We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Lovely Way to Spend the Holidays”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
Living room with stone fireplace
Dining for up to ten
Full kitchen
King Bedroom with seating area
King Bedroom with seating area
Queen bedroom
Bedroom with full & twin beds
Located inside Yosemite National Park
Patio includes charcoal grill for outdoor barbecues
Large Deck with gorgeous surroundings
Yosemite West
Enjoy the spacious deck surrounded by foliage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike70123...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok place ...Clean bath rooms, but a lot of spiders”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is very old, and has strong smell of moister. What bothered us the most, we got all stung by spiders. I little bit of cleaning and care, can make this property in much better shape. we were charged about 740$ for 2 Days, compared to Sequoias rentals who charged our friends about 1220$ for 2 days, but the Sequoias was extremely clean.
our cottage had 3 bedrooms, but they closed one bedroom, as we were only 3 people, they were very strict on the number of people

Bath rooms: Excellent, and very clean
Hot Water: always available
Kitchen: Good Conditions and very clean
Furniture: Old but ok, the coach was not comfortable to sleep on
Wifi: NO

if you are willing to pay a bit extra, I would go with more updated places, such as Sequois they are very clean and more comfortable
Coach was not good for sleeping

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: spiders
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for any negativity you experienced during your stay with us. We provide clean and comfortable accommodations at affordable rates, and want all of our guest to enjoy their time with us. We appreciate your compliments on our clean bathrooms and kitchen. We are located in a mountainous area, and sometimes the native inhabitants do get inside. Should this occur, we advise that you inform the staff immediately so they can be dealt with appropriately. We would like to point out that our living room set is under one year old, and that with three beds no one should have been sleeping on the couch. Our rates are based on the number of people staying on the property, and so we do need to enforce those numbers in order to remain fair and economical for everyone. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celeste W
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Way to Spend the Holidays”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I brought our respective families to this lovely forest cabin for a family Christmas. His father, who is a notable curmudgeon was pleased, and my mom who has had two knee replacements was able to get up and down the stairs, so that was good!

The person who answered my questions via phone was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The cabin we stayed in had more rooms than we needed, so they just locked the extra bedrooms and only charged us for the rooms we were using. Online booking was easy.

The facility was clean and well kept. The decor was dated, but the overall effect was pleasant. There was a nice open fireplace/hearth in the living room, augmented by central heating. Wood was not provided so you should be prepared to bring your own if you wanted to build a fire.

The cost was reasonable. Once we split the bill 3 ways it was pretty much equivalent to a night in a mid-range hotel. This company was much cheaper than the other rental cabin company in the area.

I would definitely recommend this cabin and company to a friend. This particular location is perfect for extended family getaways. It was great to have everyone together for the holidays in a clean, cozy, comfortable location where everyone could have their own space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely living room with beautiful fireplace and new couches.
Liked least: The kitchen knives were duller than most butter knives.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A reasonable, comfortable stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Brookside Cottage was a nice place and a very convenient location for our large family of nine adults and two infants. The cottage was very comfortable and exactly as advertised. The people at the management office were wonderful to deal with an very helpful. It reminded my son of my parents house when he was a child, and on the whole it had a comfy, 80s/90s vintage feel. It was a bit tight for 9 adults. The fireplace was a hit, and the parking and access were fine. The only negatives were the lack of a laundry (we had two infants), and there was no wi-fi or cell service or those addicted to their mobile devices -- but none was advertised so it was expected. Overall we had a fine stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the fireplace
Liked least: no laundry
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable and quiet older property with easy access to everything Yosemite has to offer.”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The location, almost at the base of Yosemite West, meant the area was quiet - very little drive-by activity and lots of separation between the property and its neighbors. It is an older property that to be honest looks its age, although it has been well maintained. It has a bit of a dated but rustic feel to it that is in keeping with where you are!

On the negative side, there is no WiFi, no cellphone coverage, and it was not possible to use the phone in the property to make outgoing calls. That's really the only negative though.

From a value for money perspective, given the number of beds in the property, it worked out very well as compared to having our size of group stay in any of the DNC operated lodging options in the park, and it compared favorably to other Yosemite West options.

All in all it was a good place to stay and I would use it again for a large family visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location location location!
Liked least: Lack of WiFi/phone
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta B
Encino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location is good.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Our family of seven stayed at the Brookside Cottage in June of 2013. The location in Yosemite West was excellent. We used four
bedrooms and found the beds to be adequate. The main bedroom downstairs was very crowded because of the king size bed and it was difficult to access the closet. We could not hang our clothes or unpack our suitcases, we used the dining area to store our clothes in the suitcases. The closet doors do not slide well. The house is dark, lights need to be used during the day. The kitchen is fine, bring your own fry pans. The house is not as attractive as the photos suggest, the décor is significantly aged. There are many artifacts, old curtains and dust collectors which could cause problems for people with allergies. The biggest problem for us was the fact that sitting on the upholstered living room furniture made us itch. We covered the sofas and chair with bed sheets to be comfortable on the furniture. The people who run the rental service were helpful, however, their hours are limited.
Although we were told there was a laundry next door, it was actually more than a mile away and hard to find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was good.
Liked least: The aged decor and too many objects everywhere.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing