We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My partner and I spent a week at the Westin in February 2011. We ran into absolutely no issues as a same-sex couple.

This is, apparently, the oldest hotel on Denarau (the gated community where the Westin, Sofitel, Wyndham, Radisson, and two Sheratons are, along with a golf course and some private vacation homes).

We frequently stay at Westins, which have essentially standard décor across hotels. This hotel in no way resembled the Westin standard appearance. That said, our second-floor room was large and very pleasant. The toilet was in a small single-purpose room, and the shower and bath were in separate room. The sink area was separated from the rest of the bedroom by the bathroom mirror. Because of the climate, the hotel has very few enclosed spaces, and outdoor covered walkways connect the guest rooms to the lobby and restaurant area.

The buffet was included in our package, and it wa squite extensive. We found other meals at the hotel (and the nearby Sheraton where Westin guests can use their charge accounts) to be fairly expensive(though Moo-Moo was very good, Pantry at the Sheraton made good sandwiches for lunch, and the restaurant in the Westin breakfast area was good for dinner),but there are other options (including the Hard Rock Café) at the Denarau Port area, which is a fifteen-minute walk away (and safe to walk at night). I gather that there is also a shuttle bus, which we did not use.

The hotel is very well staffed, and the staff is quite attentive, so we rarely found ourselves waiting for anything. We also booked both parasailing (from the beach at the Sheraton) and a cruise to islands for snorkelling (from Port Denarau) at the Westin tour desk, and we would recommend both. The pools at all three hotels (including the Sheraton Villas) were excellent. We took the shuttle boat from the Westin to the resort’s island, but there is really nothing there, other than a drink stand.

We rented a car (parking was free) from Avis in order to leave the resort area, but an off-road vehicle would have been required to go very far off of the principal road along the coast. It was a pleasant enough drive, but we would probably just take a tour if we wanted to leave the gated Denarau area on a future visit.

The beach is in front of the Sheraton, so an easy walk through the Westin-Sheraton Villas-Sheraton Resort complex. The beach is not the white/coral sand that you would find on the Coral Coast.We drove down to the Coral Coast, and the InterContinental at Natadola Beach.The hotel appeared to be abandoned, save a few staff, and not particularlyclose to anything. The beach itself was nicer sand, but it had vendors (of which there were none at Denarau) and horses, which meant watching your step to avoid horse feces. Neither on the CoralCoast nor at Denarau was there much to see underwater, so we were glad to arrange a boat cruise to outlying islands for diving and snorkelling. The convenience and facilities of Denarau made it a better choice for us.

We visited both the Radisson and the InterContinental, and we found the Radisson to be too much like a Disney theme park with a fake mountain and man-made pool beaches (this is probably a good choice for families with young children) and we found the InterContinental to be too far removed from services and the beach too inundated with vendors andpeople selling horse-rides. We did not see any of the other resorts.

Havingstayed at the Sheraton Fiji Resort, as well, we would likely return to the Westin because, though both are great hotels with excellent service, the Sheraton seems more geared toward families and the Westin is a calmer environment for couples.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YOWboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,265 - 2,269 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at Westin for 3 nights, and Sofitel for 1 night. After being to Sheraton and seeing the other resorts from the outside on the Bula Shuttle, Westin is definitely the one with the best Fijian style, which is what we wanted. The style were friendly, the room kept clean, and the pool was fantastic, with different areas, different water heights, and just nice to lay around the pool chairs. We had dinner at Moo Moo's, which had very pleasant food (but watch out for sand flies if you opt to sit at the tables on the sand - use lots of insect repellent!). The staff sang the most amazing song for an elderly couple for their anniversary. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We just spent 11 days at the Westin on Denaru Island, and after reading all the negative reviews I have to disagree with them. The staff were amazing, very friendly and would go out of their way to do anything for you. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. The accommodation was excellent there were a couple of little things that need to be fixed up, but hey! you only sleep there. The heavenly bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The grounds were kept immaculate. Bar staff amazing. Guys at the front foyer, fantastic! I would like to say a big thankyou to Dan he was great. We will certainly be returning to the Westin without a doubt. Thank you! guys so much, you made our holiday one we won't forget.

Ray and Denise Passeri

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank msmega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Do not stay here. The resort is run down. - Needs extensive renovation. Light fittings falling out of the ceiling. Can see where ceiling has been patched in the room. Definitely better resorts available.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travel_agent_OOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I would stay here if you need a hotel for a night or two before you head to the airport but do not base your vacation around this resort. The front desk is friendly but they are all lazy to help you what so ever. Same thing with the manager. So friendly to your face then when it's time to help a customer they keep passing you on to someone else. It seems like no one wants to do any work there.

I would not recommend this Westin to anyone. Granted, I'm not sure there is anything better in Nadi so you may be stuck with it. Not much to do in Nadi anyway so it would not be worth your stay for more than a night or two.

This Westin does not meet normal starwood standards. It is clean and they do a decent job of keeping the bugs away. It's sometimes tough in a tropical environment but they do a decent job with that.

Overall: don't waste your money here unless you have no other option.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianstud84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,423 reviews
18.9 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,293 reviews
0.3 km away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
782 reviews
0.4 km away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $244 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 12 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing