We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About all its got is location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 July 2015

As others have mentioned, the location alone is worth the rest of the pain. The Juniper cabins are old, outdated and not air conditioned. Even when the night temperature dips into the 50s, the rooms will stay at 80+ degrees. You can open the door and it really doesn't help much. Plus you're told not to open doors or windows because of bears...

But the location is fantastic. It basically gives you an extra day in the park by staying there, so if you're only there for a night, it's probably worth the stay.

When we were there, the staff was good, but the computers were down/slow, so it was a slog. Basically, they're milking this thing for all its worth and putting next to nothing back in the place. And why should they? You've got a monopoly and a captive audience.

Some have mentioned renovated rooms - hopefully Juniper is on the list to be renovated and not already renovated. Yes, it has a flat panel TV. However, I'd trade the TV for A/C anytime of the day.

That said, you can do so much from the location, including tours, that it's worth it. Just be prepared for a long night.

Room Tip: Bring an extension cord for the fan so you can place it where you want it to try and cool off from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,133 - 1,137 of 3,956 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015

The rooms are nice and relatively quiet, as they are spread out in lots of seperate buildings. The only negative was that it was 105F or 41C so we really felt the lack of air conditioning which made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. There is a decent amount of space with proper room for suitcases and clothing (unlike Wawona where we spent the previous nights). The falls are just a couple of hundred meters away and the canteen and shops opposite are nice and surprisingly not overpriced. This was a very comfortable and convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Think they'd all be fairly similar, spread out in lots of buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzy_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Yosemite Lodge at the Falls is right in the center of it all. Quick access to bike rentals and pool. Cafeteria style restaurant had good choices and was a good value. The Lodge is discreet and nestled in the trees, so does not compete with the beautiful surroundings. Able to bike and hike to many of the Valley highlights.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Although we've stayed in Yosemite Valley numerous times, this was my first step in Yosemite Lodge. My husband and I were lucky to score back-to-back nights with very short notice on-line. Our room was large with a king-sized bed, balcony and bathtub (which I always appreciate). We had our bikes with us and, once we parked our car, explored the valley solely by pedal power, on foot, or via shuttle. We dined both nights at the Mountain Room and we're not disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vespagirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

The Lodge is the best place to stay in Yosemite; we parked our car as we arrived and walked everywhere from this location. Yosemite is amazing, beautiful, magnificent!!! The views from the Lodge were astounding. Wildlife was everywhere. Everything you photograph looks like a postcard - the views, waterfalls, trees, mountains. It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. We hope to make it back one day!!!

Room Tip: The back side of the lodge had beautiful mountain and meadow views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanPowellHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
2.1 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
27.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
24.3 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
570 reviews
16.1 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,113 reviews
30.3 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $371 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing