We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,434)
Filter reviews
2,434 results
Traveller rating
1,436
701
203
54
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,436
701
203
54
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mama mia lovely hotel fishing boats pool area half board sugar reef dining room evening entertainment relaxing holiday thomson rep premium room the lion king entertainment team high standard plenty of sunbeds only gripe family room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,434 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel in a very peaceful area. Our visit time to this area and our first stay at a Melia hotel...we are frequent visitors to both Riu and Sandos. We chose here for a change and it was for my birthday celebration and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Diane the Tui Rep was often in attendance in Reception to answer queries and was very helpful. We attended the welcome meeting which we found refreshing as it wasn't just about selling trips as we have found with most ... infact Diane gave us very useful information on the local area and little trips we could enjoy out under our own steam ..very good. We found the cleanliness of the hotel excellent and enjoyed the varied food in the restaurant ...the puddings were absolutely 1st class!... The best I have had anywhere! Also there is a great variety of choice if you are a fish lover... along with careful prepared individual starters and in the mornings everything you could want for a yummy breakfast. We would especially like to mention Diego who waited on us in the restaurant ….his friendly smile and ability to remember exactly what drinks we liked and where we preferred to sit were amazing...he makes everyone feel special and is a real credit to the hotel! We enjoyed walks round the hotel to the Marina and also took the bus to Ayamonte ...only 1.40 euros from the roundabout just down from the hotel. The whole area is very Spanish which we really appreciated. There you can the ferry over the Portugal at a very reasonable cost. During our stay... for my birthday I took a massage in the Spa at the hotel. Selma the therapist was absolutely amazing tailoring the massage to my needs and I would totally recommend. Thank you Selma for putting me back together! We only had one real niggle...there are kettles in the rooms but only the first set of tea/coffee/sugar is complimentary...after that it is 8 euros a day to replace which we thought rather steep and rather ruins what is good experience for the sake of a few pence cost a day to the hotel...something the management might like to rethink for the sake of feel good and repeat business? However on the whole an excellent stay...thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Dear Mrs. Annie B,

First of all, thank you so much for choosing Meliá Atlantico ISla Canela.

It a pleasure to read that we exceed your expectations. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Do not hesitate that we will share your kind comments to all our team. Thanks to this kind of feedbacks we feel proud of what we do.

We are waiting for you next year with open arms!

Best regards,

Ana Guerra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was quite big and full but never felt crowded. The staff were friendly and efficient and there was a lot to keep you entertained during the day and the evening if you wanted, otherwise you could just relax. The food was varied and good quality and the restaurant staff were attentive. There were many areas with comfy chairs and tables for you to relax if sitting in the sun wasn’t what you wanted. This hotel catered for all ages and nationalities and we enjoyed our stay of two weeks. This hotel is, however, located in a very quiet area so not a great deal to see or do outside other than take in the rural aspect and the beach. Hiring pushbikes from Reception or catching the local bus to Ayamonte is worthwhile where there is a short ferry ride across to Portugal.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bridgetgolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bridget,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Atlántico Isla Canela for your holiday and also thank you for taking your time to share with TripAdvisor users how your experience was.

It is very pleasant to read that we have met your expectations according to the staff, food... etc.
Thank you again for your recommend us and we will be more than happy to meet you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Ana Guerra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is lovely inside and out some areas I feel of need of improvement, especially service (reception and in dining area). Upon checking in I was told could get all inclusive for even a day and when checking was minimum of 3 days think this should be told as soon as checking in to avoid any problems, drinks I found quite small as of most places although. Air con I would of liked cooler and indoor pool I wished was a bit hotter especially on the cold days. Also being gluten free I found the food to be very good and suitable just wished it was of a higher temperature.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eden C,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Melia Atlántico Isla Canela for your holiday and also thank you for taking your time to share with TripAdvisor users how your experience was.

It is very pleasant to read that we have met your expectations according to the hotel. We also say sorry for the inconveniences you may have had with the gluten free food temperature, the air conditional in your room. . All your comments will be taken into account to try to offer our guest the best service. I want to say that the indoor pool have the temperature is in accordance with the Spanish regulations on swimming pools.

Thank you again for your reviews.

Kindest Regards,

Ana Guerra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our second visit to this lovely hotel. We were thrilled to have a room with a view of the estuary and watch the boats and changing tide from our balcony. The cleanliness, comfort, food, drinks, staff and service in all areas are excellent. Thank you to all who made our holiday so enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pinkbaglady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Pinkbaglady55,

First of all, thank you so much for choosing again Meliá Atlántico.

It a pleasure to read that we exceed your expectations year by year. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed all our food, services and facilities. Do not hesitate that we will share your kind comments to all our team. Thanks to this kind of feedbacks we feel proud of what we do.

We are waiting for you next year with open arms!

Best regards,

Ana Guerra
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

- first visited this hotel 20 years ago when it was a Rui and it was lovely
- now owned by MELIA. Room come in all different sizes, so beware when booking, we booked with TUI, was described as twin promo room? This mean you are getting the hotels cheapest room and its a lucky dip what you get. After speaking to others, we were not the only ones, to find this out. Hotel manager stated to me - promo rooms are double or twin, and you have know choice ( tui after contacting them, said no I should have a twin room)two days later, this is what we got, though it was a disabled room.
- they show everyone who complain 22 euro each a night rooms ? This is not what I wanted, just wanted the room I had booked with tui. Felt manager was very rude to us! And other people we spoke to had more issues than us. So good luck, not a nice way to start your holiday.
- found the food ok, some people mention food was cold,we found this in morning, things like eggs are cooked then left on plate for a long while, and do not get replace until all have gone.you have to watch for hot egg being served up and then get them, i do not mind my eggs brown on the bottom, but if you don’t then its hard look, only way they come. Lots of fish dishes, so your ok if you like fish. Very little for vegetarian.
- pool lovely but chilly
- area around, very little, know where really to walk and only little spa as shops really.
- would i go again - no, felt hotel was much better when Rui owned it

Room Tip: There are two different rooms - promo room, means lucky dip and level rooms, which cost more
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lyn292018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear lyn292018,

First of all, thank you for choosing Meliá Atlántico Isla Canela during your vacations.

Our principal aim is the full satisfaction of our guests. For these reason, please, let me inform you that we always take a good note of the comments we receive and do our best to improve every day.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews