We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, awesome ... The Best place to be ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamassa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, awesome ... The Best place to be ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our stay at Tamassa was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful staff. Buffet was very good. We stayed there for around a week and we were given a royal treatment by the staff.

My wife is a vegetarian, and the moment chef / staff knew about it, they ensured she get pure vegetarian food, whenever we visited the restaurant.

Even rooms are very well maintained and me been a cleanness freak ; i liked the standard to which rooms were maintained.

Beach is little rocky, but that does not kill the fun !

We also had a candle light dinner @ palaya which was great !

Also a tip to travelers, water is very expensive. A single bottle costs around 100 MUR.
Overall, very satisfied with the resort and I am happily referring it to all my friends.

Room Tip: Take room on first floor. You get good view and good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritesh_Bisht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Ritesh_Bisht,

Thank you so much for your positive comments which reflect your experince among us.

We are happy to read that we have passed your 'Cleanliness' test :-) and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Oh by the way, i am not sure of you tried snoekelling, but the rocks hide such a wonderful and amazing undersea life.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,810
    599
    111
    34
    17
See reviews for
1,420
2,306
69
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I had my wedding at Tamassa and I could have not asked for a better one. The wedding coordinator was really attentive and took all our wishes on board. Also, the photographer was very friendly and made us feel at ease. We had the wedding dinner in a marquee just outside the Playa restaurant with our own DJ and waiting/bar staff. The waiting staff were very attentive and we never saw an empty glass. I had forgotten to fill in the breakfast request and later one of the waiters took the breakfast order himself (it was way past the due time). Also, the waiters were kind enough to video the speeches and dances so none of the guests had to be the cameraman/photographer. The food was superb and wines were great. The only minus perhaps was that the champagne at the hotel was way over priced and we bough our own champagne from a supermarket.

Overall the hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms were really nice and kept clean the whole time. The foot at Playa restaurant was definitely the highlight, also the selection at breakfast was good. The buffet restaurant was ok, although they did have a really good dessert selection. The drinks were really good, especially the coctails. We had a table booked for 10 for the whole time we were there so we never had any problems getting a table and the service was always very attentive.

I recommend really recommend Tamassa, it's a good value for money and great hotel to go with family/friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannele-vaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Hanneler-Vaher,

First of all, from the whole team, congratulations again for you wedding.

We are extremely delighted to read that Tamassa has exceeded your expectations and we would be delighted to place a baby cot in your room free of charge during your next trip!!

Sincerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Tamassa was definitely not the four-star-hotel, what comes to the level of service, food in the restaurants, drinks, entertainment, room service, cleanliness, etc. The prices were really high for us coming from the Europe, but the hotel had given some really good promotions for the local people, and their prices were totally different, which felt a bit unfair!

Food buffets were terrible, same rice & grilled chicken or fish every night. Wines on the all inclusive list were awful as well! You really had to 'fight' in the restaurants to get the service. The mornings began with queuing in the breakfast buffet, and often you had to ask them to fill the bowls, etc.

The place itself was nice, there was nothing wrong with the beach and buildings, if they'd just get the service work. Rooms were quite ok, but we had to call several times and ask them to give us clean towels, etc. Some days we noticed that they had only folded REALLY DIRTY towels as if they were new towels. I just hope they were OUR towels, not somebody else's!

There were even some swamps (!!!) growing in our bathroom, under the sink, and it took two days to get somebody to remove them!

We had wanted to change to the hotel in the neighbour, but unluckily they were all fullybooked as it was high season. You could have got a room for the same price in a much better hotel! That's what we recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eleonora933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Eleonora933,

Aie!!

We are very and extremely sorry to read that your stay among us was not up to your expectations.

I invite you to drop me a mail on info@tamassaresort.com so that we can see exactly what went wrong.

I would seize this opportunity to advise all readers that to never hesitate to contact me or any of my colleagues if you feel like things are not going to your expextations.

Here we have missed a chance and we feel very bad.

Sincerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Tamassa offers good value for money . Our stay was very pleasant overall, we were greeted with a nice fruit cocktail upon arrival and check in went smoothly. We were on the ALL IN package which is really good value for money (majority of drink including the mini bar and all meals inclusive). The staff were very friendly and very helpful; the food was nice, we tried the buffet for breakfast and dinner and unfortunately couldn't book the beach restaurant for dinner as it was fully booked but had lunch there which was lovely. We celebrated my mum's 60th birthday at the hotel and even had a complimentary cake thrown in. Thoroughly enjoyed the massage and body scrub at the spa, although prices are a bit on the high side the service is great and the girls do a good job. There is a game room, a gym and tennis court and a few swimming pool to choose from. The beach area was a little bit rocky but all water sports facilities were free except for fishing and diving. I would recommend the hotel and highly recommend the AI Package and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Emmaland,

Thank you so much for your nice comments.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Tamassa.

Sincerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I had an excellent holiday experience at Tamassa. On arriving there we had a very warm reception from members of your front-line desk. We also found that the bar staff very friendly. We were charmed by the high standard of service provided by Tamassa and would recommend this place to everyone who would wish to have a holiday in Mauritius

Room Tip: The beach premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashvin B, Manager at Tamassa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Priya R,

I hope the snow has not done too much damage in the UK and if that comes as a bit of recomfort, the weather here too has not been that nice: 31 degree celcius, sun is out whole day and the cocktails are melting away very quickly on the beach :-)

On another note, we are extremely happy to read that your stay went on smoothly at Tamassa and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

ashvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
12.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,283 reviews
61.3 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,238 reviews
52.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.4 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
60.9 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
62.0 km away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamassa

Property: Tamassa
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price range (per night): $274 - $739
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamassa 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new experience awaits guests at this beautiful all-inclusive beach hotel in Mauritius, located in Bel Ombre, on the island's south-west coast. Tamassa, a 4-star beach hotel, stands at the end of a long avenue of mature coconut palms towering skywards. A picture postcard landscape stretches across sugarcane fields to the mountains beyond. The south-west is a beautiful part of Mauritius, with spectacular walks and drives through lush, tropical hillsides and a range of open-air activities in beautiful countryside. In front of the beach hotel, beyond the sandy beach, lies a turquoise lagoon that almost blends into the skyline. The sea air is invigorating and the ripples of the waves gently calming. Beyond, lie thousands of miles of open sea. The traditional style architecture ideally suits the tropical setting, with beautifully landscaped gardens. The buildings seem at one with the environment. The decor is breathtakingly contemporary, with clean lines and bold use of colour. The atmosphere is one of eternal youth, friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Tamassa is a new Mauritian experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your Tamassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naiade Hotel Tamassa
Naiade Hotel Mauritius
Tamassa Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing