We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge, large rooms but a bit overpriced”
Review of Matuka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matuka Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge, large rooms but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We really liked it here but were left with a little niggle that we paid for more than we got compared to other places we stayed. The lodge is stunning - I'd love to live in it as my home, with the pond out front and endless views up towards the mountains. It's located a few kilometres from Twizel so it's really peaceful but an easy drive into town.

Our room was large and the bathroom was very nice too but there was no fridge, something we really like when we're travelling. You can use the one in the guest kitchen but that was pretty full. there was also no tea or coffee facilities. Again, you could go to the kitchen but I would have preferred the option of making a cupa in my room. Especially as there is more than enough space to put these things in the rooms.

There was a glass of wine before dinner and then we went into town. Go to Poppies - the food and service are both excellent.

Breakfasts are excellent and plentiful and we spent a fabulous day up at Mt Cook - the drive up there is part of the fun and staying where we did meant we could avoid all the hussle and bustle of the tour buses.

Overall, a beautiful house in a beautiful location - just a few added provate amenities would have made it perfect for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
254
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Certainly one of the most beautiful hotels we stayed in during our holiday in New Zealand. Arriving in Twizel you wonder where the directions are taking you. The middle of nowhere would be a good description I guess, but then you arrive at the Matuka Lodge. What a beautiful spot to relax and enjoy nature. The room is luxurious, clean and spacious. Free wifi available at a good speed. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a treat! The view is very charming with the pond in front the room. Located near Mount Cook and the Tasman glacier it is the ideal location to stay. We didn't get to see Mount Cook, because it was covered in clouds both days we were there. The trip to the Tasman Glacier was worth it anyway. In my opinion the Matuka lodge is a far better place to stay than the hotels in the Mount Cook village. It's a bit of a drive from the lodge to the glacier but certainly worth it. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjen_rosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My favourite place to stay in South Island, Matuka Lodge is a beautifully designed modern building with an elegant interior, and delightful, attentive hosts. Guests are thoroughly spoiled – every possible requirement is provided and it is very hard to leave and move on! There are fabulous views of a gorgeous plant fringed pool, stocked with entertaining fish, and beyond, animals grazing on land reminiscent of African plains, with snowy mountains in the distance. Come prepared to take loads of photographs of this wonderful view. Nearby Twizel is a pleasant place with some very good restaurants and friendly people. There is more to explore here than you would at first think, and it is a good location for visiting Mount Cook (better weather than up in the Mount Cook village for a start!). If we can visit New Zealand again, we will be back, and hopefully stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison_ringrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
566 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Twizel is only on the road of...the glacier, between queenstown and christchurch,....Not really other interest to stay there except the nature and..the matuka lodge. Superb accomodation , tastefuly decorated, in the middle of an ocean of tranquility. The place to be to stay in confort in the middle of the poweful nature and not far of your feelings of wellbeing. Matuka leave your problem far along the road. Your hosts are perfect, the breakfast too. Definitel if you have to going somewhere there (and yhe mt cook is not far) we are matuka lodge

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Set in the spectacular countryside around Twizel with views to the Mount Cook range Matuka lodge offers extremely well appointed accommodation in private suites all with views over a small trout pond. Russell and Rosalie make you feel at home and provide wonderful breakfasts and evening drinks when you can meet other guests and share your days experiences. For the flyfisher Russell has a wealth of knowledge about the local rivers and will guide you to some of the best fishing in the area. Twizel has a selction of restaurants for evening meals and the lodge is situated within an easy drive of Mount Cook and the lakes for those that want to explore.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberttgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
3.9 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
3.4 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
7.1 km away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
56 reviews
3.9 km away
Mountain Chalet Motels
3.6 km away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matuka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matuka Lodge

Property: Matuka Lodge
Address: 395 Glen Lyon Road, Twizel 7944, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price range (per night): $268 - $407
Hotel Class:5 star — Matuka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of Matuka Lodge, situated in a tranquil rural setting, 3km from Twizel, gateway to Mt Cook National Park, halfway between Christchurch and Queenstown. Choose from one of our four luxurious king rooms, each with a stunning mountain view, and enjoy 5 star comfort in a casually elegant atmosphere. An exceptional experience awaits you at Matuka Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Matuka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing