We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and enjoyable”
Review of The Cardrona

The Cardrona
Ranked #1 of 61 Tours in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: First class scenic horse trekking and quad bike tours of the stunning Cardrona Valley, South Island, New Zealand
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Wonderfully tailored experience. We had booked a river quad bike tour. Our youngest had difficulty with the quad bike brakes so Shaun adjusted the trip to suit their ability. Then to avoid our elder child missing out he took them out in front for a quicker ride. Excellent focus on safety but while also enabling the kids to have fun.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Lour G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"horse riding"
in 102 reviews
"quad bikes"
in 38 reviews
"the high country"
in 23 reviews
"pub ride"
in 9 reviews
"gold discovery"
in 7 reviews
"guide sean"
in 7 reviews
"an experienced rider"
in 21 reviews
"gold rush"
in 10 reviews
"riding experience"
in 19 reviews
"wonderful ride"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful horses"
in 14 reviews
"beginner riders"
in 8 reviews
"great guide"
in 27 reviews
"trot and canter"
in 10 reviews
"hour ride"
in 11 reviews
"my partner"
in 29 reviews
"mulled wine"
in 7 reviews
Filter

166 - 170 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I had such a beautiful ride today with Ally and my handsome horse Wally today!!
It was a bit overcast and windy, and the drizzle came in towards the end, however, it was so magical once up the mountain looking across the valley and Cardrona township.
This tour was excellent as there were 4 people in total and our guide, Ally was interesting, kind and helpful. She instilled confidence in us and helped out when things weren’t going so well (which is often the case with horses).
The stop off in The Cardrona Hotel for a drink before finishing off the journey was an excellent addition to a great adventure.
I would highly recommend this for any horse riding experience level and anyone willing to have a go!
Plus, they have the coolest polydactyl cats!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dominic340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent time after a false start a month earlier.
Unfortunately when we first booked the heavens opened for the first time in 4 months ! We took a rain check and came back at Easter... Kelly was great sorting the right standard of horse for our experience. Wonderful wild life, wonderful views and then cantering up and around the hills and mountains.....fantastic and exhilarating though remained confident the horses and we were safe.
Thanks .... if you get the chance do it ....we hope to go back in the winter to try the quad bike tours
Nick & Robie

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The Top Beat ride is definitely for more experienced riders! Horses all as keen as we were to canter full pelt up to a stunning valley viewpoint in the Cardona hills. Ally inspired confidence and had really interesting historical information on the way. The horses are happy, healthy and beautifully well-behaved. A really enjoyable 2.5 hrs and just great to feel like you've done some real riding! Wish I could go every week!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cardrona also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Cardrona, Otago Region
 

Been to The Cardrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing