We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a renovated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed in Elderberry for 4 nights in May 2009 and it was great. We were told it had been renovated. It sounds like a lot of people were in buildings that have not been redone. Elderberry is also the closest building to the Falls.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra90068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,233 - 3,237 of 3,956 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

I paid $220 / night for a room that hadn't been renovated since the 70's, faced the maintenance buildings, and was easily 90 degrees inside when I opened the door. At least I can fix the last one, right? I'll just flip on the A/C for a few minutes. WRONG. Turns out none of the rooms have A/C. Try finding that fact in any of their literature. What's funny is that the front desk staff is obviously well-trained to field complaints from every single person that stays here for the first time. Also, the wireless internet didn't work in my building, either. Turns out the IT staff I called knows that several of the buildings have "infrastructure problems" and have told the hotel repeatedly over the years. They just haven't gotten around to paying to have it fixed, I guess. I was told that my room was one of the best in the complex, obviously to get me to accept my fate. I did eventually get a different room for the 2nd night which was better - it was on the lower floor (cooler) and had a view of the falls, but in no way should this one have been $220/night, either. I've stayed all over the U.S. and this was a $70 room at best. The previous night's room should have charged hourly.

That being said, the woman at the front desk was very apologetic when I told her how uncomfortable my wife was the first night. There was a cheese and fruit plate waiting for us in the new room the next day.

Here's a thought for the owners of the place... instead of relying on the front desk staff to calm people down, why not renovate the rooms to make them worth paying that kind of money for? Oh, because you own all of the hotels in the Valley and you don't have to - there's no competition. This is why monopolies are a bad thing. Want to see the services improve? Throw a couple of competing hotel companies in there and watch the improvements happen.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vandemusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I stayed at the Yosemite Lodge during the Memorial Day weekend 2009. Having been here before, I knew what to expect- average rooms, firm mattresses, decor from a generation past, etc. However, having said that, I would stay there again and again for a number of reasons:

Good location near the falls and the shuttle

Near the cafeteria and food store

When you're hiking all day, it's sure nice to come back to a room where you can take a hot shower. The beds don't feel so hard when you're exhausted from a day out.

I felt safer knowing the bears would be less likely to snoop around the rooms. Compare this to a previous experience where I could hear the bear right outside my tent! I also heard a pack of coyote wailing at night- try calming your wife down if you hear that while sleeping in a tent.

It's more expensive than Curry village, but also a lot less crowded. During the holiday weekend, there were 20,000 people on the Sunday before Memorial day. The roads into the park were closed and people were walking EVERYWHERE. At the lodge, it still seemed peaceful, despite the throngs.

The view of the falls from the Mountain House restaurant was great

Though we had one arrogant man who checked us in (reminded me of the comic book guy from the Simpsons) the service was generally good and the staff were friendly.

You can't underestimate the value of having parking near your room.

The climbing school was right behind the lodge, making it easy to come back and forth to the rocks.

All in all it was a great time in the park. I've stayed in Wawona, Camped at Crane flats, Hodgen meadows, and the valley, but I still prefer the lodge for the convenience of being in the valley and the amenities (you will appreciate having your own toilet and shower if you stay here for a week like I did). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimless_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Stayed two days. Hotel centrally located in Yosemite Valley. The room was 1950's decor. Ours was clean, however, some mold on the bathtub/shower tile. No A/C, no coffee maker. Lighting in bath/dressing area somewhat poor. TV in room, however, somewhat outdated. Channel selection is limited. Does have WIFI in room. Restaurants were OK (Food Court, Mountain Room). Parking was a challenge with competition from day travelers. Overall a basic room with limited luxuries.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

How could a place as gorgeous and majestic as Yosemite allow this lodging company to represent them? The rooms are detached from the lodge, and look like they were built 50 years ago, and never touched again. Dirty aluminum windows; dark yellow single bulb overhead lights; dirty, harsh feeling indoor/outdoor carpet in the rooms; black mildewed caulk around all the bathroom fixtures, wood trim in the bathroom that is dissolving before your eyes; torn blankets and worn linens on the beds with dingy bedspreads; a TV that is so tiny they might as well take it out. All for $300/night. Again, step outside, and you are wowed by a perfect view of the Falls, but avoid these nasty rooms at all costs, if you can, and just stay at the Awahnee.
At the lodge, the front desk staff is sweet. The food in the Mountain Lodge Restaurant is quite good with a decent wine list, and even the food court had tasty food, although they cannot handle the crowds with their quaint use of omelette and waffle stations where each is hand prepared by a chef--too long of a line, and inefficient if you just want to grab a quick breakfast and get outside.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MakeamemoryThair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
2.1 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
27.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
24.3 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
572 reviews
16.1 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,115 reviews
30.3 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $373 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing