We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beyond compare!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beyond compare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this spa complex way back in 2005. What an experience. The hotel staff (who meet you when you arrive) are very friendly and offer cold drinks and towels while they book you in. We stayed in one of the villas within the grounds rather than the hotel proper and it was delightful. Very spacious with a balcony overlooking the small river/creek that seperates the mainland from the beach area. We watched the local staff catching land crabs from the balcony and then found the crabs on the menu that evening. How fresh can you get? The food and dining is excellent and reasonably priced. The golf course is also very well looked after and my wife actually played her first game of golf there.
The amenities in the complex were what you would expect from a 5* establishment and we had no complaints. We would definitely return if we get the chance.

Room Tip: Book a villa. Great experiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1lment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    230
    76
    30
    22
See reviews for
487
858
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family and I spent a week at Le Telfair in April 2012. My views of the hotel are as follows:

The Good:
- The beach area (especially by the C Club) is very good and remarkably well sheltered from the wind - much better than the Sofital Hotel about 3km away.
- The architecture of the hotel and its gardens are magnificent.
- The food quality was good - especially the breakfast.
- The staff were friendly.
- The facilities (e.g. tennis courts, gym, pools, bicycles, etc) are very good.
- The golf course is excellent.

The Bad:
- The 'extras' were very expensive - e.g. a) golf was free; however, I paid about R1,500 ($200) to hire a cart and clubs, which is much more expensive than the top courses in South Africa; b) the drinks, food, etc that were not included in our half board package were very expensive - e.g. R80 ($11) for a fruit drink by the pool; c) The wifi in the room was very expensive, etc, etc. It just felt that they were looking for any opportunity to siphon more cash out of my wallet, which leaves a poor taste in the mouth.
- The free water activities provided by the hotel were fine, but the really fun activities (for dad and kids!) were provided by a 3rd party for R100 to R200 ($13 to $26) per ride.
- We had a few glitches during our stay like: a) Our children's sofa bed was not made one evening and they were slow to sort it out, which is very irritating at 11pm. b) Twice they forgot to replace the still water in the evenings - normally no big deal, but they do recommend that you do not drink the tap water. c) On our second evening, our room was flooded...so we had to unpack our entire cupboard at 11pm and move to another room. Fair enough, this could happen anywhere, but we did not even receive an apology from the manager.

That said, while the issues per above were irritating, they did not prevent us from enjoying our holiday....and we may even return. I think that the management probably need to spend a bit of time on their strategic direction.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AustinJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just returned from our 2 week visit to this stunning hotel in a stunning location. On the day of arrival we were welcomed by the most friendly staff and a bonus of a cold towel at reception. We stayed at the hotel all inclusive. The Telfair has the greatest choice of food and drink along with fantastic other facilities such as a the local Chateau restaurant and C Beach Club. The local golf club was fantastic - we played on the driving range and ate at the restaurant there overlooking this stunning enjoyable course. I would highly RECOMMEND to stay here. Was upset to leave such a BEAUTIFUL LOCATION with the most FRIENDLIEST staff I have met in any hotel. Definitely try out the seven colours spa which is like another world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mauritiusisstunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from our first visit to Mauritius and have had a wonderful holiday at Le Telfair. On arrival we were met by the very friendly and professional reception staff and were also welcomed by the General Manager. Our ground floor river view room was lovely, spacious and light. The gardens are beautiful and very well cared for. We went all inclusive and found that this was a good choice as we could eat in any of the restaurants and drinks were included. The breakfasts served at Annabellas were excellent and catered for all tastes. We dined at Annabellas, the Chateau and Gin'ja and the food was of a very high quality and the staff were efficient and friendly at all times. We did dine at the Balafon (Awali) one evening but prefered the restaurants at le Telfair. The beautiful Cavendish Bar was the place for our pre dinner cocktails and snacks and after dinner coffees with attentive and friendly staff. The pool and beach bar served drinks all day, light lunches and then pancakes in the afternoon and a visit to the beach for drinks and snacks at sunset is a must. The spa was so lovely I had three visits! We made use of the bikes at the Activity Centre and had several good trips out with a guide. Overall our first visit to Mauritius was a wonderful experience and we could find no fault with the beautiful hotel and excellent service from the staff in all areas. We loved the way many members of staff greeted you by name every day and made you feel special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Almost exellent and friendly staff. Nice bar with dinnermusic. You can hear the air con working, but its not really a noisy. TV ist not the best but on top range. Watersport ist not possible every day due to the sealeavel, but the are good alternatives.

Allow at least one night for dinner at the chateau!
Buffee at the Balafon (sisterhotel next by) is not that good. You dont have to go there....
Recommendable is the Gingars (asia cousin) with their on little herbs garden.

Our room was next to the bridge, close to the beach club. really nice, seaview and birds at your balcony.

Room Tip: rooms on the beach in the south have sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgraenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
11.7 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
53.0 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
61.5 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.4 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
6.4 km away
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
#1 of 2 in Chemin Grenier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
11.9 km away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price range (per night): $465 - $1,501
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing