We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
USD 44
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/21
Booking.com
USD 53
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
USD 37
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
28
21
19
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
21
19
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed here with my man in one room, my Mom in one room, and a friend in a 3rd room. Wont get in too much detail, because it was the middle of low season and we were a late minute late walk-in, so perhaps there was not enough time to prepare for guests, but I had to request a bottle of Bug killer spray and attack lots of creatures in all 3 rooms. Other than that, the pricing was great for an AC room (800 Baht, about $26 USD), the location was good and close to the little shops and restaurants around, and we got a good nights sleep. The on site dogs were sweet, and I used the swing both on the beach (swing for 2!), and in front of our bungalow (#1). On a side note: Across the street and down 2 doors is a souvenir shop with the sweetest lady who owns it, and I will come back to this side of the island to shop with her again, for sure. Next door to her a family owns a really great restaurant with all kinds of food (Thai, BBQ, Italian) and all 4 of us had a really terrific meal (not just saying that because there was nothing else open, but i live in Thailand and the food was fantastic) and a great time there.

Room tip: #1, closest to the beach and you can hear the waves.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynIsAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Baan Koh Mak is a very good guest house on a nice section of beach on a beautiful little tropical island near the Cambodian border. The staff are friendly, helpful, and able, and they made us feel very comfortable. The food is brilliant in the restaurant too! One thing that was a bit difficult for us was that our room was near the back of the resort, and this meant the dogs and the bikes going passed on the road early in the morning woke us up, but this is just a small complaint really and we had a really good time there. We went snorkelling, and hired a moped to explore the island, and Baan Koh Mak organised that as well as onward travel to Koh Kood. The snorkelling was good for fish, but all the coral was dead, which is a real shame, especially as the water is some of the clearest I've seen in S E Asia. When we rode round the island we only saw one other place we thought was prettier than where we were staying but we didnt stay there... all in all, very good!

Good place and I'd definitely give it a try if you're going to Koh Mak!

Room tip: Get a room near to the sea.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naishjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Koh Mak is a small island with dirt track. We Booked prior to arrival as we were advised many places can be fully booked. We walked to Baan Koh Mak, and were pleased to find it in the more busy area of the island (by that I mean there were three restaurants and a couple of shops nearby off the main dirt road). The hotel was situated on the beachfront, with the huts set back a few metres onto a pretty grassy area. Rooms were basic but new, clean and quirky. The walls were dark, and the shower was great. Air con worked well.

The huts looked straight towards the sea, and either had a hammock or swing outside which was a nice touch.

The only downside to the huts were that three of walls were windows which were very nice with relation to views, but these windows were covered by thin curtains. These were nice and clean, but very thin and as a result, you could be seen inside if you had the light on. Not so good when getting changed. We overcame this by covering the light in the room with something thin, to dim it, and leaving the outside light on - after much investigation, you could no longer be seen.

The resort, as it turns out, was probably the best situated along that side of the island. We wandered up and down, and whereas other places may have had better restuarant facilities, Baan Koh Mak, had the nicest stretch of beach. (Plus, there was nothing to stop you eating at these places in the evening).

As for the food, prices were (as expected) a little higher than mainland, but a good variety of Thai and Western. I asked for glass noodle salad and the staff said 'Thai spicy?' - and it certainly was! The next time I had it there were even more chillis on it, but it was great. I would say, the butter there seems to be a horrible sweet tasking type. A couple of things we ordered including the scrambled eggs and garlic bread tasted a bit odd (and not really so nice)because of this. A jaffle is a toased sandwich (cheese or ham). Cocktails were a bit more expensive, but not bad. And they serve buckets of Sangsom, over even just a busket of ice, if you want to make your own up.

Staff really were very friendly, and constantly cleaning and tidying up (I'm not sure they ever slept them selves though). There are also a number of better maintained dogs here. A highlight is watching them jump about in the water looking for ?crabs.

The water is warm, clean and soft, and is very calm. And palm trees stretch for miles. You can hire a kayak or snorkels on an hourly or daily basis from the staff. I would reccommend the kayak; you can probably make it all the way round the island in a day.

There is not much else to do on Koh Mak...but thats kind of the point.

This place is much more reasonably priced than a lot on the island, and is well worth it.

Room tip: Book before arrival, I believe it gets booked up quickly.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieL346
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2012

romms like a prison
poor bathroom
no tv
no minibar/refrigeratoor
no breakfast inkluded
insects in the room
no safe,poor door loks,no fire detectors,
dirty ac filters
sporadic equippet room
samll room
no sun beds on the beach
naket beton floor
sick animals in the garden ( 3 dogs....)

never again

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Baan Koh Mak is a fantastic place to stay. Located right on the beach, which was always cleaned by the hotel staff and has lovely calm seas (I really don't have any complaints at all about the cleanliness of the beach or the sea, which was palm fringed and turquoise), the resort consists of 18 cabins set around a small well maintained garden, leading on to the beach cafe and the beach beyond. The cafe is excellent - quite smartly done up, nice and shaded with a through breeze, an excellent menu and delicious thai and western food. The staff at Baan Koh Mak are absolutely excellent - always smartly turned out and ready with a smile. The resort seems very well run by the management. The only slight downside is that the rooms/cabins are really quite small and the bathrooms fairly simple although perfectly functional and clean. The a/c was good and the bed fantastic - a big kingsize mattress set on a raised platform which was very comfy, but there wasn't a huge amount of space around it. However who wants to spend time in their room when the beach is right there?! Location was good, in the main bit of the island, so you can walk to other places to eat and drink and little shops for some variety. It also seems to be one of the cheaper places to stay on the island so I thought it was very good value for money. We were there over the peak season at new year and the resort and beach were never overcrowded, in fact it was a excellent place to chill out. There were people about, and a delicious buffet and fire display put on for New Year, so there was a good atmosphere but not too crowded - best of both worlds! I recommend it highly, we loved it.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews