We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexperienced camper-fantastic grounds.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyon Village Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Inexperienced camper-fantastic grounds.”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I haven't done much camping so this area was perfect for me. Restaurants, cheap, hot showers, and laundry facility nearby so although I "roughed it" in a tent with a campfire, I was nearby anything I could need. The campgrounds had multiple sections organized by letter, with many sites at each section. Restrooms with cold water available close to any site. I left food and such in the car, but bear boxes were available also, just not at each site; a couple per section. Mixture of tents and campers/RVs together. I did a ton of driving within the park, but my campground seemed to be in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ozbound08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    111
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
109
81
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Creek
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised by our Western Cabin, Canyon Village, in Yellowstone. We stayed four nights. It was recently remodled, clean, bright, modern and QUIET! We had two queen beds, nice bathroom (with heat lamp), sliding doors that opened onto trees, a little table/chairs, K-cup coffee maker, dresser. There are 4 units per building, but obviously they put sounproofing. We didn't hear a thing all night!

They could make it better--a little refrigerator. Considering that the restaurants are average to poor.

Rooms were made up promptly every day. We had several burned-out lightbulbs that weren't replaced, but I'm being picky.

We stayed in September, when it was very cool. I can see this room getting very stuffy in the hot weather. We had the sliding glass door, and that was it for windows--with the exception of a small window in the bathroom. There was a fan, though.

All in alll, a pleasant surprise. And worth the price of being in the park. Now, if they could only do something about the awful food....

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie_and_John_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We didnt stay in the campground. Canyon Village has a mix of housing options. Cabins that look a bit scary and a campground, and then 6 individual lodge buildings that are 2 stories--seem to hold about 20 or so on each floor. THis was out escape from the horros of Grant Village--a much much nicer place to stay. Cleaner, newer, better beds. Only complaint is they have a giant pole light in the parking lot, and it shines in through the wood slat blinds like a searchlight. Quiet at night, but not the best room to room insulation. We could hear our neighbors loud conversations, word for word until about 10pm, then snoring through most of the night as well. But compared to Grant, it was 5 stars! The dining room was fine--about what we expected. Very pleasant hostess and server. I had the bison raviloi--it was just fine. Hubby had the massive prime rib--hey, we had climbed a mountain that day and were famished--and he enjoyed it. A better cut than we expected, and prices seemd reasonable for the captive market. Cafeteria was closed--maybe becuase it is late in their season.
Great location in the park--pretty central and waaay less frenetic and crowded than Old Faithful. I would stay here again, or try the Lake Hotel, which is on Lake Yellowstone and has the best restaurant in the park.

Room Tip: Cabins accept pets and seemed to have lots of smokers milling around outside. And they look a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peggyandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights of a two week camping trip. While I would say that Madison campground is much more beautiful, this was a nice campground as well, and well located for the Eastern side of the park. The sites are wooded, and we had a nice site in one of the only tent only loops. One night was our only night camping for two weeks where the neighbors were loud, but they did quiet down after 10. The showers were nice, clean, and untimed. It was nice to be camping right in a village, so that we even went out for breakfast one morning!
Yellowstone is VAST and, if you don't want to spend all your time driving, you will want to stay in multiple places as we did.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ncmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Great camping at Canyon Village. neighbors were quiet for the most part, and the shower facilities were great: $3.39 for unlimited-length shower. Hot water in the sink faucets. electrical receptacles that don't blow when a blow dryer is plugged in.

Campground has trees, no sun, and no view (except trees and other campers). Neighbors are close, but, if one is really upset about that, get a backcountry camping permit and leave the neighbors behind!

Only a "4" because no view; a bunch of lodgepole pines for "scenery" just isn't a 5 in my book.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trappist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
21.5 km away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
922 reviews
38.5 km away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
892 reviews
31.7 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.9 km away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,341 reviews
0.4 km away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
942 reviews
40.7 km away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Village Campground

Property: Canyon Village Campground
Address: Canyon Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Canyon Village Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Campground Yellowstone
Canyon Village Campground Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing