We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 285
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
USD 516
USD 445
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 571/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Heritage The Villas(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
USD 348
USD 336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamassa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
USD 444
USD 383
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 425/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
USD 487
USD 229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 500
USD 297
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveller rating
1,104
249
90
38
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
249
90
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla plageoutdoor bathanne lisebeach villabuggy serviceprivate gardenkids clubspa teamdirect access to the beachspecial thankscoffee machinecustomer experiencehalf boardplunge poolfront officea la carte menubreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in March as a winter escape for my husband's birthday.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they are passionate and genuinely care about taking care of you. From the spa staff to the chefs all were extremely friendly and dedicated to making your stay special.

I'm vegetarian and found a good selection of food in the buffet. For the nights where I wanted something a little different Maurice and his chefs were more than happy to whip up whatever I fancied-it was amazing!

One morning we had a stunning breakfast set up in the bar and dinner on the beach. Nisha and Stephan truly spoilt us :)

The hotel is nice and secluded and wonderfully designed.

The rooms are nice and spacious but could do with an update to bring in line with the rest of the hotel.

Overall, we had a very radiant stay and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Sheena S,
We thank you for your review about your recent stay at the SO Sofitel Mauritius. We are pleased to hear that our services were up to your expectations and that you enjoyed every single moment in the resort with utmost attention from our ambassadors and great treat. The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments. We will not fail to congratulate all of them specially the spa team, Chef Maurice and his team, Nisha and Stephan for their hospitality and attentiveness.
We thank you for recommending the SO Sofitel Mauritius for future holiday seekers.
We really appreciate your great review and hope to welcoming you again soon.
SO Kind regards,
Eric Zucchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My family and I spent one week at the So Sofitel and we loved every minute of it. It’s a large resort so you need to call for golf buggy’s to take you around, but we never waited more than a few minutes for one. The staff are friendly and helpful, arranging a hire car and excursions for us. Special thanks to Annlise for arranging the best quad bike excursion ever.

I would definitely recommend you book all inclusive, I am so glad we did, the bar food and food at The Plage restaurant was lovely, although the evening buffet was a bit hit or miss.

Only negative the rooms are looking very tired, with cracked floor tiles and rather grotty shower tiles.

Overall a wonderful holiday, thank you to everyone at So Sofitel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank whittlelisaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear whittlelisaj,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments further to your stay at your one with nature the SO Sofitel Mauritius. Thank you for having given us the opportunity to contribute to a memorable moment. We are more than ever encouraged to continue our journey.
We appreciate your generous comments regarding our facilities, services and the helpfulness of our ambassadors, we will not fail to congratulate them especially Annelise who ensure that you beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a wonderful stay at the SO Sofitel Mauritius soon,
SO Kind Regards,
Eric ZUCCHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are spending 12 days in paradise with our 3 children. It is our second time on the island after a 15 year hiatus following a disappointing visit to the Hilton Flic en Flac resort. Have we been missing out?!! In the South, nestled between ocean, nature reserve and the blue sky, is the SO Sofitel and it is perfection. The setting is spectacular with beautiful sandy beaches overlooking an azure lagoon with waves breaking on the horizon. The property is a verdant tropical garden with buildings sensitively integrated into the spectacular landscape. The rooms are clean (with 3 children trooping beach sand in and out, this is no mean feat!), fresh, elegantly decorated and with every comfort. The bathroom is an oasis - like a private spa. Speaking of spa, this is a highlight. The architecture is worth a visit in itself with peaceful courtyards and beautiful views. I enjoyed superb massages, a refreshing facial and very professional manicure and pedicure. Crystal was my preferred therapist. The hotel staff are truly the ones who bring the magic to the experience. From the cheery Lindley at the pool, to the charming Raj for whom no request is too much effort to barman Girish who serves with witty repartee and a talent for surprising with cocktail mixes with a unique twist tailored to guest preference. The restaurant staff do a phenomenal job, serving delicious cuisine a la carte at the laidback restaurant under the palms - “A la Plage” - and the buffet “Flamboyant” which serves creative and diverse cuisine to delight every palate. All restaurant staff are attentive and highly professional, making a personal connection and ensuring absolute satisfaction. Atish stands out for his obvious passion for food and genuine delight in seeing guests enjoy their food. So altogether, high expectations exceeded!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Mobilemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Mobilemum,
Thank you for affording the time to share your comments while staying at the SO Sofitel Mauritius. We are absolutely thrilled to read such a detailed and positive review on our hotel.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to contribute to a memorable moment. We are more than ever encouraged to continue our journey and to deliver personalised hospitality to our guests.
We appreciate your generous comments regarding our facilities, services, our team and also the cuisine proposed by our Chef.
We thank you once again for the encouraging review which is a great source of motivation for all our team and especially the one you mention.

I wish you an Idyllic holiday among us and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you and the family back at the So Mauritius

SO Kind Regards,
Eric ZUCCHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Just arrived. The staff at the beach bar were very unhelpful - verging on the rude. Did not want to serve us or put themselves out in any way. Claimed the place was fully booked even though the place was completely empty and the first client was not due for another hour. Very poor service and very unimpressed.
The location is good but the quality of service is abysmal.
Best avoided.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dyerbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear dyerbartlett,
We are very sorry to learn that during that day your experience did not meet your expectation even if you find our location very good, as we always intend to deliver very good guest satisfaction, please do not hesitate to write us in a private message in order to sort things out.
SO Kind Regards
E.ZUCCHI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We stayed here in September for our 1st year anniversary and we had an amazing time. The hotel is situated in a really nice spot and the beach was lovely and not too crowded. The room was rnice and spacious. The real star of our stay was Vikram - the head chef. We were vegan and as soon as we got there he met with us personally to discuss our dietary requirements - this was a first for any hotel we have stayed in and we knew straight away this stay would be amazing. From them on it only got better - we felt like the restaurant team really cared about us and our stay. They provided us with lots of different options all plated wonderfully. I have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world but have never quite experienced service like this. Vikram is a real asset to the hotel and Sofitel. The spa team were also fantastic - we had several massages through out our stay and there were to very good quality. Would highly recommend the So Sofitel and Mauritius.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasGill14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear JasGill14,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken to share this stunning review after your stay at the SO Sofitel Mauritius. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the hospitality and kindness of all our ambassadors as well as the comfort of your room and above all your culinary experiences. Rest assured that we will not fail to congratulate you chef Vikram and his team and also the Spa Team for their effectiveness. Thank you for recommending the SO Sofitel Mauritius for future holiday seekers.

Looking forward to welcoming you to another stopover for the 2nd wedding anniversary in the wild south of Mauritius sooner.

SO kind Regards,
Eric Zucchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews