We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
Fascinating visit

A fascinating visit to the farm which does work to rescue snakes and gather antivenins. The cobras... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2024
trendytommy
,
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Great experience!

Great experience, you come in direct contact with the harmless snakes and you can observe the... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2023
robertonueri
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Read all 201 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Weligama
More Info
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner different species snakes python cobra wilderness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019

The owner of the snake farm showed us a number of poisonous and non-poisonous snakes, introduced us to their life in nature. He also told us stories from his experience with snakes. Very interesting tour.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

Me and my wife went yesterday to this 'zoo' ... it's not a farm... the snakes only got very very small cages and the owner picks them out of the cages several times a day for tourists... you should not support this kind of tourism!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank giselherrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

I went there by local bus. I was alone, the guy charged me 3000 rp for 20 min tour. He bears the snakes in small dirty holes.... it's not very friendly to the snakes. Do not go there and support this kind of zoo!!

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank 833nilsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

Firstly, it's not so much a farm as it is a small rehab centre. So you never know what they're going to have as they release them back into the wild when they're ready.
However, it was really interesting to be told about the different species found in Sri Lanka and to see them in the flesh - and even hold the ones that weren't venomous.
If you like snakes, this is a cool little place to go. It'll cost you 1000 SLR per person and take 20-30 minutes depending on how many snakes they have.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank fife195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2019

More like someone's personal collection versus a farm, this snake farm was a good experience for my family. It's set back off the main road past rice fields and farms. He the venomous snakes in cages outside and will bring them out to show you. You can hold the nonvenomous ones.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank tic_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews