We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
241
184
43
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
184
43
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa teresa old town the cliff star hotel seems expensive enjoy your stay mediterranean sea upper town superior room free parking answered all our questions modern decor flat screen tv the room was nicely decorated breakfast was excellent sea view two nights
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We made the mistake of booking the Santa Teresa and planning to arrive in Bonifacio by boat from Sardinia. BIG mistake.
BACKGROUND: The hotel is at the very top of the town (hence the great views referred to by other reviewers) and at the end of town. The assent is either steps uphill or a long uphill climb by the road. It was very hot this June. While there is reference in TripAdvisor posts to a bus, it has been permanently canceled.
We are NOT unathletic or timid travelers.
EXPERIENCE: On arrival at the Gare Maritime (port), there were NO taxis. There was a sign saying to call a number and a cab would come. I tried calling a taxi (apparently there are few Uber drivers here, too), and was told that all the cabs were at the airport; the wait would be at least 4 hours. I then called the hotel. They were of less than no help. They "tried to call a taxi" but were not able to contact one. And they had NO suggestions. I was struck that there was neither a sense of concern nor a sense of any responsibility.
We made our way through the marina to a taxi stand (it's about a 15 minute walk with luggage) and there were NO taxis. We later learned that the town has just 6 taxis total. There is LOTS of traffic, though. Ultimately, we took the "Petit Train," a tourist train up to the top of town and then dragged our luggage through the upper town to the hotel.
ARRIVAL: a surly desk clerk never apologized. He told us he would upgrade us to a suite (hardly one, but that is not the point). There was no concern about our experience, and he appeared annoyed that we were bothering him by being there and not having figured out how to get to the hotel.
INTERPRETATION: this is a hotel that lives on tour groups. They do NOT need to or care to worry about individual travelers. If you are NOT with a tour group, don't come here.
ALTERNATIVE: if you come by boat, stay in the Marina and take the Petit Train (or climb without luggage) to the old town. Don't bother with the Santa Teresa.
ROOM: comfortable, clean enough, air conditioned, good bed, and adequate bathroom.
SUGGESTION FOR HOTEL: your website indicates that one can arrive at the hotel by boat. That is simply untrue. Either you need to remove that lie or include an appropriate warning to guests that should they arrive by boat, they are on their own and there is NO transportation to the hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philafellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonifacioCorsica, Directeur général at Santateresa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear SIR,

After your commentary on Tripadvisor, we tried to join you by phone as well as by email but you don’t wish to answer us. We would like to understand why you told a part of your stay and not on all that we undertook to facilitate your stay.

When you arrive at Bonifacio with the boat from Sardinia, you don’t find any taxi, you call our receptionnist but unfortunately, they were all occupied.

On the morning, we can have a car and help our customers because we have numerous employees but in the afternoon, the receptionnist is alone. The hotel is only a three stars.
You decided to take the touristic trains, but the stop is on the center to the old town and not at the hotel.
The second day, I told with you to explain the difficulties in Bonifacio to find a taxi.
So, you have book a taxi by internet from the hotel to the airport of Figari at 10.00.
You ask me to phone at the internet company to know why the taxi was not at the hotel.
After several calls, I decided to call a company of taxi for 6 people and pay the transport in order to help you to forget this wrong adventure.
We would have preferred to read all this but you have decided to tell only the beginning of your stay.
Delighted to read your appreciation for your room.
Lastly,we welcome both groups customers and individual customers.
We hope to see you again in our beautiful city.
Best regards.
The direction and his staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We booked this hotel for two nights but ended up staying for seven we enjoyed it so much. This hotel is a great location - quiet with views in every direction and a short walk into the old part of Bonifacio. There was so much to do in (stunning) Bonifacio and the surrounding areas - took day trips to Col de Bavella, Iles Lavezzi and Porto-Vecchio. We loved the walk from the hotel through the wild flowers past the ruins into the village. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you David and all the staff.

Room Tip: Try for rooms on upper floors with views out to Sardinia but other views are also good.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bondibeachseapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Room was very small, but just functional - desk was hardly big enough to get a small ultra-book on, toilet so tight that they had mounted the toilet paper holder above the cistern (difficult to get at). Service and breakfast both very good.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

In the old part of Bonifacio it's a huge benefit to have a parking lot. Even if the breakfast at 17 € seems expensive, it's worth the price. Unfortunately no retarant, not even snacks during daytime, no dinner either. But a short walk to the center of the old town will provide lots of restaurants. Normally used as a one night hotel by peope traavelling around Corsica, the hotel fits as well to a stay of a couple of days to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LexGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonifacioCorsica, Directeur général at Santateresa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear customer,

We thanks you for having taken time to pass on your impressions further to your stay among us.
We try to offer fresch products and several corsican products on our breakfast buffet.
We don't have restaurant because you have several possibilities at 5 minutes by feet, but we propose bar 24 to 24 in the room too .
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards,
the direction and every his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

It is much more.
The hotel sits on the west side of bonifacio just by the marine cemetery. It is about 5-7 minutes walk from the center of bonifacio.
First I want to thank Delphin in the reception, she is one of a kind. I have stayed in many hotels around the globe and never have we met such a good hearted person with such a beautiful smile and willingness to help.
THANK YOU
We had a room with beautiful views to Sardinia , the room is spacious with a comfortable bed a flat screen tv, , safe and a couple of chairs. We had a tiny veranda with 2 chairs which we couldn't enjoy too much as it was very windy (in case you get these rooms make sure to put the chairs inside otherwise they will not let you sleep at night because of the wind)
The bathroom is fabulous, big and modern. The shower head is a private masseur, I could stand under the shower for hours.
They offer a continental breakfast or a buffet, quite expensive but on some days it was comfortable.
Free parking is available for hotel guests

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonifacioCorsica, Directeur général at Santateresa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Customer,

On behalf of the entire team and specially Delphine, we would like to thank you for providing us with such positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is with pleasure that we read how much you were delighted by your recent stay.
Be assured that your lovely words have been passed on to our teams and they join me thanking you one more time for this pleasant comment.
Looking forward to your next visit in our beautiful Bonifacio.
With best regards,
The direction and his staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews