We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town”

Fish Point Weligama
Ranked #9 of 107 Restaurants in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had the most amazing fresh fish/prawns /calamari just fished around the corner , and we have met awesome people and spend some great time with the staff. Everything is just perfect, ambiance, surroundings (its on the beach..), food of course, staff, service, and price. You cant miss it if you are in weligama.
Watch out there is 2 places called “fish point “ within a 5 min distance this on is “fish point weligama” also there is many similar restaurant (-around 7) located next to each other make sure you pick this one.
Enjoy your truly local instant.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank biliwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My mother, sister and I visited Fish Point for lunch today. As Sri Lankans that left the country 35 years ago, we are not familiar with restaurants in SL. So we went with the top of the list on Trip Advisor for this area and as we were staying at the Marriott, this was close to us.

We were all extremely impressed with the quality of the sea food, its preparation as well as the excellent hospitality of the restaurant (and we are used to SL being a hospitable country).

Manju, the boss and chef is self trained (as he mentioned to us, when we asked him where he learned to cook so well). And nothing is an inconvenience for him and his staff. We wanted ‘roast pan’ (a local bread) and he got it freshly baked from the local bakery to dip in the wonderful fish curry. The cuttlefish was sold out and he went to a nearby fishmonger to get some.

I mentioned to Manju that I purely came on Trip Advisor’s recommendation and he was very proud of being ranked #1.

There are a number of many similar restaurants very near to FP, but understand FP was the first to start here and (in our opinion) one of the best Sri Lankan seafood meals we have had which included red mullet, octopus, calamari and langoustine.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 654mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Don’t misjudge it by the appearance!
It’s simple and unpretentious beach restaurant, but you have to try the grilled seafood there and you won’t be able not to come back the again and again!
We’ve been there multiple times and all we tried were cooked to perfection with a touch of incredibly delicious sauce!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Marina1111713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Great fresh langostino and prawns. Very fresh very good seasonings. Easy to park a car. Close to great beginners surfing. At least when we visited.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank kmartensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

All meals we had were tasty. Best calamari and butter fish. Reasonably priced. The only problem is the service which is very slow. However, still recommended!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Devuska1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Point Weligama also viewed

 

Been to Fish Point Weligama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing