We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bintang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bintang Bolong Lodge
Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Unique place.”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is located a few kilometres off the main road in a small village on the Bolong river, hidden right in the mangroves. It is a collection of huts on stilts. The huts are very simple and a bit worn, but comfortable enough and fairly clean. My room was a family room (I guess the smaller ones were not available when I arrived) and quite large with three beds and a balcony overlooking the river. The location is absolutely amazing, and the main seller for this place. It's worth staying there for a night, you see the loads of birds, the fishing boats in the evening and the bats flying out in the morning. The restaurant is equally nice, with a roofed and open air section. Food is good and servings are generous but the choice is what strictly limited to what is available. Staff is very friendly and good company. It's simple and a little rough around the edges but it's a great unique location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
31
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

For what it is Bintang Bolong is a very good lodge. This is not a luxury lodge but a basic simple and clean little lodge.

We stayed here for 3 nights in December and were the only guests at the lodge. The accommodation was very simple and the bed not fantastically comfortable but it was clean. The deck was fantastic and brilliant place just to relax and the scenery and bird life brilliant. We did a motor boat trip, canoe trip and a "bush walk" which were all really worth it.

The staff were really nice but maybe a little too attentive and should give guests more space.

If you are comfortable with staying somewhere basic I would definitely recommend BIntang Lodge for a short stay.

Liam and "Boss Lady" Alex

Room Tip: We had a river view room and definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Sometimes a place can have a great view and lovely nature but can be wrecked by the attitude of the staff; here I can only compliment a fabulous bunch of people who work hard to make your experience memorable and who know when to back off. Yes, the view is staggering (IF you are in one of the river front lodges it's memorable - just sit quietly at dusk and watch it all wade, fly or swim by). I know that if I had a back lodge, I'd have been disappointed but only in comparison to what we did experience. The food was very good, no doubt, but the menu was limited so a longer stay may have proven a culinary challenge if I'm honest. And yes, accommodation is fairly basic but surely that's what it's all about - getting back to nature and it does emphasise ecological aspects so to sacrifice a bit of the mod con comfort is no issue. Just a huge thanks to the staff who really got it right; no fawning, no sideways looks just good honest people who worked hard to make our 3 nights there memorable. When we told our Gambian friends that we had 3 nights there, they thought we'd regret that length of stay; on the contrary! Thanks to all... just make sure you get a riverside room if at all possible.

Room Tip: A Riverside room is a must to aim for. Oh and be cautious about the paddle boat ride. We were told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mondocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed one night at Bintang Bolon. The room was near the parking lot, the bathroom had no door and faced the bed, on top of it, it was quite smelly. The funniest thing is that these rooms are as expensive as the rooms facing the water. Overall, it just looks run down and it seems that the owner is not putting any effort in maintaining it. I would not recommend staying there. The food was just ok.

Room Tip: Chose rooms facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RasaSarquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed for the second time in April. Its really worth a visit even for one night. The lodges are basic but thats what adds to the ambience of this place. Its hidden at the end of a village. Lodges are on the river, with an excellent view. Evening meal was excellent, even in the dark. Quiet a few animal noises at night, but nothing to worry about.
The River trip is a must, and morning is better I believe.
It is so reasonable to stay here, you have to do it.
At night the villagers will come and dance makes a great evening joining in with them.
Hope to be back soon.
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bintang Bolong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Bolong Lodge

Property: Bintang Bolong Lodge
Address: Bintang, Gambia
Region: Gambia > West Coast Division > Bintang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bintang
Price range (per night): $30 - $59
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco lodge is built on stilts within the water and intergrated into the wonderful mangrove forests on then banks of the Bintang Bolong, the largest tributary of the river Gambia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing