We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,929)
Filter reviews
3,929 results
Traveller rating
1,440
1,348
622
298
221
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,440
1,348
622
298
221
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool chi spa beach bar and grill kids club ocean wing family room banana boat fiji time putt putt beach massage family holiday village tour games room kids eat free fijian resort ground floor main pool
Filter
Updating list...
3,362 - 3,367 of 3,929 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This once grand lady is now nothing but an old hag. The hotel needs pulling down and starting over. It has not been renovated since the 1980's and it shows. Very noisy, busy place and the rooms are 2 star at best. Checked out after one night. The food was so so and expensive for what you got. I feel the only way they get people here is to offer very cheap package deals in Australia and New Zealand for accommodation, airfares and food.
Americans, Europeans and Japanese do not stay here any more they know it is rundown.
Stay somewhere else until its made over.....................

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jasper20098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This place is BIG - 400+ rooms, with 500+ kids at full occupancy. It particularly suits families and people who like everything on-site - hourly activities for both kids and adults, with other options when you're ready (Spa, golf, canoeing, sailing). We met a few couples without kids who'd been there several times - they love the variety, the staff, the family atmosphere, and that you can 'put your wallet away' (and charge almost everything to the room). With the $AUS so strong at the moment, hotel prices equate to Australian prices - A$11 cocktails at happy hour by the pool at 'Cafe Coral' were a nice treat.
'Kids eat free' dinners are served at the Lagoon buffet. We pre-bought the dinner package - some nights we ate with the kids; other nights we accompanied the kids to early dinner at the Lagoon buffet, then later had adult dinner in the restaurant. Our favourite meals were at the Lagoon buffet - it's noisy (lots of kids), but there's a great variety of options, you can control portions and selections, and get the food just when you want it ;)
Don't bring beach towels - they will give them to you at the pool. My boys refused to go to kids club, but when they joined in the adults+kids arvo activities, they went every day! - volleyball/rugby/soccer/basketball - sometimes on land, sometimes in the pool. Snorkel every day - great variety of fish; boat trip needed for lovely coral. Marine discovery centre is hard to find but worth the effort - Moses gives a great guided tour on the reef in waist-high water. Beach massage was lovely but in a noisy location - go to the Spa if you prefer quiet.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room with two double beds. Our boys(11+8) refused to share a bed; on request staff made up the (short) sofa as a bed.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CM67Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Our first time back for about 5 years.
We prefer this hotel to the Denarau ones as the water & beach are so much cleaner and the area is not so built up.
The Shangri-la is about 1 hour drive from Nadi. We always catch a taxi from Nadi airport ($80 Fijian each way) rather than catching the slow bus that stops at many other hotels on the way.
Lagoon View ground floor rooms were old & tired, but we were moved to top floor Ocean View room (560) which was very nice and having two double beds suited us much better than the fold out couch in lagoon room which was too short for a teenager.
The beach is still lovely - clear, warm water. Better than Honolulu last year.
Beautiful sunsets at about 6.15pm each night.
It is a great hotel for all ages. We have been coming here with the family for over 23 years.There is a kids club for children, with lots of fun activities, or you can hire one of the hotels babysitters anytime.
My teenage daughter enjoyed the table tennis and pool table in the games room, plus tennis courts for hire. She was also very pleased with free plug-in internet in room, and free wifi by two of the swimming pools.
My husband and I liked the new gym over looking the reef.
Lots of other activities available: kayaks, golf, snorkeling, cycling.
The Lagoon and Takali breakfast restaurants were very hectic with lots of children, but the Golden Cowrie restaurant was very relaxed and civilized as only over 16 years allowed. Yummy big buffet breakfast selection - cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, croissants, pastries, cakes, bacon, sausages, hashbrowns, baked beans, eggs, omelettes, and pancakes.Great views over the sea from the three main restaurants.
It is best to pre-book the dinner restaurants a few days ahead. We enjoyed the asian style food at Takali, but missed out on the Italian food at Golden Cowrie as it was fully booked days ahead. Some of the in room dining meals are good value too if you prebook in the morning - we enjoyed the meat lasagne and salad all laid out on a white table cloth on our deck ($75 fijian for family's dinner).
I also recommend the cocktails especially "Banana Rama" (Banana, kahlua, baileys & cream).
The crab race and frog race are fun events to attend.
It is a great place for a totally relaxing holiday - no cooking, cleaning, washing, working!
Just lazing by the pool and beach while enjoying the stunning views.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms in need of renovation so go for Ocean View or Coral.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwigal000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is not a new resort and could do with some maintenance work but saying that the rooms were perfectly acceptable and very clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and honestly bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. They made our holiday, not the room or the resort. I would recommend this resort for families and couples who are looking for clean tidy rooms without going over the top. We were very comfortable and made to feel very, very welcome. We are definitely going back and hope to take friends with us next time.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the hub of things ask for lagoon rooms, if you prefer a little quiet ask for ocean view rooms
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bindi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I read many reviews prior to my stay and had some reservations about what lay in store for my fiance and myself at the Shangri-La. Having just returned to the States after nine days at the resort, I have to ask, "about what in the world are people complaining?"

Yes, the children were entirely unruly at the Lagoon Terrace restaurant. That is the fault of the parents, not the hotel. My solution: go to the "Adults Only" Golden Cowrie to start the day with a lovely breakfast on the terrace.

Some of the public bathrooms (near Takali Pool, for example) could use a regrouting of the tiles but, there was always soap, tp, and towels.

Oh, and the staff, especially our butler and house keeper were completely gracious and helpful.

So, go, relax, and enjoy your time in Fiji.

Room Tip: Couples looking for privacy/quiet should try to get into the adults only bures near the spa
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Java1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews