We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
279
32
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
32
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are modern beautiful boutique hotel infinity pool every morning porto vecchio maquis poolside alexandra car terrace privacy receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This is a beautiful boutique hotel in a serene and secluded part of the Corsican countryside.

My photos illustrate our room - it had a high end finish, was fresh, and the daily housekeeping left it immaculately clean.

Our large private deck had expansive views of the forest, some mountains and a distant view of the sea. The infinity pool has a similar dramatic view, with many guests using it for selfies.

Breakfast was superb, with a large selection of fresh, local or homemade products. The ladies who manage the breakfast service and cook food to order were also fantastic. The selection of other dining options is limited but still good.

The big communal dining table meant there was the opportunity to meet other interesting guests, but equally you could keep yourself to yourself if you wanted to.

We found the staff to be kind, warm and professional. I can only roll my eyes at the previous 2 TA reviews which bear no relationship to reality. After staying at the hotel for a week, I feel the need to correct this given how kind the staff were to us. The staff could not have done more to accommodate us and our little baby, with one member of staff even rocking our baby to sleep while we ate dinner.

I would highly recommend if you want a boutique hotel experience. I want to go back already.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Please read this until the end, we are writing and sharing our experience hoping others not to experience such a horrible case.

We would like to describe this hotel in 3 words, Fraud, Racism and High-priced

We are Asian couple who got married in June. While we were traveling southern France for our honeymoon, we stayed at this pricy hotel in Corsica for 4 nights.(From Jun 23rd to 27th)

When checking in, we arrived very late at night. There’s no one could help us move our luggage when checking in or out. Only a woman always stayed at the reception desk alone. Anyway, we were so tired after 3 hours of driving and slept until the next afternoon. Of course, we had to skip the housekeeping.


The next day, we found out that our room had literally no view even though we booked a room with a view(paid about 250 euros per night) We requested to change the room but the reception responded there’s no room but maybe the next day could be possible. We slept in this room for first 2 nights.
On the third day morning, we moved to another room. When we finished our day and came back to the hotel, the reception lady told us that our previous room was so dirty that housekeepers took an hour for cleaning(she said it takes normally 30 min) We responded that isn’t it normal it takes more time for a 2 days of cleaning(like I mentioned earlier, we skipped first cleaning we were in sleep)

On the last day, when we were checking out, there was €150 written on the invoice for “extra cleaning”.
This has been the most ridiculous hotel customer experience we have experienced and am sure no others have. When we have demanded an explanation the response we have received is " because of the damage you caused in the room ".
Excuse me, we were on our honeymoon, what could we have done to cause any damage to the wall that it has to be painted?! The hotel manager hasn’t even provided any proof of painting the wall.
Anyway, after 30 min of arguing, we had an agreement not to pay €150. They printed out new invoice states that - € 150.(minus 150 euro) And we paid by credit card for the total amount except €150.

While tracking all the credit card transactions during the honeymoon, we found out that 10 min after the hotel swiped our card through their card reader, there was additional €150 transaction caused by online.
We have never approved or signed any document authorising for the hotel to debit our credit card on our departure. Once again, the invoice includes - € 150.(minus 150 euro). it was agreed not to charge this amount and it was deducted from the original invoice before our departure.
We recalled that after checking out when we were already in our car. Hotel Manager rushed out and requested my husband to conduct a false 'survey' and provide a signature on an I-pad which was at hand. The signature he had given for this 'false survey' was used for this preposterous authorisation of 150 euros. We are still debating to undo this transaction because we have never approved.

We do not wish any other customers of Hotels Version Marquis to be a victim of illegal crimes which the Hotel believe they can commit while deceiving their customers. Hence we have and will continue to share our experience on hotel reservation sites and social media.

Keep it mind for our honeymoon we have specifically chosen to stay at Hotels Version Marquis in hopes of leaving unforgettable once in a life time experience. For sure yes we have an unforgettable experience but all for the wrong reasons. Thank you for tarnishing our memories of our honeymoon.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lewashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel V, Directeur général at Hotel Version Maquis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Sir,

Following your recent comment, we would like to clarify some aspects that you have written about your stay that seems inappropriate :

As we have explained to you at the hotel, all our rooms have the same view : facing the maquis and the sea. Still you wanted a more isolated room, so in order to satisfy your need we have accepted that you move to an other one.

You have refused the maid to clean the first room you were in. Indeed when you have left the room we have found out that it was in a state of chaos, which is probably also the explaination of your refusal to cleaning service.
Your Suite was so dirty that the maids have spent more than 2 hours to clean it (Trash all over the floor, broken glass, stubborn black stains on the walls nearly up to the ceiling etc).
This attitude is unacceptable in a hotel and reflects a lack of respect against the equipment and the hotel service.

Following that, we have charged 150€ on your credit card, which corresponds to the room rehabilitation.
Indeed, at your arrival we ask for an ID card and a signature on the check-in form. This document specifies that in case of damages or unpaid extras the hotel is authorized to debit your credit card. This is done clearly and systematically with each guest. So contrary to what you wrote this is not a false survey but a usual hotel procedure to avoid damages or unpaid bills after guests departure.

We are proud to welcome an international clientele, and the term of racism has no means to be mentioned.

We are devoted to satisfy our guests, and the excellent review that you can read or hear on the net and throughout other medias should be a prouth of it.

Regards,
Emilien
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We were two families with three kids and stayed there for one week. The staff, to the exception of the cleaning ladies, were cold, rude and unfriendly all throughout.

The receptionist kept nagging every time we asked her to open the gate for us, one lady responsible for the kitchen kept reminding us that she needs to leave by 9pm every time we made an order, and the second lady responsible for the kitchen was very cold and rude. At some point, she told us we could not use plates to prepare food for our kids. We were also told that we cannot store baby food in our room fridge. Very unusual behavior.

Throughout our stay, we were wondering whether the animosity was because our kids (like all kids) made some noise that disturbed some couples, or because we were foreigners i.e. subtle racism. We think it's a combination of both.

The owner Alexandra had to intervene midway to try to try to fix things. She has good intentions but lacks the hospitality know-how and has no idea about what it takes to instill a culture of true and genuine service in a hotel. They probably think that because the hotel is located in a nice setting, they can get away with sub-standard service.

The operations of the hotel are also unusual. You cannot order food after 9pm, and everything just shuts off. There is no one to talk to, and no garbage bin to throw food in that you will have to order from outside the hotel if you want to eat after 9pm. Breakfast is ok, but nothing to rave about. There is no one to provide basic help with moving luggage, etc. You're really on your own.

If you are a family with kids who (like all kids) want to play around and have fun, then you will have a terrible time at this hotel. If you are a couple who looks blatantly foreigner, then do not risk it either - there are much better options in Corsica at similar price points.

Room tip: Choose a good room in another hotel
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Toufic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel V, Directeur général at Hotel Version Maquis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Mister,

We thank you for taking the time to share you experience in our hotel.
We are sorry to read that your stay didn’t give you entiry satisfaction.
However we would like to clarify some of your comments that seems innappropriate and diffame :
All of our staff has been devoted to make the best to meet your expectations :
Our cook has made a cake especially for you, the reception team has given recommandations and organised all of your outdoor activities to make your holiday unique stunning and unforgettable.
Furthermore, the manager has accepted to put one more extra bed – free of charge- at your arrival, for the second child that was not expected at the reservation.
Following up to complaints from all the other hotel guests, we have simply asked you a little bit more behavior and respect among the other people around you, which you replied to with threats and intimidation against our receptionist, in front of witnesses.
We are very proud to welcome people from all over the world indeed the term of racism should never be evocated. We just seek to preserve comfort and peace to all our guests.
We stay at your disposal should you have any request of additional comments.

Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We stayed here 4 nights in June. The hotel is a secluded and quite exclusive property with views overlooking the Corsican countryside and with distant sea views. Bedroom was excellent and very modern style as you would expect from such a newly built hotel.

The infinity pool was impressive but small. If you are not by the poolside by early afternoon then all the loungers in the sun are taken, although we were guided to a pretty beach 10 minutes away down a rough track which was a nice alternative experience.

Breakfast was excellent with a chef in the communal kitchen available to cook to suit requests. Although they don't heavily promote evening meals the limited dinner menu was delicious and enabled us to have a relaxing evening at the hotel and not have to drive to a restaurant. Nearby Bonifacio (20 minutes) is very attractive with a range of bars and restaurants.

Room tip: Room 3 had great views and a private balcony
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Room: Fantastic
Location: Fantastic, almost equidistant between the two main ports, Bonifacio and Porto Vecchio
Service: Fantastic personalized service - kudos to the staff of this hotel who made our experience an indeed unforgettable experience- Special mention to Clemence and Lea and the kitchen staff who catered to our every whim
Breakfast - Good but not fantastic - more variety, and better quality of meats and cheeses
Pool and view - Fantastic view of the maquis
Facilities - great - can be driven to nearby beach, or rent bicycle on the premises

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amrit_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews