We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
Fascinating visit

A fascinating visit to the farm which does work to rescue snakes and gather antivenins. The cobras... read more

Reviewed 16 January 2024
trendytommy
,
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Great experience!

Great experience, you come in direct contact with the harmless snakes and you can observe the... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2023
robertonueri
,
Zurich, Switzerland
Read all 201 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Weligama
from AU$144.92
More Info
from AU$144.92
More Info
from AU$160.17
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
34
8
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner different species snakes python cobra wilderness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was a great experience! The man who runs it has a lot of knowledge about snakes and takes the time to explain and show you. I really recommend to go here. Also the way towards the snake farm is worth a visit.
He has quite some snakes there and also a Tarantula, brrrrrr :)

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Ilona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2013

wow!!! u must see this place wn u goto matara. they hav no of snakes, but cobras are thr priority. visitors are allowed to pics and given a small talk about how they use venom to produce ayurvedic medicines.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank kiruthiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I loved this place. They make all the anti-venoms used in Ayurvedic medicine in Sri Lanka here so it's not just some kind of zoo. We went here on the suggestion of our tuktuk driver. It was a bit far into the wilderness but quite an adventure. The snake-expert owner (whose father and grandfather were the resident snake experts/ Ayurvedic medicine specialists before them) explained how they make the anti-venoms and draped some non-poisonous snakes on us and gave us information on all of the snakes, including as he poked cobras with a metal rod as they scurried around on the ground and hissed. It was super cool. You might want to avoid the bathroom here though it's a little... rustic. You pay the guy at the end a bit (I can't remember how much) but not exorbitant, and they use it to run the place.

But definitely go for the snake farm. Especially if you have kids (we don't) but it seems like something they would be really into.

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank Seaside06580205815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2013

When you go with a Tuk-Tuk driver you it is better to arrange with him the price for the snake farm. We paid 650 rupees per person entrance fee although some tourists paid up to 800 rupees. The owners son explained in English about the 12 snakes and also showed some scorpions and spiders, you can even have the python draped over your shoulders. Expect to pay about 1500 rupees for the Tuk.Tuk. Look out for the many wild peacocks on the way to the farm and it is a delightful drive through the countryside. It is a pleasent two hour excursion.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews