We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly special place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
no light pollution
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
no light pollution
incredible secluded location
The view from Wilding Pines overlooks Lake Wanaka
The views are gorgeous, you can see the world, but the world cannot see you.
Comfortable inviting spaces to read a book, sunbath, relax after a busy day.
perfect for romantic sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Wanaka, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JEJLondon
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A truly special place”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We feel incredibly lucky to have found this place and will treasure the memories of our Christmas at Wilding Pines. There is not a detail that Amy and Mike haven't thought of, and everywhere you look there are beautiful touches and tiny ways to make your stay even more magical.
Amy was incredibly patient with our endless questions during and after booking and Mike spent lots of time with us when we arrived to check we had all we needed. And then we had the place to ourselves as a family and we just fell in love with the whole site. Congratulations on creating something so spectacular. We wish you every success and a very happy new year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
It was a pleasure to host you all. Thank you for your lovely words and we hope to see you all back again some time. Happy new year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevpawl
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Gorgeous. Peaceful. Awesome Customer Service.”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016

For our honeymoon, my wife and I rented a car and drove up the South Island of New Zealand. We had many great B&B accommodations but this was by far the most unique experience (in a good way!). Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. The scenery was spectacular, but was even more spectacular was the attention to detail Explore Life put into setting up our Glamping site. From how the kitchen area was setup to the work they put into giving us an outdoor sink, and enclosed bathroom/shower. The setup was really well done. Very romantic. It was a once-in-a-lifetime stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the customer service
Liked least: n/a. It was all great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rise V
Visalia, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Romantic, enchanting, a true New Zealand treasure”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our 1st trip to NZ. My husband and I stayed at Wilding Pines for 2 days. We were amazed at everything the site offered. Amy and Mikey thought of everything and there was nothing more we could have asked for. We brought our own groceries but everything else was provided. The views were incredible and we were captivated by the changes in scenery as the sunlight moved across the mountains through the day. We napped together in the hammock, cooked on the outdoor grill,& stargazed at night. For two days we felt like the last people on Earth. The site, though not far from town, provided total privacy and seclusion. The tent was roomy, beautifully decorated and the bed was luxurious and so comfortable. I loved the outdoor shower which provided hot water and enough privacy while still offering a chance to peek out at the beautiful surroundings. The site was spacious and well laid out. We loved that they kept the natural landscape. Wilding Pines is a treasure and we only wish to have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Fabulous experience - magnificent view!”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Dublin Bay. The tent was great: spacious, clean and comfortable. Hot shower was perfect after a bit chilly nights. The BBQ was great, too; we enjoyed steaks and beer all nights with a magnificent view over Lake Wanaka. My favourite place was the hammock, where I could have spent all my time. Amy, the host, was very kind and made sure that we were fine during our stay and had enough ice for the cooler. I can highly recommend staying there – this is a very special and unique experience.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delicious...
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kickass camping in an amazing location!”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Remote yet close to Wanaka, an amazing getaway - a kiwi style camping experience with a twist. Everything was provided to make us feel at home while we were camping there, so you can truly get away and just forget about everything. Really convenient to bike riding at Deans Bank track and swimming at Dublin Bay. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing