We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
Fascinating visit

A fascinating visit to the farm which does work to rescue snakes and gather antivenins. The cobras... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2024
trendytommy
,
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Great experience!

Great experience, you come in direct contact with the harmless snakes and you can observe the... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2023
robertonueri
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Read all 201 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Weligama
from AU$146.11
More Info
from AU$146.11
More Info
from AU$161.49
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner different species snakes python cobra wilderness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Ahh...Zen and the Art of Snake handling...As others have said, it wasn't easy to find this cozy home, but it was worth it. Going and coming back in this countryside, with acre after acre of rice paddies and small villages, was as much as part of the experience as seeing and learning of the dozen or so snakes we got to see and feel (well, not the two cobras nor the two vipers.)

The owner, Dr. D.G. Vipul Waidyasena, according to his business card, was at once affable, charming and a good teacher. The going rate was LKR800, but I don't think you had to pay that much if you were not satisfied. We gladly paid him LKR1,000 each. Oh yeah, ask to see his room with jars of snake venom afterward.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Mchumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this little house about 20 mins from Mirissa and was really surprised it was someone's home and not a busy tourist attraction! It was a private viewing of tons of snakes and one seriously spine tingling tarantula which was truly amazing. Vipers, Cobras, and other snakes that we could actually hold! All in all it is a top recommendation for adults and kids not to be missed.

Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing place- not easy to find but def worth it.
Saw cobras , vibers and non poisonous snakes.
Is more conservation than farm- very educational.

Thank cori h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Got to know this place from tripadvisor,saw the many good reviews and decided to come and take a look. Its located quite far in some village. Upon arrival, the owner open up a "gate " and he bring out a white cobra. We really had a close Contact with the cobra! You can really feel and see that he a snake enthusiast.he handle them with care and has a great knowledge about them. He also let you touch them and take photos of the snakes. There was a green tree snakes which I wanted to hold but he refused as the snake had just ate few days before and handling it will Cause the snake to regurgitate. I guess from here I could see that he really care for them and is not about the money he wants. But of course showing and sharing with us do cost some money. He charges us 800 rupees per person which I think is reasonable.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank jiawenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went in August 2014 with 3 children age 11, 8 and 4, they were amazed and loved it. All 3 held the snakes, and the owner was knowledgeable, and really good with the children. Can definitely recommend this attraction, but it is typical of Sri Lanka and is not commercial at all, very basic but interesting. We paid 2400 rupees for the visit there were 3 children and 4 adults.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Millymoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews