We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
Fascinating visit

A fascinating visit to the farm which does work to rescue snakes and gather antivenins. The cobras... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2024
trendytommy
,
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Great experience - grab a Cobra by its tail!

We had never touches a snake and were just amazed how smooth, silky and calm these wild animals... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2023
JanneNo57
via mobile
Read all 201 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Weligama
More Info
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner different species snakes python cobra wilderness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

We had never touches a snake and were just amazed how smooth, silky and calm these wild animals are. We (me, my wife and daughter) had five different species (all non poisonous) in our arms from a 10 inch (25 cm) pipe snake to a 6'6 (2 m) and 22 lbs (10 kg) python in our hands and on our shoulders. Only the beautiful cobras went on guard whizzing after poked just a bit with a stick.
Sisanka, the owner told us he takes care of orphaned babies or injured snakes letting them free when ready for the wilderness. Only the Cobras are held to attract tourists and fund the farm.
The way there might be a bit bumpy at times, but it's absolutely worth it, just as the 2000 LKR fee per adult is. Kids join for free, but as there is no other funding, I assume, any further help is welcome.
Contact Sisanka before going, so he'll make sure he can dedicate his full attention to you.
Whatsapp +94 0757952810

Date of experience: April 2023
Thank JanneNo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

This snake farm is closed. Don't go there. We arrived there by tuktuk and saw abandoned house. Our driver called his friend who lived nearby and said, that this place is closed.

Date of experience: November 2021
Thank V5075HMmartinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2021 via mobile

I can not recommand this. Snakes live in small cages and are not allowed to live a natural live. The owner does not treat the snakes well. It is like a mafia..... 20 Euro per Person..... only possibillity for the way bqck is the friend of the owner who charges 30 Euro......

Date of experience: October 2021
3  Thank 833nilsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2020

The snakes are kept in dark boxes without light. The cobras were brought out and poked with a stick to make them angry and hiss. Two cobras were forced to get angry with each other to start a fight.
And the cost? 3,000 rupees! What a total rip off. Do not go here and do not encourage this bad treatment of animals.

Date of experience: January 2020
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2019 via mobile

The owner of farm was very nice and friendly. He carefully took his pets and show us them, told about their habits, how does they live in wild nature and so on. He explained why people hurt them and he gave us to touch snakes. By the way, he has no fixed price. You can give as much as you want.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank svt616
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews