We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
31
17
5
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
17
5
2
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

You will be warmly welcomed by the owner of this beautiful property and his very friendly young staff (which is not usual in Corsica) - and by Horus the dog as well. The inner architecture of the room/ bathroom is superb and the view on the sea & islands is spectacular. French Breakfast - a bit minimalistic though - is delivered in your room to enjoy it from your private terrace with sea view.
Beautiful and quiet swimming pool. The owner has restaurant, tours and beaches to recommend if needed. You will really feel at home.

Clearly recommended

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank esalagean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Visited 2 nights/2 days as part of a larger regional trip and received a warm welcome from both owners and their friendly (calm) dog. We took the room with the private patio.

All in all, readers might like to know the hotel is popular with French speakers and is quite French in its presentation, meaning privacy and calm is maintained as part of the price. I would not recommend if you are looking for a carnival, open bar experience.
Also, a few third party bookers erroneously list a restaurant, which is closed.

Breakfast food is provided each morning, followed by a little coffee and water set-up near the pool. That's it for refreshments.

Positives included perfect room with great A/C, decorated to high standard, delicious French breakfast (breads, coffees, jams, patisserie, and yogurt) delivered to the room, 12 minute walk to beach, parking, warm welcome, straight shot to drive to town, and a real commitment to calm, calm, calm.

Some reviews are critical of the price, but really, I think one pays for the privacy, comfort, and peace. Anyway, my .02.

We requested a laundry service, which was provided to a very high standard. The price point for the service was not ideal, but was not obscene or anything. When you're traveling, sometimes you just have to accept this or spend your vacation in a laundromat. No thanks.

We would book again and stay longer next time. We work in Paris and appreciated such a pleasant break!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SandersvilleNBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

The location is superb. The staff very friendly. But it's a bit overpriced. No newspapers except the local "corse matin" of previous days. Food was excellent on the first night, the change of chef increased the price, decreased the selection. Why not more local influence? lamb chops can be gotten anywhere. breakfast in Bonifacio is half the price and as good - minus the view.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlybrown65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We have very bad experiences with the hotel Marina di Cavu. Before our stay we were a few days in the hotel Signoria in Calvi http://www.hotel-la-signoria.com/, with which we compare the Marina di Cavu. Both hotels are 4 star (****) hotels and are of the same price category - Marina di Cavu, 700 € - 850 € (peak season) to 510 € - 600 € (mid season) for a room with sea view and half board, which is a must, since the hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere land and the next city is about 15 km away over a very bad, narrow, partly extremely bumpy unpaved roads.

Room:
We had the room ‘Lavezzi’, which according to the webpage should have 40 m2. Actually it has only about 20 – max. 25 m2, equipped apart from the bed with only two uncomfortable iron-chairs and a little table. (Signoria about 40 m2 with a sofa, two comfortable arm chairs, big table) and a cheap ceramic tiles floor. (Signoria beautiful wooden floor), cheaply equipped little bathroom with small single washstand with a clogged up water outlet (Signoria about 15 m2, bathtub with shower, double-washstand, equipped with antique fittings) loud air-conditioning. The cover of the reserve blanket was not washed and still had hairs from the former guests. On the floor were ants.

Environment:
The rooms are situated around a modest swimming pool with a little poor bar (closed after the high season) – no garden at all. Around the car park of the room ‘Lavezzi’ was an electric wire only ! (Signoria very huge park garden with palm trees, flowers, big swimming pool etc.) At the shower of the swimming pool the sprinkler was dropped of. After the dinner the only possibility was to stay around this poor swimming pool or go to the room with the two uncomfortable iron-chairs.

Meals:
Due to being situated in the middle of nowhere land half board is unavoidable. There is no menu choice. As in the cheapest canteen only one (!) menu was offered which on top of it was rather mediocre. (Signoria besides the excellent menu was a rich à la carte choice ) The desert consisted of a factory-manufactured chocolate ball on an ice-cream or cheese, where the cheese plate consisted of three little pieces. (Signoria an unlimited cheese buffet was offered) The German Shepard of the owner had during breakfast free access to the dining room.

Reception:
Corresponding to the standard of the hotel: miserable

Summary:
The hotel is worth at the most half its price and corresponds to the standard of a mediocre beach-club-hotel. Due to my managerial-international experience and therefore broad hotel experience I feel comptent for this judgment.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Guarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

The place is beautiful and feels very remote, we went in the off season, the restaurant offered no choice, just a set menu and it was very disappointing and well overpriced. Beautiful setting a good wine list. I booked a massage in my room and the cost was $35 more than the advertised price, I discovered after the massage. No facilites available, we were unaware that even the pools were empty, overpriced and management was unhelpful, even a little rude

Date of stay: March 2007
4  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews