We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful sleepover”
welcome to D&E Digs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic
Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Spacious living room area...just sit back and relax
Very clean bathroom...
Private deck with dining area.
Relax in the gazebo with a glass of wine....
Deer grazing the meadow.
Stroll through one of our many gardens...
The view from your deck after a light snowfall.
sit next to a warm fire and enjoy the night skies....
Nearby Lake...
Redbud Trees bloom in early spring...
Dogwood Trees in the fall...
Hike along the Merced River surrounded by poppies.
Winter in Yosemite!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beviec
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful sleepover”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Donna was a lovely host. We arrived quite late but she was very friendly and welcoming, and even went and got us a beer. Although the cottage looks quaint it's very well equipped. Plenty space to chill out. The bed was comfortable, linens were of nice quality too.
We were given a recommendation for food which was not too far away at 'Hitching post' which served us well.
The location was easy to find and the local market adjacent to the petrol station was well equipped.
Donna had left us fruit and a muffin which was welcome as we had no food with us.
It's in a rural location and we would have liked to explore but we had travel deadlines.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam_in...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy comfort and deep relaxation near one of America's Jewels”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage itself is very comfortable and conveniently located near the Yosemite National Park. If you enjoy a fun and windy drive to the Park and excellent restaurants, rent this cottage. The bed is super comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful, yet unobtrusive. I did not use the pool, but it looked refreshing.

The reviews ask if I would recommend for folks with disabilities. Depending on the disability, it could be fine. I have muscular dystrophy, and could manage the three steps at the front door and the bathroom was fine. The gas stove requires lighting, which was a bit of a challenge given the type of lighter, but manageable for me. If you have specific questions, ask Donna and she will be up front with you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and quiet.
Liked least: It was a bit smoky due to wildfires in the region.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Genuine rural bliss”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at D&E for two nights, using it as our base for exploring Yosemite. It exceeded our expectations.

Donna and Eric are extremely kind and thoughtful. Donna and I had been in email contact before our stay and she knew we were planning to spend the day in the park before arriving at D&E Digs. I was very surprised to receive an email from Donna on the morning of our trip warning us that the gate we were planning to use to access the park was closed because of a landslide. It was so kind of her to let us know as it saved us about 90 minutes of driving.

When we arrived at D&E Digs we were met by Donna and shown around the cabin. The photos don't do it justice. The place is old fashioned, as you can tell from the photos, but not in a ‘we-haven’t-bothered-to-update-it’ way. It’s old fashioned in a ‘this-is-the-original-kitchen’ kind of way, which means it is totally charming and vintage and lovely. (and the wifi worked perfectly).

When we arrived, there was a bowl of fresh fruit and some muffins and Eric brought over a couple of beers. Other than that they left us to ourselves, so we could enjoy the peaceful surroundings. They have dogs, and we told them we are dog people, so they let the dogs wander around freely. However, if we weren’t dog people, I don't think they would have let the dogs out.

We took the apples down to the paddock across the street (Eric suggested this) and fed them to the two ridiculous ponies. Then we had a bbq and went to bed. The bed was very comfortable, although we got bitten by mosquitoes a few times so we would recommend using the coil or repellant.

(also note that we had no cell phone reception when we were there)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_m_ric...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Yosemite getaway”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I booked to stay at Donna and Eric ' s place as part of our honeymoon tour.
After a hot drive from San Francisco this was an ideal cool mountain spot to unwind.
We were greeted my the most warm, friendly and interesting couple you'll ever meet. Eric shared lots of fascinating stories about his career in music and film.
The cottage had bundles of charm with an orginal period kitchen and suited our needs in every way.
In the evening there is the option to have a bbq and drink a cold beer under the stars.
Would wholeheartedly recommend D&E digs to any couple passing through Yosemite who wish to do some hiking or just soak up the serenity of the forest.

Thanks Donna & Eric, wish we had longer! Next time eh?!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaRF
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon mountain cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at D&E digs for our honeymoon trip to Yosemite and couldn't be happier with our experience. We were greeted warmly by super friendly and gentle dogs ( they are timid and won't jump on you) followed by Donna and Eric. Upon arriving they offered beer, showed us around, and gave recommendations for our trip to Yosemite. The cabin is close their home so they are readily available. At the same time they really respected our privacy.

The cabin is very charming with a vintage kitchen, nice furniture, super comfy bed and large bathroom. They also had a basket of fruit and muffins which we ate for breakfast while driving to the park. We didn't spend too much time hanging out on the property but we did enjoy the private pool. Heavenly after hiking all day!

There is a bit of a drive to the park but it's beautiful and worth it for the peace and quite. The local restaurants are great. We enjoyed Triangle Road cafe which is within walking distance, and the hitching post which is open early and late. We also enjoyed a visit to Prospectors a brew pub recommended but Donna and Eric.

We highly recommend D&E Digs and hope to stay there when we make it out to Yosemite in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing