We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
14
21
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
21
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Our double room was lovely! Big bed, sofa, mirror, hooks for hanging towels etc and close to bathrooms. The hostel was overall a bit cold but no problem as our room had a heater! Location is perfect, about 2 minute walk to the lake and main street. Staff were friendly and always around to ask any questions. Bathrooms were big and clean. The kitchen was average and guests often left it very messy. It was mostly quiet at night so slept well. There is Wi-Fi you can pay for but I didn't come all the way across the world to stare at my phone all day so don't know why people are complaining. I would recommend this hostel to friends!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Hollys is located in a quiet road close to the centre of Wanaka. The hostel is clean & the kitchen well equipped.It has a small garden & a spacious, comfortable lounge. There is limited off street parking but no free wifi.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a double room downstairs. It was very cold and the heaters stopped after one hour. In one shower it was not possible to close the window. Also the beds weren't that good.
The kitchen and the living room were quiet good and the owner was friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Menalda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Enthusiastic staff welcome you to Hollys backpackers, it's a small hostel and they take the time to remember your name and chat which is always nice!

Facilities are dated but the hostel is a comfortable place to stay. Kitchen has everything you need, bathrooms, dorm rooms and lounge are spacious and there is a nice little garden area for when your feeling lazy but still want to enjoy the sunshine. Great hostel for my short stay in Wanaka :)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rebecca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here in a double bed room (which had more floor room than other hostels we have stayed at) and I'd say our stay here was just average. This hostel had the only availability for our dates. It's cash only heads up. You can tell it's just a house made into a hostel. No free wifi, they have 24 hour passes, 1 week passes, and 1 month for a price. Every modern day hostel should have free wifi I feel. They gave us a free towel when we asked. Kitchen is small and they clean it I believe once every morning. Dining room where the two tables are is also a small area. Lounge room is decent as it has big couches and big tv with dvds etc. location is a little out of town it seems but not as far as some of the backpackers. Overall average location but a plus is it's one street away from New World supermarket. Honestly in the evenings we just stayed down the street at YHA and used their wifi and chilled. (Sorry YHA)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Skcivkwkacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews