We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
102
60
33
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
60
33
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room dual carriageway mince pies daily specials birthday party christmas dinner comfortable room wedding venue each evening rump steak water pressure bit dated every member of staff stayed for one night family room duty manager pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We booked in at the Cedars for one night on 10 March because we were having a meal at a local pub to celebrate a friend's birthday.

Unfortunately the check-in wasn't the most quick or efficient - we rang the bell several times but no-one came. In the end, we had to find someone ourselves to check us in as we only had a short time to get ready before being picked up by our friends. We were told the hotel was busy because there was a function going on which is why the service was slow.

The room was adequate and clean and good value for what we paid. However, we didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that aspect. Overall, it wasn't the best stay we have experienced.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank valandkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Front Office Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear valandkarl

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Cedars Hotel. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations upon check-in and would like apologise on behalf of our entire team. This is something that has now been addressed and we endeavour to ensure that the reception desk is manned at all times

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We had a delicious Sunday lunch today. The food and the service were excellent! The staff were fab, they couldn't have done more for us. A great start being offered a complimentary glass of Buck's Fizz. Most of us had roast beef and it melted in the mouth! Would definitely return.
Thanks.
The Seeley family.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank janies444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Front Office Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Seeley Family

Thank you so much for your lovely review. The team at the Cedars are happy that they impressed you and do hope that you will return to us in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal with the family today and as per normal George took the stick we gave him very well

And thanks to Rhys Ifan look a like who lent us his phone and speaker

Standard was very good as always as we regularly have family meals here

The Meringue man

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Voyage764320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Front Office Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch with us. The team at the Cedars are really happy that you enjoyed it and I will pass you thanks on to the staff you mention.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Rooms in need of updating. Cobwebs in the bathroom and on patio doors. Lights not working and heating noisy. No hot water in the morning or staff available to speak to. Restaurant was supposed to be open for breakfast at 6.30am but at 7am everything was still in darkness so left without it. Evening meal was dreadful the cutlery was stuck to the table. Won't be going back again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank fastdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Front Office Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using your feedback to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests moving forward. I can confirm that the Hotel is due for refurbishment in the New Year and we will be looking into the points you raised and retraining where necessary.

Kindest regards



.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing stay at The Cedars , only there one night which was quite long enough !! Water in the double bedroom we stayed was impossible to regulate , couldn’t shower in it , either scolding hot or freezing cold !!!! But what was more disappointing was the lack of staff , breakfast in the morning was a total shambles , no cereal bowls , no milk in the milk jugs , no juice in the juice machines , no staff to do filing up !!! One girl in a busy breakfast room , she was rushed off her feet !!!!! After having to wait 25 minutes to be served , breakfast came luke warm !!! Very poor show !!! All in all by far a very unsatisfactory stay at The Cedars !! Won’t be staying again !!!!!! Dissatisfied customer from Norwich , Norfolk !!!!!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank R2685RAsandrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Front Office Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Sandra C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations. I can confirm that we will be looking a the issues you raised, both with your shower and with the service provided during breakfast and further training will be given where necessary.

Once again please accept our most sincere apologies.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews