We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate and Real Time Archaeology”

Mammoth Site of Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: America's International Treasure. This National Natural Landmark is an internationally renowned indoor working paleontological site/museum. More than 62 Columbian & woolly mammoths have been unearthed, as well as over 85 other species of associated Ice Age fauna. Hands-on activities for children, an educational experience for the entire family. One of the top fossil interpretive sites in North America. Open year-round. Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota. New Learning Center opened May 2015, two new 53-seat theaters, universally accessible walkways, new HD Introductory video, New Digital TourGuide system.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Our GPS wasn't as helpful as it could have been finding the Mammoth Site, but once there, it was worth the frustration. Everyone involved in the Mammoth Site was helpful and knowledgeable. The walk around the various platforms provides great views into an archaeological wonderland. Material around the walls sets what you see into context. While you get a guided tour, you also get as much free time as you want to pursue your interests. The building itself is impressive and provides opportunities to engage in your own archaeology if desired. I'd give this particularly high marks for children - old bones have a great fascination, and the kids we observed were so interested that their parents didn't seem to be required to remind about good behavior!

Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience at The Mammoth Site. We are glad that you found everyone at the Site to be "helpful and knowledgeable". The Mammoth Site is truly unique that it is an indoor working paleontological dig site and Accredited Museum. Thank you for your review and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Site again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dig site"
in 156 reviews
"guided tour"
in 132 reviews
"sink hole"
in 52 reviews
"active dig"
in 28 reviews
"ice age"
in 30 reviews
"all ages"
in 75 reviews
"ask questions"
in 22 reviews
"exhibit hall"
in 16 reviews
"gift shop"
in 77 reviews
"short video"
in 21 reviews
"amazing site"
in 15 reviews
"interesting place"
in 21 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 17 reviews
"own pace"
in 14 reviews
"black hills"
in 60 reviews
"walk around"
in 20 reviews
"whole family"
in 24 reviews
Filter

176 - 180 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

We visited the mammoth site in the off season in the middle of the week. This world class archeological site is well worth the visit. The 10 minute orientation film really prepares you for the guided tour of the actual dig. This is an active dig so new stuff is found regularly. This is a great place for kids.

Thank spiritwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Greetings spiritwheels,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We are glad you found the Site to be a "great place for kids". The Mammoth Site is truly unique that it is an indoor working paleontological dig site and Accredited Museum. We appreciate the feedback you have provided about your experience at the Site and we hope you will visit us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Spend some time here and learn thing you may not have thought of. This was a site for new building but when digging bones were found. The property owner saw the historic valve and stopped. Much history to be learned from here. Take the guided tour and then look around after that. Open your mind to the past.

Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Steven H,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We are glad you found the Site to be a "great place for adults and children". Thank you for recommending the Site to others and we hope you will visit us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Other than a museum, this facility brings you closer to an actual late Ice Age dig site with ongoing research and educational programs. The 30 minute guided tour with an informative and friendly docent is indoors. Actually saw a young paleontologist working carefully at the site and another in the downstairs laboratory window! A small gift shop is also there.

Thank NateaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Greetings NateaBar,

We appreciate your feedback about your recent visit to The Mammoth Site. We are glad you enjoyed your guided tour and the rest of your visit. Thank you for taking the time to review the Site and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This site is a gem of an actual ongoing dig for ancient mammoths. A museum has been built around the burial pit and several almost complete skeletons are exposed, preserved in their original medium and location. An accessible walkway runs around the entire dig allowing visitors to view the dig from many vantage points. An interpretive guide explains all. Well worth a visit. And the drive back (To Custer) through Wind cave national park has loads more bison to view. A bonus!

Thank GreatLakeNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammothtoo, Public Relations Manager at Mammoth Site of Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear GreatLakeNomads,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Mammoth Site. We are glad you found the Site to "be a gem". We appreciate your feedback about your recent visit and we are glad you enjoyed your guided tour. We hope you will have the chance to visit the Site again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mammoth Site of Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Site of Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing