We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great View”
Review of Santateresa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santateresa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This hotel sits alone on a cliff looking towards Sardinia. It is exactly what we expected when we booked it - a good 3 star hotel. We had booked a junior suite so had a largish room. Delphine checked us in and helped us out with 6 restaurant recommendations, and a great reach out to her for recommending La Caravelle. 4 of us rated La Caravelle as delivering one of the finest meals we had ever eaten. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 507 had a brilliant view with a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LlewellynPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We made the mistake of booking the Santa Teresa and planning to arrive in Bonifacio by boat from Sardinia. BIG mistake.
BACKGROUND: The hotel is at the very top of the town (hence the great views referred to by other reviewers) and at the end of town. The assent is either steps uphill or a long uphill climb by the road. It was very hot this June. While there is reference in TripAdvisor posts to a bus, it has been permanently canceled.
We are NOT unathletic or timid travelers.
EXPERIENCE: On arrival at the Gare Maritime (port), there were NO taxis. There was a sign saying to call a number and a cab would come. I tried calling a taxi (apparently there are few Uber drivers here, too), and was told that all the cabs were at the airport; the wait would be at least 4 hours. I then called the hotel. They were of less than no help. They "tried to call a taxi" but were not able to contact one. And they had NO suggestions. I was struck that there was neither a sense of concern nor a sense of any responsibility.
We made our way through the marina to a taxi stand (it's about a 15 minute walk with luggage) and there were NO taxis. We later learned that the town has just 6 taxis total. There is LOTS of traffic, though. Ultimately, we took the "Petit Train," a tourist train up to the top of town and then dragged our luggage through the upper town to the hotel.
ARRIVAL: a surly desk clerk never apologized. He told us he would upgrade us to a suite (hardly one, but that is not the point). There was no concern about our experience, and he appeared annoyed that we were bothering him by being there and not having figured out how to get to the hotel.
INTERPRETATION: this is a hotel that lives on tour groups. They do NOT need to or care to worry about individual travelers. If you are NOT with a tour group, don't come here.
ALTERNATIVE: if you come by boat, stay in the Marina and take the Petit Train (or climb without luggage) to the old town. Don't bother with the Santa Teresa.
ROOM: comfortable, clean enough, air conditioned, good bed, and adequate bathroom.
SUGGESTION FOR HOTEL: your website indicates that one can arrive at the hotel by boat. That is simply untrue. Either you need to remove that lie or include an appropriate warning to guests that should they arrive by boat, they are on their own and there is NO transportation to the hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philafellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonifacioCorsica, Directeur général at Santateresa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear SIR,

After your commentary on Tripadvisor, we tried to join you by phone as well as by email but you don’t wish to answer us. We would like to understand why you told a part of your stay and not on all that we undertook to facilitate your stay.

When you arrive at Bonifacio with the boat from Sardinia, you don’t find any taxi, you call our receptionnist but unfortunately, they were all occupied.

On the morning, we can have a car and help our customers because we have numerous employees but in the afternoon, the receptionnist is alone. The hotel is only a three stars.
You decided to take the touristic trains, but the stop is on the center to the old town and not at the hotel.
The second day, I told with you to explain the difficulties in Bonifacio to find a taxi.
So, you have book a taxi by internet from the hotel to the airport of Figari at 10.00.
You ask me to phone at the internet company to know why the taxi was not at the hotel.
After several calls, I decided to call a company of taxi for 6 people and pay the transport in order to help you to forget this wrong adventure.
We would have preferred to read all this but you have decided to tell only the beginning of your stay.
Delighted to read your appreciation for your room.
Lastly,we welcome both groups customers and individual customers.
We hope to see you again in our beautiful city.
Best regards.
The direction and his staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We booked this hotel for two nights but ended up staying for seven we enjoyed it so much. This hotel is a great location - quiet with views in every direction and a short walk into the old part of Bonifacio. There was so much to do in (stunning) Bonifacio and the surrounding areas - took day trips to Col de Bavella, Iles Lavezzi and Porto-Vecchio. We loved the walk from the hotel through the wild flowers past the ruins into the village. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you David and all the staff.

Room Tip: Try for rooms on upper floors with views out to Sardinia but other views are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bondibeachseapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Room was very small, but just functional - desk was hardly big enough to get a small ultra-book on, toilet so tight that they had mounted the toilet paper holder above the cistern (difficult to get at). Service and breakfast both very good.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

In the old part of Bonifacio it's a huge benefit to have a parking lot. Even if the breakfast at 17 € seems expensive, it's worth the price. Unfortunately no retarant, not even snacks during daytime, no dinner either. But a short walk to the center of the old town will provide lots of restaurants. Normally used as a one night hotel by peope traavelling around Corsica, the hotel fits as well to a stay of a couple of days to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LexGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonifacioCorsica, Directeur général at Santateresa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear customer,

We thanks you for having taken time to pass on your impressions further to your stay among us.
We try to offer fresch products and several corsican products on our breakfast buffet.
We don't have restaurant because you have several possibilities at 5 minutes by feet, but we propose bar 24 to 24 in the room too .
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards,
the direction and every his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonifacio hotels
1.1 km away
Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon
2.6 km away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
488 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Genovese
Hotel Genovese
#7 of 20 in Bonifacio
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
449 reviews
2.2 km away
Residence Hotel Padolo Bonifacio
1.4 km away
A Madonetta
A Madonetta
#12 of 20 in Bonifacio
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santateresa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santateresa Hotel

Address: quartier Saint Francois | Quartier Saint Francois, 20169 Bonifacio, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Bonifacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bonifacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bonifacio
Price Range: $150 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santateresa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santateresa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Teresa Bonifacio
Santateresa Hotel Bonifacio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing