We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Gaia(Coban)
USD 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Casa Semuc(Coban)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
9
12
9
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
12
9
6
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We spent two nights in Coban at Hotel La Posada while exploring the area. The hotel is older and in the middle of a massive room renovation, so only a few rooms were occupied. The hotel is right in the heart of the city, so that makes for noisy conditions. Ear plugs help...we were prepared. Typical of many older hotels, the sound dampening is poor and the lighting is very dim (seems to be a ubiquitous problem). The water pressure was good and the water temperature hot. I could get wifi right outside the room door...but not in the room. The restaurant was good. The breakfast menu was very good, if a little pricey for the quality of the hotel and location. Same for the dinner menu. All-in-all, a reasonable place to stay for a day or two in Coban.

Room Tip: The hotel is located between two main streets. Ear plugs help for sleeping.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

The hotel property itself is beautiful but run down. The restaurant is very good and their breakfast is excellent. However, wifi only in the lobby. The room was musty, smelly sheets and not very good lighting and very loud because its right in between two busy streets. However, I was relieved to see the bathroom was in great condition and the hot shower was terrific.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Miki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

We only spent one night here and enjoyed it. It was in a good location, walking distance to the park which was very lively and lots of food vendors. The rooms were nice, just a bit muggy. You could smell the humidity in the room. The room window was also facing a pretty busy street so you hear cars all day and night, so it didn't make for a great sleep. The restaurant was really nice and the food was excellent!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

This old country house actually is split by a main street in town. Stayed in renovated room with 2 twin beds, wood stain fresh on ceiling but alternate room not an option as it was not kept clean. No heating and the place was cold, we all decided to leave the next day and continue traveling country. Restaurant service was good, only one lady taking care of several tables, and even then she did a good job. Food was good as well. Internet service only next to receptionist - big drawback.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank TXurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

On our trip to Guatemala, we had the opportunity to meet La Posada Hotel. One of the most beautiful places in Coban, colonial atmosphere and exquisite homemade cuisine made ​​our stay very special. In this place I have eaten the best apple pie I have ever tasted. And the treatment we received was something that will make us return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews