We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot springs SD”

Mammoth Site of Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: America's International Treasure. This National Natural Landmark is an internationally renowned indoor working paleontological site/museum. More than 62 Columbian & woolly mammoths have been unearthed, as well as over 85 other species of associated Ice Age fauna. Hands-on activities for children, an educational experience for the entire family. One of the top fossil interpretive sites in North America. Open year-round. Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. New Learning Center opened May 2015, two new 53-seat theaters, universally accessible walkways, new HD Introductory video, New Digital TourGuide system.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Going to South Dakota we go through Custer Park and on to the Mammoth site. It is the best ever for the family, the kids love it, you must make advance reservations for the kids to dig. There is a small digging spot for children, my grandson was so disappointed the first time we went.
The tour is awesome The site is indoors so it is air.
Wear shorts & tee shirt, pack a cooler take water, there are plenty of trees for a picnic,
after the tour.
You are really going to enjoy this... have fun.

Thank R477YNmariab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Greetings R477YNmariab,

Thank you for your review of The Mammoth Site. We appreciate your feedback you have provided about your experience at the Site. We are glad you found the Site to be "the best ever for the family". We are sorry to hear you grandson was "disappointed the first time". If you would please reach out to us, so we may find out why he was "disappointed". We take our reviews very seriously and would love to hear more feedback about your experience. Please feel free to contact The Mammoth Site at 605-745-6017 and ask for the Public Relations Coordinator. We also appreciate you recommending the Site to others. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Site again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dig site"
in 156 reviews
"guided tour"
in 132 reviews
"sink hole"
in 51 reviews
"active dig"
in 28 reviews
"ice age"
in 30 reviews
"all ages"
in 75 reviews
"ask questions"
in 22 reviews
"exhibit hall"
in 16 reviews
"gift shop"
in 77 reviews
"short video"
in 20 reviews
"amazing site"
in 14 reviews
"interesting place"
in 21 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 17 reviews
"own pace"
in 14 reviews
"black hills"
in 60 reviews
"walk around"
in 20 reviews
"whole family"
in 24 reviews
Filter

148 - 152 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

While my wife and I have visited the Black Hills several times, this was our first visit of the Mammoth Site. We were both very impressed with not only the rare find and development of this world class site, but how well it is presented. Very interesting and educational for all ages! Our tour guide was Jace and he was outstanding!

Thank poobapooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Greetings poobapooba,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We are glad you found the Site to be "very interesting and educational for all ages". We are also glad you enjoyed your tour with your guide. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will have a chance to visit the Site again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

An excellent site for those interest in the prehistoric eras. The Mammoth Site will give you insight to what may have happened here. I'm glad I stopped in.

Thank hoef972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Greetings hoef972,

We are glad you had the chance to visit The Mammoth Site. We appreciate you taking the time to review the Site and found it to be "an excellent site for those interested in prehistoric eras". We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Definitely an interesting place for anyone interested in archaeology. It's rare to see a place where the bones are exposed and still in the original places.

Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Greetings alibarbaraMilwaukee,

We are glad you found The Mammoth Site to be "an interesting place", the Site is truly unique that it is an indoor working paleontological dig site and Accredited Museum. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Site again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Our GPS wasn't as helpful as it could have been finding the Mammoth Site, but once there, it was worth the frustration. Everyone involved in the Mammoth Site was helpful and knowledgeable. The walk around the various platforms provides great views into an archaeological wonderland. Material around the walls sets what you see into context. While you get a guided tour, you also get as much free time as you want to pursue your interests. The building itself is impressive and provides opportunities to engage in your own archaeology if desired. I'd give this particularly high marks for children - old bones have a great fascination, and the kids we observed were so interested that their parents didn't seem to be required to remind about good behavior!

Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience at The Mammoth Site. We are glad that you found everyone at the Site to be "helpful and knowledgeable". The Mammoth Site is truly unique that it is an indoor working paleontological dig site and Accredited Museum. Thank you for your review and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Site again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mammoth Site of Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Site of Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing