We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DAY VISITORS - BEWARE BEWARE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviewed 13 September 2017

For many years we have patronised The Fijian with young ones and as adults. This year we stayed in Denarau but decided to drive down to the Fijian for lunch. Upon approaching the Security at the bridge to the entrance, they asked if we were staying in. We said no. We were informed that we could not go in and politely said we want to have lunch here. No Madam sorry new ruling no visitors allowed without a booking. Our reply was would you make one for us - he replied no. This was the older man at the gate who also spoke the best English. This was good enough and demanded to speak to the Manager. After hesitating he got the DUTY MANAGER on the phone and we explained the situation. The Duty Manager was very polite and said there was a new policy in place for visitors and then asked the Security people to let us in. We proceeded down to the beach front cafe and had a nice lunch with pleasant staff attending to us. After speaking to the Food & Beverage Manager, he informed us that the Security people should have made the reservation for us. Please be aware it was not a pleasant experience. Such a shame too, the facilities are quite tired and in great need of renovations. Definitely didn't have any problems getting into the Inter Continental further up the coast for a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Communications Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear JUPANDMUP,
Bula vinaka and thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience visiting our resort. We do sincerely apologise for the distress this caused you but we do have a strict security policy in place. Our registered in-house guests are our priority thus our stand on allowing outside visitors onto the island and the requirement that a booking must be made prior to visiting. If you have already registered as a Shangri-La Golden Circle member, as I am sure you as a regular visitor to our hotel, then this would not have been an issue. With regards to a reservation being made on the spot we encourage visitors to make reservations ahead of time because if the resort is operating at full occupancy than we do have the right of refusal to any outside guests. We trust that this clarifies the issue for you and once again we do apologise for the distress this has caused you.
Yours sincerely,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 3,750 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Excellent service, the rooms were great, people are the friendliest and best in the world. The buffet breakfast was great unfortunately the lunch and dinner menus let them down...More local cuisine would be better

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank 105benny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Communications Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear 105benny,
Bula vinaka and thank you and vinaka vakalevu for taking the time to share your kind feedback. We do very much appreciate all feedback we receive and this has been shared with the team as it can only serve to help us improve.
Kind regards,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We (family of 2 adults and 3 kids; 11, 9 and 4) absolutely loved this resort. This is the third time we have been to Fiji as a family and this resort wins hands down!

We stayed in an Ocean View room on the ground floor which has a view of the water directly in front of the room. A great balcony made lunchtime very relaxing. The beach is quite 'corally' but my youngest loved looking for crabs and playing on the lawn with a ball.

The beach over the lagoon side of the resort was lovely (sandy, no coral) with dive platform for the kids and lots of water sports. The motorised water sports (eg parasailing) seemed very over priced.

The resort was undergoing renovations so whilst a few of the restaurants and bars, and lagoon pol were closed, we benefitted from a 30% occupancy rate which meant there was never a line or wait for anything.

As always the staff on the island were incredible, and we'd like to especially mention Zac, who took us around the island on a buggy in his own time, Darin who came to the rescue when our middle son vomited during the night (after dinner at Gecko's...we didn't go back!) bringing tissues, water, new bedding and towels. The fruit platter sent the next day wishing him a swift recovery was just another example of their incredible thoughtfulness and hospitality.

Pool aerobics/dancing/soccer and basketball were all a hit, make sure you don't miss these. Usually take place in the morning around 11.30.

Kids club at night was great (we didn't use the daytime one), as was room service for a quick meal before the youngest went to kids club. Pretty quick to deliver and quality of food was good.

Memory making holiday with the kids. We got an amazing deal on Groupon ($1600 for the 5 of us for 8 nts, breakie included) and would pay double for this holiday if we were to do it again as it was just so relaxing.

Thanks for a great stay, I hope to go back one day!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank TempLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Communications Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear TempLondoner,
Bula from Fiji and from the team at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa. We would like thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your very kind feedback and we do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We absolutely loved our stay, the staff were very friendly, the food was amazing, very relaxing, superb location, no ask was too big, the only downside was having to leave...we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank ashleafilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Communications Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear ashleafilmer,
Bula vinaka and many thanks and vinaka vakalevu for sharing your very kind feedback. We do appreciate it and we have shared this with the team.
Kind regards,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Well what can I say I wrong with this place. Absoletly nothing. The people the food the service the staff who make you feel so so welcome.
On our second night there we were given a card to fill out to see if there was anything they can do to improve the place. THERE IS NOTHING AT ALL. EVERYTHING RUNS AT 100%.

Management of this fine place. You should be so so proud to have such warm and wonderful staff who work tirelessly to make everyone so welcome. I take my hat to every single one of them.

Thank you to you all and see you very very soon

Joe & Claudia Coco

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Communications Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Joseph C,
Bula vinaka from the team at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa and we would like to express our heartfelt thanks to you for your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay. We do very much appreciate that you took the time to share this and we thank you for choosing our beautiful Fiji to visit and our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
34.5 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,817 reviews
41.6 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,420 reviews
29.3 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.6 km away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
11.1 km away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
14.6 km away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range: $263 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing