We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of gold - real kiwi hospitality”
Review of Pinegrove Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinegrove Cottage
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Raylene made us feel right at home even to the extent of lending us her car so we could go back into town and have dinner at Poppies. After a long day on our bikes she thought we might be over cycling to dinner. She was right! Four of us stayed in one cottage and it was real comfy. Bonus being that we were able to wash our clothes and hang on the line. Wifi worked fine for us.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Walker-Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Pros
- Spacious
- Facilities: washer, dryer, d/washer
- Quiet
- Comfortable main bed

Cons
- No WIFI at units, despite advertised availability. If you're an international traveller this is an inconvenience.
- Price, it is on the higher end considering point above.
- 9.30am checkout was the earliest encountered on our trip

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank PierreAD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Pinegrove Cottage is a little outside of Twizel which makes up for a good night rest. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need and even washing machine and dryer are available. At night you can sit outside and watch the sky. I have never in my life seen so many stars all sparkling down on me. Great to look at.
The only negative aspect is the missing wifi. My suggestion would be to simply add a router. But the lady of the house not only offered her living room to us so that we could Skype with our children but also offered a glass of wine and was sitting outside in order not to disturb us. I can recommend the cottage for a nice break from a hectic life style. ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris - Johanne... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Great accomodation, all you need from dishwasher to micro-wave oven, confortable, very clean, very quiet remote area... I agree with all the other comments, it's a great place, BUT there was no wi-fi, as it was advertised. Discussing with the landlady, she told me the wi-fi was available at her house, 25m away. Wich is great. But I can't use it for preparing my next journey from my room. So either add a router, a relay or whatever, or remove the free wi-fi from the list. Once it's done, I'll give a 5 star review...

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank jpaulfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Have stayed hear now for 3years in a row and looking forward to march 11th this year. Excellent in all regards. Always clean, neat and tidy and previous owners would leave homemade cakes of some sort - little touches like that makes one feel the South Island hospitality.
Located just on the outskirts it feels like a real getaway, but it's an easy walk to the Twizel town centre.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Twizel hotels
1.7 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.7 km away
Mountain Chalet Motels
1.2 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
44 reviews
2.4 km away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 5 in Twizel
367 reviews
0.3 km away
Heartland Lodge
Heartland Lodge
#2 of 7 in Twizel
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Cottage

Address: 29 North West Arch, Twizel, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Twizel
Price Range: $220 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raeleen welcomes you to stay at Pinegrove a home away from home.Situated in a quiet tranquil location.You will enjoy the peacefulness of the trees and garden of which you can walk around in.In the evenings it's nice to see the native birds come down to the pond to drink and bathe.The MacKenzie is also renowned for it's night skies of which you can look at in wounder.We look forward to greeting you to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing.Each cottage unit has 2 bedrooms,fully equiped kitchen,laundry,bathroom living area with heat pump and outdoor area with gas B.B.Q.A continental breakfast with homemade goodies can be provided if you do not wish to self cater.We are only 45mins from Mt Cook/Aoraki Ohau Ski Field.Fishing,bike riding,walks and scenic flights also abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pinegrove Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing