We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room at Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 June 2008

I was weary of this hotel after reading other reviews...but happy to report we were pleasantly surprised and very happy with our experience.

First, we were very happy with the entire experience...the park was breathtaking, the rangers/workers/hotel staff were all helpful, friendly, and kind, and we were very impressed by the focus on using/promoting environmentally-friendly practices in cleaning, food preparation etc, etc.. We watched a short blurb on the local tv chanel, which explained the food (fruits/vegetables) prepared/served at yosemite are organic...would love to know if this is accurate.

To begin with, we paid $190 per night (which we obtained directly from the yosemite website)...and I think our large, airy and spacious family room was comparable to 2 rooms in terms of size (so the price was reasonable??). The sleeping area contained a king bed, and 2 twins. There was a dining area with table with 6 chairs and near this were 2 double sinks (this was not the most asthetic arrangement but not a problem). Off this area was a short walkway to a separate toilet room, and a separate shower. The living area had a large sofa sleeper, desk and chair, large sitting chair, and a large armoire with big tv, dvd player and small fridge/tiny freezer. Lots of closets and very short carpet in the main living areas. The furniture was not the newest/latest styles but everything was clean and neat. There were 3 short windows high above our beds (2nd floor hieght) which provided lovely natural light in the morning/evening as well as a small view of the nearby beautiful yosemite falls...our son had the best view from his bed. There were several other windows in the living area of the room but we had to keep them closed as animals were reportedly breaking into rooms in search of food. On another note, the cleaning staff did a very good job...we found our little hand towels shaped into flowers and the room impecably cleaned. nicely done.

The only suggestions we would offer the lodge...are paint the room a fresh, bright white color...currently the walls and all cupboards/closets are a kinda dingy off white color...which makes the room seem less attractive. Also, the bed sheets were clean and comfortable but seemed a bit worn...could use bed skirts on beds too (although the absence of bedskirts is hidden by the bedspreads). Our main suggestion/request is to please fix the shower stall. The tile desperately needed new grouting and some of the tile needed to be replaced. It didn't look inviting but we closed our eyes and wore our rubber slippers and all was well. The appearance of the shower was an interesting contrast to all the shiny, stylish, stainless steel bathroom fixtures (towel racks, shower head, sink fixtures, etc) which appeared to be new additions.

Despite the shower stall and other very minor complaints...we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights stay. Honestly, we all slept very soundly and comfortably.

Tips for travelors...be ready for mosquitos...particularly in the evenings. They seems to be more of a nusance during our 2nd day at the park. Also, the park days were sunny and very warm but the evenings were cool so there was no need to open windows for cooling as there isn't AC at the lodge. Our room was equiped with 2 ceiling fans as well as 3 portable table fans (stored in the closet). I don't know how comfortable this lodge would be in the middle/hotter part of summer so planning earlier visits (May) might be better.

The food at the food court was also good and reasonably priced (relative to San Francisco prices)...but you can buy things like pastries, ice cream bars, etc for signifcantly much less at the gift shop (ie. the price of a dryers all natural fruit bar was 90 cents at the gift shop but $2.10 at the food court).

The big bonus to staying at the lodge is the location...in the heart of the valley and oh so close to the yosemite falls.

So, if camping isn't your thing but you want to experience yosemite park...and you prefer a private bath, comfortable bed and separate quarters from bugs/wildlife...you can at the lodge with all the beauty of the park just outside your door/waiting for you to explore and enjoy. the lodge is particularly family friendly as it also has an outdoor pool, bike rentals, close access to free shuttle bus, etc, etc).

In ending...we had a fabulous visit and hope to return again soon. We will definitely stay here again and only hope they will fix-up the shower stall before we return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank familyworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,318 - 3,322 of 3,956 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2008

We did not want to drive out of the park and back in, so we booked a room at the Lodge and hoped for the best. We arrived about 3pm and were greeted by a very helpful, funny, friendly desk person. I did not expect to be asked what building we wanted to be in, so I asked for a nice room. He put us in Laurel, with a view of the falls from our front door. I suspect it was not exactly the best "deluxe" room, but it was satisfactory for one night. It was much better than a similar room at Canyon Lake at Yellowstone! Just needed some soap for the shower.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MarianReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Was a little apprehensive about staying here following previous posts on TA but I'm glad we did. We had thought about staying in Mariposa and travelling in but that would have been such a drag every day and a waste of time. It definately pays to stay in the park itself to make the best use of time. Had been a little worried about the road construction but we had no delays at all (we did arrive late afternoon on a Sunday which probably helped). Also were a little concerned about the weather though had chosen to take the 140 in and it was fabulous! Wall to wall warmth and sunshine all the way.

We arrived approx. 4.20 pm. We had booked 3 rooms and only 1 was ready. That was ok as we were able to store luggage in that room until 5 pm at which point the remaining 2 were ready right next door (not sure why they weren't ready at the same time). We were situated in a 2 storey block opposite the main building - we were on the 2nd floor as I had requested. At first, we were a little disappointed the balcony was situated at the back away from the falls themselves but on looking around, there don't seem that many that had direct views, plus we were not really in our room long enough to appreciate it anyway.

Room was basic, as most other people have said, however, it was reasonably clean and quiet. It did the job fine for our 2 night stay. There was no coffee maker so we were given a voucher for free tea and coffee in the dining room (great as we were so close but may have been a drag if we were further away). There was an ironing board and hairdryer.

Staff on front desk were pleasant and helpful, although the same can't be said for the people in the dining room! Meals were ok and reasonably priced (for us from the UK anyway!), does resemble a school canteen and can get busy but I guess it serves it's purpose. I think I would have got bored with it if I'd have stayed much longer. Also sampled the deli in the village one day which does great sandwiches.

Would recommend if you are wanting to stay in the park itself, not the cheapest accommodation but worth the location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1pink_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We just returned from Yosemite and our stay at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. I had considered cancelling our reservations for the lodge based on reviews from this site. I'm certainly glad I didn't. First, I would highly recommend staying inside the park, as most other accomodations take you 1 hour to get to over twisting roads. The location of the hotel cannot be beat - a short walk to Yosemite Falls - lovely, especially in the early morning with no one else around.
Our room was great. It was located in the Azalea Building, had a balcony and a view of the falls (rm 4621). When we checked in, I asked for a view of the falls and they found one. The front desk person seemed surprised that one was available as there are less than 10 "view" rooms at the Lodge. I was surprised on how nice our room was - it seemed freshly painted, bathroom - clean, one piece fiberglass unit, etc. I asked at the front desk and they indicated that the Azalea building was renovated several years back. She did indicate that several of the other buildings had not been rennovated and I suspect those are the ones that people have written about negatively. So, when you're checking in, I would ask for a view and then ask for one of the buildings that have been rennovated. Also, our reservation was for a deluxe room, so I'm sure that made a difference.
I'm not certain if anyone has mentioned this, but the plans are for this Lodge to be rebuilt on higher ground and for these buildings to be torn down (during the coming years). This could definitely explain why more extensive rennovations have not been done.
As for no coffee maker in the room - they gave you a coupon for unlimited complimentary coffee at the food court/cafeteria - a short walk away.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
I'm certain that the experience might be different in the middle of the summer, when the park is crowded and the weather is hot (I don't believe the rooms have AC). However, with the exception of the Awahnee Hotel (at more than double the price), this is THE place to stay.
May is a lovely time, as the falls are all running and the crowds are minimal.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank travelingjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Stayed at Yosemite at the Lodge for 3 nights last week. If you want swanky accomadations you will be disappointed. It was clean, and adequate. It was wonderful because you can walk to a trail a short distance from your room. To stay outside of the park can waste alot of time. Some of the roads leading out of the park are having construction and they are down to 1 lane for a short distance. You might have to wait 15 minutes in line for the row of cars to get through. I don't know how long the construction will last but our stay was not at the busy time. I liked eating at the food court because you can get oatmeal, yogurt , fruit besides eggs and bacon. We dined at the Moutain Room and the food was very good. Had the breakfast buffet at the Awahanee which we enjoyed. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
2.1 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
27.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
24.3 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
572 reviews
16.1 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,115 reviews
30.3 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $373 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing