We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful place on the beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambalangoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
LUCA11
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good vacation just a few minor issues”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in July 2016

House is a very good size consisting of two bedrooms, which are a bit on the small size. A kitchen with living area bathroom. The bedrooms have AC while kitchen living area doesn't, this was not a problem for us. Hot water was available each day. The beds have mosquito netting.

Transport from the airport was professional and on time. We arranged a few local sum cards in the airport. It just took about 10mins to do.

The location of the villa is about 3km from Ambalagoda. There isn't much to see there. Though it does have a small supermarket. Galle is a good 25min tuk tuk ride. Neighboring the villa is a new build which is probably finished now. And on the right there seems to be a derelict garden which goes in to a machine shop.

When we arrived, the previous few weeks the area had very high tides. This meant that for us to reach the beach from the house there was a 1.5m drop to the sand....mother nature had just ripped everything away. It was not a graduall drop but a vertical drop. They fixed this problem after two or three days by making steps from sand bags. Indeed there were few other houses we saw and they had their fences completely ripped away.

One particular day we went to the beach, we left our crock flip flops about 1m inside the garden. We returned an hour later. Sadly my Croc flip flops were stolen. This really alarmed me. It meant somebody had seen an opportunity and took them. But given that the flip flops were 1 m inside the garden and the 1.5m drop sombody had to have climbed the steps just to have a good look around. Other than that there was no way you could see my flip flops in thr grass from thr beach. You are provided with a an alramed padlock to the front door and the one bedroom has a security box with 4 digit code. We used them at all times.

The staff were pleasant and polite. We ordered food from a local restaurant through the staff. It wasn't really that good and was cold and more or less just put on the plate. So we stuck with what the staff prepared fish chicken, vegetables etc. Every morning we had breakfast which consisted of toast, egg (scrambled or fried), fruit and a pot of coffee. It was sufficient.

There is a local fruit and veg market about 300m away. Suggest you go there and just buy a load of fruit...mangos, bananas etc.

To conclude, don't get me wrong it is a nice place but from what I see on various websites for holiday bookings it seems to me that competition on the south coast of SL is hotting with more and more new short term rental properties coming to market. Most likely that will mean prices may decrease. If the price would decrease on this property I would consider it again but now there are many more new options on the market that just offer a little more fir your hard earned money...plunge pool, free airport pick up, cell phone with sim, a few free evening meals etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erichards...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful place on the beach”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

this lovely beach house is just like the photos - on a beautiful, quiet beach with an enclosed garden with palm trees.
Its nice and peaceful with views and sunsets to die for.
The staff are equally amazing - you will never want to eat out, the home cooked food available at the house is well worth staying in for.
Silva, the guard of the house, will look after you well and its worth spending some time chatting to him, he's so friendly and interesting.
Only a 5mins tuk tuk ride from supermarkets and the railway station.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm2002
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely Villa, lovely location, great staff. would defo return.

Nothing negative to say, very clean villa, very quiet, despite being on a main road didn't really hear any traffic. Great food, very helpful staff and a clean and very presentable Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnieszka...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place to chill out”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We would like to thank You for very best 3 weeks it was realy very nice time.
Everything what you wrote about house in the info about was even better in real.
House is very clean , and service is taking care about that very much . We feeld very safe because of dervice. Place is made for chillout , You still hear the sound of waves . It is also very good place for families with children , but parents need to watch out children in the water because of the big waves.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormackNZ
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnificant location, gorgeous home and great staff”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Family of 4 (kids aged 7 and 9) had a brilliant end to our Sri Lankan holiday in this beautiful Villa on the Beach complimented by some of the nicest food we had on our journey.

The beach is mere cm's from the front lawn and relaxing made easy by the warm breeze and sound of waves lapping. Morning swims and perfect sunsets was the order of the day.

Hikkaduwa is only 15mins down the road (or very cheap Tuk Tuk) for those who need a bit more action although it is difficult to drag yourself away from this idyllic spot. Ambalangoda town was a bit more local and has some charming shopping and places to eat.

The staff are amazing and ensure you book in Pryanthi (maybe spelt wrong) to cook some meals for you, she is very good.

We will be back.

NB: despite being close to the road, this house is quiet and as peaceful as you could hope for.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing