We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and definitely worth a visit”
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 14.85*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #2 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Neat maze and interactive exhibits. Great family attraction and good value.

Helpful?
Thank Gordon2745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorldWanaka, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Hi Gordon 2745

Thanks for your awesome review. I'm glad you rate our maze as "neat" and that you agree we're an attraction that "spans the ages"!!

We hope to see you again at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    594
    120
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This was a highlight of our NZ trip. Everithing was perfect - the maze, the shop, the leaning tower, rest area where you can try some of the puzzles, even the toilets ;-) but the illusion rooms just take the cake (i went three times). This was truly value for money and much more. PS to solve the maze - know greeks.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dr1milo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorldWanaka, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Hi Dr1milo

Thanks for your awesome review. It looks like you loved everything we offer - so glad we topped your NZ highlight list

We hope to see you again at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
P.S - Funnily enough Plitvice N.P was our Croatian holiday highlight!
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great value way to kill some time”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

my kids loved this, really basic but oh so interesting

Genuine staff, lots of puzzles to play with and some of the optical illusions are mind boggling

Was $15, and for that you could easily fill a couple of hours. makes a nice change to the commercial side of Queenstown and Wanaka

Helpful?
Thank hardsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorldWanaka, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Hi Hardsell,

Thanks for your great review. I'm glad the staff and attraction impressed you and was able to offer you a fun and affordable way to "kill some time"!

We hope to see you again at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Puzzles by the dozens”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

plenty of mind bending puzzles,the maze is difficult and long.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CARMODY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorldWanaka, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Hi Carmody1,

Thanks for your great review. I'm glad the maze offered a challenge for you and that your mind was suitably boggled in the Puzzle Centre !

We hope to see you again at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt emu
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing literally”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We family with 15yr old son all loved this place. The puzzles especially the illusions are brilliant and in some ways I thought it catered to adults more than children although the ones I saw were certainly enjoying themselves. The Alice in Wonderland type room was particularly amazing he maze is on 2 levels and they are cut in half with limited access points so quite complicated luckily the guys have good spatial skills or I might still be stuck. Do yourself a favour go here great fun for adults and kids alike.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuzzlingWorldWanaka, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Hi Mtemu

Thanks for your fantastic review. I'm glad you agree that its an attraction that suits all ages - that's often the most challenging "sell"!

We hope to see you again at PW

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing