We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience”
Review of Cottage Point Inn

Cottage Point Inn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cottage Point Inn began its life as a boat house, general store and post office for the river community. Over the last two decades, the Inn has been transformed from a pleasant bistro in a stunning setting to its current fine dining form focused on showcasing the best Australian produce. Spring 2022 sees Steven Hetherington take the helm as Head Chef.
Reviewed 23 June 2021

The degustation menu was unreal, the perfectly timed service was to be admired, everything was fantastic, can highly reccomend this dining exprrience.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Digogmigogvi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

Having a degustation lunch at Cottage Point Inn is an experience to remember. Situated right on the water, it’s an exceptionally relaxing and enjoyable place to dine at. The food was truly amazing with every bite an experience to savour.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank TravellingCosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

Wow . I went a few years back and it was ok . Nowadays it’s ahead of the pack by far . We have tried 3 top places at the crown and they can’t beat this experience . The food was exceptional . Despite the grumpy sommelier whose part of the fun it’s the best .

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank simonwT9528JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

Amazing degustation late lunch. Every course was superb and so unique in taste and texture. Items I would necessarily order from a menu were beautiful surprises (eg liquorice cake??) The staff were so professional but personable. Beautiful view and 5 star experience.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank katwoman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2021

A little surprised by some of the more recent reviews.

On a good day, I could not think of a more perfect spot to dine - beautiful views across Cowan Creek into the Ku-Ring-Gai Chase National Park. When the sun is shining you couldn't hope to be anywhere else.

The restaurant itself is modern, relaxed and clean.

Service was a little slow at the start, and maybe a bit chaotic - one of our group was brought a drink without checking with the rest of the table, and menus took quite a while to show up. But after that, our waiting staff were super-friendly, helpful, and gave us great service.

But the food is the main event, and with such a setting it has a lot to live up to. First thing's first - I love a menu that I really struggle to choose from, and this one was a nightmare! So many dishes sounded great, and from a party of 6, not one failed to hit the mark, and all were beautifully presented on super-modern, stylish plates / bowls etc. Too many to talk through each plate, but the Spatchcock with XO, raw Kingfish with smoked togarashi, and Liquorice cake the absolute highlights.

Wine - well, the list was 'ambitiously priced', it's fair to say, but the wines they had were somewhat off the beaten track, and really well chosen to match the food. The glassware wasn't quite up to the same standard, unfortunately - good brands, but at the cheaper, heavier end of the restaurant spectrum. Compared to the rest of the experience I'd have loved to drink from something a little finer.

Overall, a wonderful experience, and I can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AsaJ545
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cottage Point Inn also viewed

 
Mooney Mooney, New South Wales
Hawkesbury Valley, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Cottage Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.