We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samaru Beach House
Nearby Hotels
USD 53*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
W15(Weligama)
USD 126*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surfer(Weligama)
USD 41*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 133*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jagabay Resort(Weligama)
USD 82*
USD 38*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 35*
USD 19*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 210*
USD 180*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
We Escape(Weligama)
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 50*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
53
36
16
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
36
16
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurfing vacationgreat vacationhot waterplace to stayairport pickgreat place for surfershis brotherlearn to surfboard hireair conditionbeautiful countrysurf pointdeluxe roomstayed longersurf schooltuk tukrates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2016

If you are into surfing and a quiet holiday, this is a ok place to stay. Go somewhere else to eat and ask for a room in the new part of the hotel, f ex room 16. The old part has dirty, shabby bathrooms.

Room Tip: Choose the new part, from 12 to 16.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrineOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with my girlfriend we got a basic fan room for a good price after some haggling. The room was very nice good fan clean big bed. Great location.
Awful service we sat at the restaurant it took them 20mins to bring a menu and then they never returned to serve us so we left.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Azztan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Had dinner at the restuarant while on a surf stay in weligama.Ordered a Nasigooreng for sharing between me and my husband(since proportions tend to be large in SL and being light eaters)

What can i say but OH DEAR again!! If you are a local you know damn well you can get a more than decent nasi or kottu in a 5 star hotel in colombo for 600-700 rs.we paid 1200 for this one and were we in for a surprise!
1- rice was undercooked and hard
2- husband ate one piece of chicken and gave the rest to a stray dog since it had the most strange aftetaste+dry old meat
3-upon collecting a full plate plus hearing our complaint the wait staff began to give very silly excuses without owning up to it.
4-no common decency to atleast charge less let alone not charging for shortcomings.
5- not that im a princess and expect michellin star nasi in a surf village.Just dont rip people off with cheap food not worth more than 300Rs

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank MihiriEdPere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in a deluxe room at Samaru and would recommend it to anyone. The staff are some of the most hospitable we've ever come across, our deluxe room was spacious with a gorgeous four poster bed & mosquito net and the food was consistently delicious every night, the fresh fish BBQ and the full curry spread with coconut sambal and dahl was exceptional. We spent a week surfing right on our doorstep but there was so much to do in the local area - ask the staff to arrange the taxis as they have fantastic drivers and great rates who are really knowledgeable on the area. All in all we couldn't recommend this place more.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank HollyMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We were there for 3 nights. The place is very good. hotel is at the beach. Stuff is little bit lazy but kindly. DO NOT USE LAUNDRY SERVICE IN HOTEL. It was disaster, our close was dirty and smelly. some pieces i waste. mostly "white" shirts. Good place for begining surfing. The hotel included surfschool and surf rental.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanSykora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews