We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,383)
Filter reviews
1,383 results
Traveller rating
1,274
77
18
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,274
77
18
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastlereagh bungalowgarden suitesri lankaother guestsour honeymoonstayed nightsinfinity poolcourse dinnermaster suitefactory toursea planeworth every pennywalking trailspre dinner drinkscolonial styleeach morningscones
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,383 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We had two nights at Tientsin Bungalow and it was not really long enough!

This British bungalow built in the 1930's is cocooned into the hillside creating a wonderful home. It is all dark wooden panelling and furniture but the spaces are generous and very comfortable. Our bedroom opened onto a private garden, as did most (probably all) the rooms.

There are extensive gardens and a great modern infinity pool where one has excellent expansive views of the hills. The hotel provides maps of 4 kilometre walks from the hotel and these take one through the tea plantations and close by the workers' cottages and villages. Despite a modicum of litter, these walks were quite magical both in the morning light and and as the sun set - great photography opportunities and very comfortable in the cooler high-country temperatures. The walks were also enhanced by the Hindu music echoing up from the villages.

The tour of the Tea Factory which was included, required a 40 minute drive in a van through the winding, narrow and at times steep roads which was none-the-less very picturesque. The tour itself was fabulous. The guide, Bernard, is extraordinarily knowledgeable, entertaining and has excellent English. He covered the process of tea production from planting, horticulture, plucking, the processing of the tea leaves in the factory to sale in the Colombo auctions. It was much more fascinating than expected.

The meals were of a very high standard - whether Sri Lankan or Western and served on the front veranda. We enjoyed interacting with the other guests here - there are only 6 rooms.

Service throughout was exemplary - from the time were greeted by Savantha the Manager of the property, till our departure. All were warm and friendly and very keen to meet our wishes.

Everything is included in the price - accommodation, food, drinks and even laundry. While the price is high, we felt we got excellent value with this exclusive experience considering the quality of the property, its wonderful but remote location, superb service and all the inclusions.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side of the hall have the best views.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We loved everything about our stay at the Tientsin bungalow, it deserves its reputation and accolades. You feel the bungalow's pride in its colonial history and all the staff reflect the pride. It is a lovely building, tastefully furnished in the period. We would love to have had a dinner around the big dining table in the dining room, with its period atmosphere.
The gardens are beautiful and we especially enjoyed the head gardener's tour and felt his passion as he pointed out the various plants by name. It was magic to have breakfast on the terrace in the early morning and watch so many birds come in to feed. High Tea was just as it should be, indulgent! There for Earth Day we loved the candle lit dinner and sighed when the lights came back on.
The food is top class, lovingly and highly professionally served and the chef met us on arrival to give us a feel for his creations and check our likes and dislikes.
The drive there up the winding roads through the tea plantations is interesting with great views. The tour of the tea factory arranged by the bungalow was even more demanding on the minibus driver on a very narrow, steep rough road, and well worth it. The factory tour guide had a great sense of humour and we learnt a lot.
The bungalow provides notes for two walking trails.

Room Tip: Next time we will book a garden room
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Moira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

After a long very interesting drive we finally arrived at this wonderful colonial style house situated on a hilltop among the tea plantations. Typically appointed in true " Old English " style the whole house was luxurious and exteremely well maintained. The gardens are beautiful and the pool ( with heated whirlpool ) designed for relaxatio pure !!!.
Then came one of the highlights, an English High Tea , for me ( an old Brit ) this was close to perfection I enjoyed every second !!!!!
The pre-dinner drink in the Living Room was also relaxed with excellent service from the well stocked bar.
Dinner Sri Lankan Special was delicious and tastefully presented, the tabel service was extermely professional.
Our visit to a Tea Factory the following day was interesting and very informative, that the manager spent part of his Sunday presenting the whole was really exceptional.
The weather was very pleasnat and allowed us to enjoy the gardens fully. the following day after an excellent and copious breakfast we checked out without any problems.
We were both delighted and would recommend this house to all !!!
Many thanks to the management and staff.

Room Tip: The southside balcony rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pusztaquen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We debated whether it was even necessary for us to add to the huge number of positive reviews for this hotel, but we had such a wonderful experience there that we felt we had to say something! We stayed in Dunkeld for three nights in a Garden Suite, and it was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The room was huge, with a wonderful four poster bed and gorgeous bath. Food was delicious, and such a nice touch that you can cater your menu with the chef each morning. Service was just impeccable. We did walks from the bungalow each day (including to Norwood), and the butler was so helpful in terms of giving us a map, clear directions and bottles of water. It is expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnny_number9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malik F, Owner at Ceylon Tea Trails - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you Johnny for your wonderful review. I hope you left rejuvenated! Glad that you were also able to enjoy the trails between the bungalows. Every review is valuable - they help Tea Trails reach the TripAdvisor World rankings (not just Sri Lanka and Asia) in some categories. So as not to clutter the page I usually pipe in only if a shortcoming or query is raised. Warm wishes, Malik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Wow....... Summerville bungalow was our home for two full days along with only eight other guests. No AC, No key for our room, No TV , No room phone and No charge for laundry. All meals including high tea and all our drinks were included. No cash/ card changed hands. A super experience. Limited fixed menus which we discussed with the chef each morning. Very good Sri Lankan food. Overall a superb and memorable Sri. Lankan experience. Great attention and service. Lovely walks and a first class visit/ tour across the lake by boat to a working tea plantation and factory.
Don' miss out on staying here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AMLRadlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews