We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #10 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming Wanaka”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As we walked in to the Homestead we knew we had made the right choice. There was a friendly welcoming feel to the place. Our cottage ensured a lovely roomy stay where everything was as we had wished. .... comfortable beds, tidy, well equipped kitchen, powerful showers, great barbecue and lovely woodland location.  Thank you for ensuring that our stay was relaxed and an absolute pleasure. The weather certainly added the final bonus.

Room Tip: The cottage was ideal for two couples.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelleronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cave Junction, OR
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed one night after hiking the Milford Track and touring the Queenstown area. The lodge is located a short distance from the town of Wanaka and there is a great walking path along the lake into town. The lodge is located right on a main road so traffic noise can be heard but the road must be lightly travelled at night because we had no problem sleeping. Our room was pleasant but not remarkable and there were specks of dark lint on the carpet that made me wonder if it a thorough vacuuming had been done. The hostess was very pleasant and use of the Internet was appreciated. Coffee/tea and cookies are always available for a quick snack. Guests have free use of a washer and dryer which was REALLY appreciated after being on vacation for over a week. Unless you paid extra, a cooked breakfast was not given. The usual fruit, yogurt and cereal were fine but when paying a decent rate for a B and B, I think a cooked breakfast should be included in the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the Lodge in a king-sized bedroom for 3 nights. The Lodge is stylish and comfortable, and the owners are very hospitable and helpful. Bonuses are free WiFi, the use of Lodge mountain bikes, and use of the lounge/dining room with tea/coffee and biscuits.
The following could enhance the experience:
1. A small refrigerator with ice tray would be useful in the rooms.
2. The bikes could do with a service! The gears on one of ours were very stiff to shift, and would unpredictably shift of their own accord.
3. We and our friends were watching a movie in the communal lounge room one wet afternoon. The owner turned the volume down to a level which made the film inaudible. We suspect this was done at the request of other residents. If this is the case then something needs to be done to insulate/isolate guest rooms from communal facilities.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very nice, the doors opening onto a grass courtyard. Very convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Surprised by all the TripAdvisor fuss about this place. We stayed here three nights (largely becuase of Trip Advisor reviews). We rented the two bedroom cottage. While the space was large, clean and comfortable, there were some significant drawbacks that would prevent me from returning. Firstly, it was cold!! The advertized underfloor heating is apparently not switched on until winter. We were there in Autumn, and several times when we woke up in the morning, the temperature had dipped to about 60 degrees. This meant that we ate breakfast huddled under quilts. Second, there is a lack of privacy. The windows of the cottage look out onto a grassy courtyard across which many guests walk. But there were no blinds -- only heavy curtains. So our choice was to have no privacy at all or to draw the heavy curtains and block out all light (as well as the much needed heat of the sun!). A more minor irritant was the fact that the cottage was equipped in a rather spartan fashion. Shampoo, conditioner and soap were of the lowest motel grade type. The kitchen had precisely 4 water glasses. That meant that in the mornings we had to go fetch our water glasses from our night stands and wash them out before using for breakfast. Similarly, one lone dishtowel was provided at a time. Finally, the hot-tub was neither hot nor clean -- it was full of leaves and little twigs and sorely in need of a clean up.
On the plus side, the location was great -- a quick walk into the center of Wanaka. We also liked being able to use the bikes, as well as the laundry facilities. However, we came away feeling that this was very overpriced and was the only disappointing accomodation of our NZ trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theronware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazza99, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
It is disappointing to read that you were cold during your stay at the cottage, especially when this could have been so easily resolved if you had told us about it during your stay.

It would have been no problem for us to turn on the underfloor heating for you. There are also two powerful radiant heaters in the cottage at all times, so we are a little mystified as to why they were not used. March in Wanaka is a beautiful time of the year with warm calm days around 21 degrees and slightly cooler nights. However, we accept that everyone feels the temperatures differently and this could also account for your feeling that the hot tub was not enough - once again, an issue that could have easily been rectified if you had talked to us about it. We value customer feedback and our guests comfort and satisfaction is always paramount as our other reviews on Trip Advisor will confirm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great location, well equipped, fabulously friendly and very helpful staff. We were very well looked after while we stayed here.

Room Tip: We had a groups staying in the Barn which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.9 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.7 km away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price range (per night): $172 - $250
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing