We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best Croque Ever"”

Florences Foodstore & Cafe
Ranked #30 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: USD 1 - USD 11
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I've patronised this establishment many times over the past few years and have never had a bad experience in any respect.We enjoyed a delicious brunch on Easter Monday,the food was superb and the service great.I find some of the recent,negative, reviews remarkable,it would seem that many people these days have completely unrealistic expectations of the services offered by the hospitality industry.Conference centres are were you have business meetings not cafe's,let's face it the other patrons would only be irritated by a bunch of suits giving a power point presentation over a coffee.As for hen parties,go to MacDonalds because they will happily cater for a bunch of slappers with no class....they will even provide party hats and a clown.
If you are going to review any establishment then you need to be qualified to do so,I know a good meal from a bad one and Florence's serves quality tucker.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SPTSLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Whoa! Thank you . You must have read some reviews from not so discerning diners. We appreciate your encouragement, especially as far as loud business meetings and awful hens parties! They sometimes forget they are our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went here today with family and had recommended it as an option as we love going here.Today we weren’t impressed.The staff behind the counter one lady in particular were really rude and were not helpful at all.It tainted the experience a lot.There also weren’t as many things on the menu as there use to be which is a shame as that is why we wanted to come here.Probably won’t go back for a while.

1  Thank alexcarr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The menu is just the same, as is the staff - perhaps your expectations exceeded themselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

In my book, no trip to Queenstown would be complete without a drive over the Crown Ranges to Wanaka and a visit to Florences. The drive itself is so spectacular and you will be rewarded at your destination with a bit of foodie heaven and of course later, serene Lake Wanaka.

We were lucky enough to be there on a cold but sunny morning and enjoy excellent coffee and a divine house made buttery crumbly date scone in the garden - bliss in itself! Plates being delivered to other tables looked delicious too.

We then wandered through the store which is so skilfully and beautifully merchandised - a treasure trove of food and food related products. Sadly my 23kg luggage restriction was in the back of my mind and knew I had to limit purchases. I still managed to grab Florences signature vinaigrette (an absolute favourite), and some locally made jams. If I'd had room, the fabulous French bowl and platter I spotted, delicate green glassware and poached local apricots etc etc would have been coming my way too - sadly they will have to keep for another visit.

Make sure you seek out this fabulous cafe and food store when you visit Wanaka, it's a real gem.

1  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A wonderful review for us thank you Jeanette. We would love to see you again when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed due to the fact that 3 tables received their food before us, even though we were first to order, however the food was very, very good and exactly matched the description of our friends recommendation.

Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I cant believe you seriously wrote this as a review. A risotto takes longer to cook then heating a toasted sandwich which of course will come out first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We had the most amazing breakfast here. Lots of choice and everything we chose tasted absolutely scrumpy. Only wish we had a similar place back home. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the Wanaka area.

Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharyn M, Owner at Florences Foodstore & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florences Foodstore & Cafe also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Florences Foodstore & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing