We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location - great for surfing”
Review of Samaru Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samaru Beach House
Ranked #9 of 104 Weligama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Samaru is right on the beach in Weligama in front of extremely reliable surf. We stayed for four nights - three nights in an upstairs room and one in a downstairs room. The upstairs room was really nice with a comforable bed, huge mosquito net and lovely place to sit on the veranda outside. The downstairs room was more basic but still had a veranda to sit on and a rack to dry clothes and towels. Samaru also has an elevated deck that all guests can hang out on, eat, drink and watch the surf, which is cooled by the sea-breeze even when the weather is very hot and sticky. We paid 5500 Rs+ the usual 10% service charge a night for half-board, which we thought was very good value considering the great location right on the beach, the spacious rooms and that dinner and breakfast were included (and it was peak season).

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frochel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Nice rooms, nice friendly staff. Indee took us the whole day to some attractions in the neighbourhood (white tea factory, turtle hatchery, steltfishers, rope factory (from coconuts), temple, batik factory, gem factory). It was low season so were the only ones staying there for 1 night. Nice place for surfing also (we didn't do that). If we would have some more time we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Excellent. Went to sri Lanka for a 10 day surf trip with my girlfriend. Contacted Samaru beforehand and they arranged an airport pick up for us. The location is fantastic, right in front of good surf. The rooms are basic but exactly what we were looking for (AC, Hot water). Food was fantastic, service was very good. What really makes this place are the peopl. Chaminda, Mereil and the boys made us feel super welcome and were really friendly happy people. In fact we played cricket on the beach with them most nights. Location is a short Tuk Tuk rife to Mirissa and Unawatuna . We went to Udu Walawe from here, which they sorted out for us entirely. In short this place was a real find and we cant wait to go back. Thanks for a great stay fellas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apointinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Me and my wife came her to surf, chill out on the beach and eat lunch. The food was great but the boards were in very bad condition. We rented a board for my wife but it was a bit to small so i only helped her paddle into one tiny wave (shes a beginner). We switched the board and she surfed the new board for an hour. After that I went for a surf and suddenly my wife came out to me in the water and told me that the manager accused us of breaking off one of the side fins of her first board, which was plain lie. When we gave the board back it was not broken but the manager threatened us with "if you dont pay 2000 rupies trouble will happen" so we didnt dear not to not pay. The manager was not friendly in the first place but threatening us in order to pay for fixing a board (that was in really bad in the first place and no insurence offered) that we are certain that we didnt damage is just awful. We and 3 other people who overheard our conversation with the manager boycotted this place for the rest of the week.

Room Tip: Dont rent it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbcarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I stayed at the guest house for 3 weeks and everyone there made me feel very welcome and cared for. As a solo female traveller this was important. The room was comfortable and cleaned whenever I asked. The food was good, especially the breakfast but not everything on the menu was always available in the evening though. The food was cooked at my convenience which was great. The guest house is family owned and I found Chaminda especially helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.The beach is lovely and mostly deserted except for surfers who were fun to watch.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weligama hotels
3.4 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#2 of 14 in Weligama
421 reviews
1.2 km away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 14 in Weligama
166 reviews
0.1 km away
W15
W15
#4 of 14 in Weligama
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
We Escape
We Escape
#5 of 14 in Weligama
69 reviews
0.3 km away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#7 of 14 in Weligama
336 reviews
1.9 km away
Twenty-Two Weligambay
Twenty-Two Weligambay
#2 of 104 in Weligama
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaru Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaru Beach House

Address: 544 New Bypass Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Price Range: $88 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samaru Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaru Beach House Hotel Weligama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing