We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
Fascinating visit

A fascinating visit to the farm which does work to rescue snakes and gather antivenins. The cobras... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2024
trendytommy
,
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Great experience!

Great experience, you come in direct contact with the harmless snakes and you can observe the... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2023
robertonueri
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Read all 201 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Weligama
More Info
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner different species snakes python cobra wilderness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This isn't a snake farm but a conservation centre.
The family have owned the property for 200 years and it was started by the current proprietors grandfather.
It now offers free herbal medicines to combat snake bites, which if i quote the owner correctly, kill 2000 people annually in Sri Lanka.
We went with our kids 6, 10 and 11 and loved it. We got to hold a phython and tree snake amongst others and saw a russells viper and black and white cobras aswell as spiders and scorpions outside of there cages which was a spine tingling experience.
This was the first time I'd experienced these snakes up close and personal and it was an amazing experience.
I cant believe those people who are so tight they can't donate less than £10 for the privilege, when they provide such a valuable service to the community and look after such magnificent creatures so well. They have to be fed! But then you'll always get people who expect something for nothing. Don't listen to them and experience something you'll remember!

Date of experience: February 2014
3  Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Good place to learn about the venomous and non venomous snakes in Sri Lanka. Great place to take your kids to teach them how to love and respect these amazing creatures.

1  Thank NaveenD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We learnt about the place at our hotel in Matara. The farm is a bit in the interior areas and takes around 45mins to reach.We were expecting a big commercial farm with huge snake enclosures and etc. But instead, this place is very small with only a small signboard declaring its presence.
The guy who runs this place is more of a snake bite doctor who treats people with anti-venoms as this area has a lot of poisonous snakes. He has around 20-25 snakes (king cobras, krait, boa,pythons etc) kept in a room the size of car garage. Most of these snakes are highly venomous.There are few tarantulas in his collection as well.
The best part is this guy will let you come really close to all these snakes. It's sad that he keeps all these reptiles in pretty small boxes but still he has taken decent care of them.
If you like snakes or otherwise are not terrified by them, this would be a worthwhile visit.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank AnuragMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was a great experience! The man who runs it has a lot of knowledge about snakes and takes the time to explain and show you. I really recommend to go here. Also the way towards the snake farm is worth a visit.
He has quite some snakes there and also a Tarantula, brrrrrr :)

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Ilona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2013

wow!!! u must see this place wn u goto matara. they hav no of snakes, but cobras are thr priority. visitors are allowed to pics and given a small talk about how they use venom to produce ayurvedic medicines.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank kiruthiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews