We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern fine dining in an amazing setting”
Review of Cottage Point Inn

Cottage Point Inn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cottage Point Inn began its life as a boat house, general store and post office for the river community. Over the last two decades, the Inn has been transformed from a pleasant bistro in a stunning setting to its current fine dining form focused on showcasing the best Australian produce. Spring 2022 sees Steven Hetherington take the helm as Head Chef.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

I've dined at many Michelin starred restaurants, but would rate this restaurant as one of my top five dining experiences.
First, the setting is exceptional. Outdooring seating with good shade, views from all tables, and very few bugs.
Service is professional.
Food was the sort of modern fusion I experienced at Noma: local ingredients, innovative presentation, a lot of Japanese influence, and complex flavours.
Wine pairing was also well done and probably offered better value than odering off the wine list.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TokyoSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2024

Food was amazing - we had the 5 course tasting menu with the extra caviar starter. Every course was delicious and just the right amount.

The service however was just really bad. The waiters were indifferent, especially the sommelier who could barely be bothered to tell us what he was pouring each time on our wine flight. We don't expect to become besties with the waiters when we go out, but a little interaction is always appreciated

Also the wine selection on the wine flight was quite hit and miss. 1 pinot Grigio, 1 Riesling, 1 pinot Grigio/riesling blend then a funky red organic wine (note to the sommelier - when you are only offering 1 glass of red wine in a 5 glass wine flight, no-one wants it to be an 'experimental' natural wine) and a weirdly fizzy desert wine.

Last time we did the seaplane/lunch thing we went to Berowra Waters. Food was equally as good, but the service and the wine choice were far far superior. Would recommend anyone to spend the bit extra and go there instead for a special occasion.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

We booked this restaurant some months ago as a surprise for a friend who had been very helpful to us in difficult times.
The location is wonderful and quite unique. The food was delicious. Very high quality and beautifully presented.
Unfortunately we were given a table next to the kitchen door and the rather loud coffee machine. When we asked if we could sit outside we were told it was fully booked even though there were some empty tables when we arrived. This was disappointing given that we had booked some time ago and no effort or interest was given to our request. The service was perfunctory without much warmth. I suppose with such a gorgeous location you don’t have to try very hard.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank AngieP712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2023

A superb location for a lunch seated in the sunshine. The dishes were delicious and served with flair. However, the service was mediocre and unfortunately did not enhance the experience.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2022

Delicious food with a very warm service from the team. We came in the sunday from Sydney and loved everything. The menu is special and amazing

Date of visit: April 2022
1  Thank gui2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cottage Point Inn also viewed

 
Mooney Mooney, New South Wales
Hawkesbury Valley, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Cottage Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.