a bed and ceiling fan which was ineffective with an ensuite bathroom.there wasnt even a small fridge to keep water (l requested one but this was ignored) so you were drinking warm water all the time. The advertised internet didnt work in the rooms or bar area and if you wanted to find any life you had to walk 40 mins (not the advertised 15 mins) to the other side of the island to a few of the bars and restaurants available there for slightly better food and to see other human beings. The 'beach' advertised there is unsuitable for swimming as its too dangerous at high tides and too far out at low tide. We originally booked 8 nights in this 'slice of paradise' but it was basically so crappy that we left after five nights taking the hit on the money (we asked for a refund but were refused) If you like staying in the middle of nowhere, throwing your money on overpriced and bad services, terrible food and warm beers this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzanite-Beach, Front Office Manager at Tanzanite Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thanks for your cont well noted and worked for

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews