We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to celebrate”

Nicola's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicola's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,979 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Liberty Street
Description: Nicola's is located on the corner of East Liberty and Sycamore Street
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to celebrate”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We arrived a few minutes before our 7 PM reservations and were seated immediately. The hostess lead us to our table and provided to us an iPad which contained the Wine List. While the list was limited, it had a great selection. We chose a Chianti from Tuscany. The Waitress offered many suggestions to compliment the wine we selected including splitting the appetizer and pasta course. The entrees we selected where Sea Bass and Flounder, the later was the special of the evening. Both were prepared to perfection. We ended the meal with a dark chocolate mouse and an after dinner drink. The pace of the meal was better than expected. One additional note, Nicola's bake their own specialty breads, a real treat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    51
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Awesome place, great service and food. Try the chef's food and wine tastings... superb!

Helpful?
Thank Lynn2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant for any occasion”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Simply put--we love Nichola's. When our daughter visits from out of town, we always make it a point to take the whole family there and we have never been disappointed. For special "date nights" my husband and I don't even have to ask--Nicola's it is. The food is creative, flavorful, beautifully served. I could make a meal of the bread basket!! We've recommended it several times.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strawberryroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best of the city; a rare gem of a restaurant.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the place for intimate, fabulous dining. Northern Italian cuisine at its best. This is at the upper end of cost of restaurants in Cincinnati, but worth every cent. Service is excellent. Located in the historic Over-the-Rhine, in a unique building, the atomsphere is perfect for a special occassion or just because you deserve it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heartinCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nicola's has become one of our favorite places to dine!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Everything was wonderful!

My husband and I are not big eaters, so we like to share the courses. Since it was Valentine's Day we went for four courses. I may not have the names right, but this is close. We started with a warm goat cheese and arugula salad, followed by the crispy gnocchi, then the sea bass on risotto, and finished with tiramisu and eggnog sorbet.

The food and service were outstanding! The staff doesn't blink an eye when you ask them about sharing, they split the dishes in the kitchen and make a wonderful presentation. We can hardly wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicola's Ristorante also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Nicola's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing