We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Booked a 'Superior Room' for 4 nights. Room was not big but had King size bed and quite modern. But on Denarau you can use the facilities of about 6 different resorts no matter where you stay so we just booked the cheapest room we could find. $143 AUD a night. Plus $20 each for buffet breakfast. Breakfast was excellent with huge choice. Just dont leave uncovered food as the birds will have a nibble. Live music every morning, pancakes, cakes, fiull breakfast, delicious fruit smottihes.
Pools are amazing. As is the view from the 'Salt' outdoor restaurant. Every night we walked to other resorts for dinner and to see free shows or listen to live music. The pools at each resort are outstanding and worth a visit. The beach at Denarau is not so good though - grey/black sand that is not inviting. No one swims in the beach , everyone is in the pools. Next time we'll book cheapest room again then wander wherever we want for meals, shows , shopping, etc. Sofitel is central too so easy to walk to Westin, Radission, Sheraton, Hilton or even 10 minute stroll to Port Denarau. The Port is a little cheaper for meals. Meals at resorts tend to be $20 - $35 AUD for a main. Westin has a Fijian show on Wed/Sat nights for $50 AUD - might be worth catching. Also went and visited Nadi - now thats another story :-(

Room Tip: A view of the water is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coco080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,225
    491
    187
    82
See reviews for
1,173
1,558
101
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in one of the newly renovated beachfront suites and it is by far the best hotel room I have ever stayed in.
From the moment you get out of the taxi at the front entrance, the service is excellent. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating.
Our room was perfect and massive. We had a powder room, a living room, a dining area with kitchenette, balcony off the living room, seperate bedroom, walk in robe, ensuite bathroom with spa and seperate shower and seperate toilet with a second balcony off the bedroom. Both balconies with direct ocean view.
With plush accessories and an extremely comfortable bed, I would recommend you staying here if you had a night back on the mainland before flying home. It is the perfect relaxing way to end your holiday in luxury.
It is the ideal room for couples, or even good friends who want a bit more space to lounge around.
Having a dining area was fantastic as we had friends from Fiji come over for dinner and we didn't have to spend lots of money on dining out.
A handy hint - Mama's Pizza at the Marina will deliver to your room - you just pay the $5 cab fare and concierge deliver it to your door!
The champagne breakfast has a good variety of food. I recommend trying the freshly made blended fruit smoothies. It's a lovely to start the day with serenaders while you enjoy breakfast.

The location of the Sofitel means it feels a bit more private than down the other end near the Westin and Sofitel and less crowded. You are also a little bit closer to the Marina - an easy walk to go to the shops or for dining.

If you can afford to splash out for one night, you must spend a night here!

Room Tip: if you can afford to spend a little more money, book the ocean front suite. Their standard rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripper1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed 3 days and had been upgraded to a Luxury Room. Difference to the Standard rooms is not too big. Roomsize a little bit bigger and if you carry your Ipod with yu you get a BOSE IPod dock with the usual excellent sound and a remote.

Positive:
Even though some of the reception staff was a bit too reserved for my likening all the rest of the hotel staff was really friendly (especially the house keeping ladies!)

The pool is fantastically big , you can join a little pool-volley ball, sit under small water falls or just relax with the whirl pool area.

The (private) beach is right there and if you're lucky you can even get into one of the few hammocks there. Some free courses are offered during the week and I've participated at a "pottery" course. The goal was to form a turtle but lets move on ;o)

If you like you can spend days within the resort as they offer several different restaurant and bar options within. However, even though I loved to relax there I also wanted to buy a few things and see at least Nandi in my short stay.

Not so positive:

Avoid the rooms around the house keeping & guest laundry rooms! They are going on until late with their carts and its certainly disturbing. Although these rooms have balkony there is not much privacy as the house keeping guys with their carts keep moving back and forth as well as all guest using the stairs or heading to the middle wing rooms will be "saying Bula"..
1 lot of rooms to avoid are: 115,215,315,135,235,335

Wireless / Internet: You get 30 minutes (max 10MB) free wireless (only within the lobby) each day otherwise you have to buy...and they charge quite a lot!!

Considering that Sofitel is a 5 Star Hotel it might justify the exorbitant prices they charge.breakfast FJD 49,- ;1 scoop of ice cream FJD 8,15 or FJD 30,- for a plain caesars salad.But being a 10 minute walk to the Marina (where you find 1 supermarket and a few Restaurants which aren't much cheaper either) and around 15 minute drive to town you might have no other choice.

And sorry, no offense but allowing drunk Australians in the pool (even at night) with a hotel provided keg of beer being noisy is neither very considerate nor safe.

Overall I can recommend the Sofitel , for singles / couples / families if you just consider above facts.

Room Tip: avoid rooms: 115,215,315,135,235,335 (too close to guest laundry * house keeping) Try
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X_Worldtraveller_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Sofitel may be the best of the hotels along the Denarau coastal strip but it has a terrible problem with mynahs - the species of bird imported from India that has grown to plague proportions in Fiji.

The Sofitel breakfast can't be faulted, up to and including the sparkling wine on offer as a hair of the dog after the night before. But it's marred by a scene right out of Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds:: - hoards of screeching mynahs making an all out assault on the restaurant from the gardens outside. The noise is one thing. But these birds constitute a health hazard and the Sofitel management needs to deal with this pronto. They may be trying but not enough.

Leave your table for even a second to head for the buffet and these birds will descend on, picking at anything edible at all. They're so brazen that shooing them away has barely any effect. At one stage, we were astonished to be in mid conversation across the table and have a bird pass straight through the middle of us at eye level. Amazing.

None of this is cute. Because what these birds are eating seems to pass straight through them onto the tables and chairs. Worse, they unload over the food area and we found bird droppings around the food service area. The staff do their best to clean up and put linen covers over everything but there's little joy to be had reaching for a croissant under a napkin that has been subject to an overhead bombing raid.

This has got to be a health hazard, and especially at the moment with the Fiji papers full of stories about people becoming sick and even dying from diseases arising from the recent floods. And that's no mynah matter at all.

The only other quibble I had in three days was the volume of the music at Salt, the poolside restaurant. It's one of these places where the staff play the music for their own entertainment and to hell with the rest of humanity. Three times I had to ask for the music to be turned down so that I could hear what the person across from me was saying. It would go down for a minute or so and then creep up again. So in the end, my own volume went through the roof. That fixed it but the unpleasantness of the whole thing spoiled what should have been a relaxing meal.

But hey, these were the only two negatives about a place that is truly brilliant. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the beds are comfortable, the food is good and - as always in Fiji - the people are great. I don't think Denarau is the best place for Fiji a holiday but for a mini break, the Sofitel is perfect. Apart from a mynah quibble or two.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talanoaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,114 reviews
63.2 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,574 reviews
19.2 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
1.0 km away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,081 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price range (per night): $238 - $503
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing